Featured Review: ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta by Urcelia Teixeira

alex-hunt

About This Book:

An action-packed Archaeological Adventure Mystery for Indiana Jones lovers! This is Relic Hunting at it’s best! Based on the true legend of the ancient Lost City of Rhapta which mysteriously disappeared near Mafia island off the coast of Africa. "I'm a big fan of Indiana Jones/archeology type books and this one didn't disappoint. Full of intrigue, mystery and action Urcelia Teixeira did an excellent job keeping my interest.” - Amazon reviewer "I thought I knew what to expect but I was way off!  Urcelia has proven her versatility as an author; that's for sure!  Think Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones with a few added twists. I enjoyed the storyline, the adventure, the culture and the history.  I laughed, I cried, I cheered and feared! A 5-star read I'd recommend." - Amazon review I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt Team. Head Researcher and... Relic Chaser!When Alex Hunt's mother tragically dies during her lifelong quest to find Africa's ancient Lost City of Rhapta, Alex develops Agoraphobia (an unnatural fear of specific places and situations) and vows never to chase again.  So when her father, Professor Charles Hunt, Head of Archaeology at a prestigious British University mysteriously disappears several years later, it leaves her with no choice and forces her out of hiding to find him. With nothing to lose, battling her worse fears and with the mighty University behind her, she travels to Tanzania, Africa in search of her missing father. The chivalrous and charismatic Sam Quinn, the University's illusive top Archaeology student accompanies her, and she finds herself in unfamiliar territory with a man who manages to chip away her self-built walls. Her action-packed adventure through the treacherous African Jungle brings forth an abundance of danger, fear, and heartache as she rediscovers her love for life, science and ancient relics, beyond her cocooning existence and disease. Will she find her father and the Lost City of Rhapta or will she die under the curse and native-fearing Rhaptor-bird said to guard the vanished city?  This book is an epic tale of riddle solving relic hunting, courage and fantasy that follows in the tradition of KT Tomb and Mary Deal. It will without doubt delight lovers of Indiana Jones, Lara Croft, and the likes and suits Teen and Young Adult Historical Fantasy lovers. Buckle up treasure hunters. Africa waits for no one.

 

*Review Contributed by Bethany Wicker*

Mystery and Archeaology

When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one who knows her mother's data. She lost her mother who was chasing the lost city of Rhapta, but Alex doesn't want to lose her father too. For that reason, she travels to Africa with Quinn-a student that a family friend recommends.

As the story progresses, it alternates POV between Alex, her mom, and her dad. We learn that her father has been captured early on, but Alex travels are not easy. In Africa, she's in a car accident and has a run in with vicious animals like lions, as if chasing down her father isn't hard enough.

This was a very easy, light, and entertaining read. I always like the idea of discovering new things. I wish that instead of the viewpoints of her parents, it would've been through Alex's eyes. Overall, it was a fast-paced story.


Final Verdict: I recommend this to fans of adventure and archaeology. It's also a good read to finish during a rainy day.

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE*

Rate this blog entry:
Top 5 Tips For Making Manga with Danica Davidson &...
Spotlight on Crossing the Line by Ellen Wolfson V...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Freshmen
A laugh-out-loud, realistic portrayal of a freshman year in college...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
In 1945, at the end of World War II, Adolf...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
Ruby Redfort: you can count on her when the ice...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
What if you wished you were a gorilla and then...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The New Kid
Middle school can be tough! Especially when Alex's best friend...
 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
Margot and Mateo Save the World
When Margot Blumenthal removes a bright blue slug alien attached...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
When destiny and desire collide... In a community full...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Escape The Future
"AS POWERFUL AS CORMAC MCCARTHY... A TIMELY, TROUBLING, AND MEMORABLE...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Challenge Accepted
Emma Dawson and Logan Reynolds have been neighbors and...
 
4.2 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
The Planetsider
A story of self-discovery, belonging and hope. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Sea Takes Me
Two years later might as well be two lifetimes....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From You to Me
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"According to legend, when the world was young, two gods...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Why Can't I Be You
Claire Ladd knows that this summer is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Freshmen
 
3.7
"Luke and Phoebe both attended the same high school and now are at the same university. Phoebe has had..."
The New Kid
 
5.0
"This book shows the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene and a reminder that true friendship is..."
 
5.0
"Good book for middle school kids- a true snapshot of the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene..."
You May Now Kill the Bride
 
4.7
"In 1923, sisters Ruth-Ann and Rebecca have an uneasy relationship, especially after Rebecca hastily throws over her boyfriend Melvin for..."
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
 
4.0
"Ruby's parents are in France, and Ruby is back from Genius Camp and Mrs. Digby back from a convenient cruise...."
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
 
4.3
"This level one reader introduces children to details about gorillas by asking what they would do if they WERE gorillas...."
The New Kid
 
3.0
"Alex's best friend and constant supporter, Luke, moves away and Alex has to face the school bully T.J. without him...."
Margot and Mateo Save the World
 
4.0
"Margot is new to West Cover middle school, and her day isn't going well. There is a giant whale decomposing..."
White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
Where the Sea Takes Me
 
5.0
"Sienna just finished her freshman year in college. It’s been two years since she parted from Deni back in Indonesia...."
From You to Me
 
4.0
"Amelia is tired of being "the girl with the dead sister", since it's been three years since her sister was..."
 
4.5
"'Eugenia Lincoln and the Unexpected Package' by Kate DiCamillo is a story that arouses curiosity about the differences that make..."
Takedown
 
5.0
"Mikayle has wrestled in a rec league for many years, always with her friend Kenna. They hold their own, and..."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"Scary short stories seem to be perennially popular, and not just around Halloween! This newest collection edited by R.L. Stine..."
Monica the Marshmallow Fairy: A Rainbow Magic Book (The Sweet Fairies #1)
 
4.0
"Rachel has come back to visit Kirsty, and they are being taken by Aunt Helen to visit Candy Land, a..."
Esme's Wish
 
4.5
"Ahhh, Esme's Wish turned out to be far better than what I imagined! Author Elizabeth Foster created a wonderful world..."
Judy Moody Was in a Mood (Judy Moody #1)
 
5.0
"Judy is starting 3rd grade, and she is not pleased about it. Her family didn't go anywhere over the summer,..."
Remy Sneakers and the Lost Treasure (Remy Sneakers #2)
 
4.0
"Someone has broken into Remy's house and stolen his notebook, so he gathers his Critter Crew to try to find..."
The Cardboard Kingdom
 
4.0
"In an ordinary suburban neighborhood, a group of multicultural children spend their free time creating characters that inhabit the titular..."
Courage
 
4.0
"T'Shawn's family is struggling to make it in a economically challenged neighborhood in Chicago. His mother is working, but his..."