Featured Review: 22 Scars (C.M. North)

36515645

About This Book:

Raised with apathy and spite, Amy’s life is a monotonous drone of deep despair, broken only by coffee and nights out with her best—and only—friend. She battles depression daily, fighting to keep her sanity in a world that, to her, is set on destroying her soul.


Her future is bleak, overcast with shadow and doubt; her past harbors terrible secrets that even those closest to her couldn’t begin to guess. When tragedy strikes someone she holds dear, will she succumb to the crushing weight of despair, or will she find the strength to fight—to live?


22 Scars is a story of what it takes to live daily with depression - and how the scars of a lifetime can pass through generations and beyond.


Can the past ever truly be forgotten?


Can depression ever be beat?
 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Karen Klein Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Amy leads a tortured life. She has a monster for a father and a distant mother. Amy self-harms and has suicidal tendencies. Then tragedy in her life leads her in a dangerous direction.

'22 Scars' highlights  mental illness in teenagers. With recent events, I think a young adult book that focuses on mental health is an important thing. '22 Scars' did an excellent job taking on this difficult topic. I did read '13 Reasons Why' and found it somewhat lacking. Not only was the plot unrealistic and contrived, I don't think that it really approaches the underling mental illnesses that drives someone to suicide. I think '22 Scars' approaches this subject better. Not only is Amy's deep seeded problems explored but it also shows how her mental illness progresses through time.

'22 Scars' has two storylines. The connection between these storylines is not realized until late in the book. I found both storylines interesting although I did find that the one not involving teenage Amy more interesting. The main issue I had with teenage Amy's storyline was the plethora of characters, especially Amy's friends. There were so many I could not keep them straight. Also, the character of Beth's father helped the reader understand that someone can have major flaws and still be an ok parent, he didn't really add a lot to the story other than that. I would have liked to have read more about Amy's boss. I felt like there was more to him as a character. From the few times he is mentioned he seems interesting and kind and I would liked to have heard more of his story and maybe, even his point of view.

'22 Scars' is a wonderful story that takes on the subject of domestic violence, mental illnesses, and teen suicide.  I really loved the way this novel approached each of these subjects. I highly recommend '22 Scars' and recommend it as an alternative to '13 Reasons Why'.

 

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Spotlight on Paper Girl (Cindy R Wilson), Excerpt,...
It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Red Labyrinth by Mer...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."