Excerpt Reveal: Fog of Forgetting by G.A. Morgan

Excerpt Reveal: Fog of Forgetting by G.A. Morgan

 

Hey YABCers! Today we bring you a special treat – a chapter excerpt from THE FOG OF FORGETTING by G.A. Morgan! So grab a cup of your favorite caffeinated beverage, sit back, and enjoy a few pages of 100% totally free fantasy reading. 

Before we get to the excerpt, here's a bit about the book:

 

The Fog of Forgetting

by G.A. Morgan

Published by Islandport Press

Release Date: July 17, 2014

 

Move over, Narnia. The journey to Ayda has begun.
 
The journey to Ayda begins when five children sneak out for a quick boat ride on a summer day. Engulfed in a curtain of dense, powerful fog, they are transported from the rocky Maine coast to the mysterious island of Ayda. 
 
Rescued by Seaborne, a machete-toting wayfarer of few words, the children suddenly find themselves at the center of a centuries-old battle between Dankar, the ruler of Exor, and three siblings that rule the other realms of Ayda. 
 
At stake are the four stones of power and the elusive Fifth Stone that connects them all. When 9-year-old Frankie is kidnapped by Dankar, her older sister Evelyn and the three Thompson brothers must learn to harness the powers of the daylights, ancient forces of earth, fire, water, and air, in order to navigate their way through the realms of Ayda, save her, and find a way home. 
 
Asked why she thinks THE FOG OF FORGETTING has been getting such great advance buzz, Melissa Kim, Children’s Book Editor at Islandport Press, says: 
 
“The Fog of Forgetting stands apart from other YA adventure fantasy because it has —as well as a page-turning plot, reluctant hero, and quest for justice—an inner adventure not often seen in this genre. Morgan has drawn on past civilizations, global cultures, and forces from within, to dig deep into the very core of what makes us human and what connects people to each other across time and space. Even readers who don't normally turn to fantasy will find much here. It's a story you will remember years after you have read it.” 
 
 
Doesn't that sound awesome?! Let's get to that excerpt, shall we?
Click the link or the cover image below.
 
b2ap3_thumbnail_FogofForgettingHiResgm.jpg
 

 

 

 

About the Author

b2ap3_thumbnail_Cosby_GAmorgan-highres-6-of-17.jpgGenevieve (G.A.) Morgan is a writer and editor living in Portland. Maine. She was born in Manhattan and attended the Spence School, a private school on the Upper East Side, where she was her senior class’s valedictorian. She graduated with a BA in English from Bowdoin College, Magna Cum Laude, and won the acting chair award for her class. 

After moving to California to pursue a career as an actor, she found more steady work as a copy editor at SF Magazine. She moved away from acting to become the managing editor at Chronicle Books in San Francisco, where among other things, she helped to launch their award-winning Giftworks division. After five years learning the trade, she left to co-found a book-packaging company that produced a variety of work, including Saints: A Visual Almanac of the Virtuous, Pure, Praiseworthy and Good and its (more dastardly) follow-up: The Devil.
 
She has written books for Smith & Hawken, Williams-Sonoma, Starbucks, The Nature Company, Harper Collins, Borders Books, and Hay House publishers, and was the wellness editor for Maine magazine. Her work on health topics has appeared in The Bangor Daily News, as well as Body and Soul and Insight magazines. She co-created, produced and was the weekly co-host of “The Dr. Lisa Radio Hour,” a Maine Media Company production, during its inaugural year. As a volunteer, she worked for many years with kids and teens as the president of the board of The Telling Room. In addition to Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning after High School (Zest Publications; April 2014), she is the author of a YA fantasy-adventure trilogy called The Five Stones. The first volume, The Fog of Forgetting (Islandport Press), will be released in July 2014, followed by Chantarelle, releasing July 2015, and Kinfolk, releasing  July 2016. 
 
Morgan is a member of the Author’s Guild, the Maine Writer’s and Publisher’s Association (MWPA), and the advisory board for The Telling Room. She chairs the advisory board of the Thompson Family Foundation and was the recipient of a Hewn Oaks Artistic Residency Fellowship in 2013. In a happy twist of fate, after Islandport Press acquired The Fog of Forgetting, they acquired Genevieve for the position of senior editor for adult trade and gift divisions there!
 
She is also the host for a new weekly TV segment on writers and artists for Your Magazine, an entertainment digest broadcast by Time Warner Cable, watched by over 350,000 households in New England. 
 
When she is not writing or reading, Genevieve does a lot of yoga, walks her dog in the countryside, and practices bass guitar with her neighbor (someday they will have a band). Though she has not officially acted in years, she enjoys reading in different character’s voices and pretending to speak obscure foreign languages to her dog. She lives with her husband and two teenagers in Portland, Maine.
 
For more about G.A. Morgan visit http://www.GA-Morgan.com.com
 
 
Stay tuned for a chance to win a copy of this book later this week!
In the meantime, tell us what you think of the excerpt in the dooblydoo below.
Cheers!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare Prize Pack ...
#ReadISLA Campaign

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Guest - No on Monday, 07 July 2014 10:12

The fog of forgetting was good and action-packed. I can't wait to read more.

0
:)The fog of forgetting was good and action-packed. I can't wait to read more.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."