​DAVID LEVITHAN AWARDED CHICAGO TRIBUNE YOUNG ADULT LITERARY PRIZE

​DAVID LEVITHAN AWARDED CHICAGO TRIBUNE YOUNG ADULT LITERARY PRIZE

 

DAVID LEVITHAN AWARDED CHICAGO TRIBUNE YOUNG ADULT LITERARY PRIZE
Award to Be Presented at the 2017 Printers Row Lit Fest

 

Chicago, IL – May 1, 2017 – The Chicago Tribune today announced David Levithan as the recipient of its 2017 Young Adult Literary Prize. Levithan is the award-winning author of many bestselling works which explore a wide range of adolescent themes, including BOY MEETS BOY (2003); NICK AND NORAH’S INFINITE PLAYLIST (2006); WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON (2010); EVERY DAY (2012); HOLD ME CLOSER (2015); and YOU KNOW ME WELL (2016). Levithan will be honored at the 2017 Printers Row Lit Fest on June 10th in downtown Chicago.

“The Chicago Tribune has a longstanding history of celebrating literary innovators,” said Chicago Tribune Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Bruce Dold. “We are thrilled to recognize David Levithan for his extraordinary work and keen insight into the lives of young adults. We applaud his ability to connect with readers and touch on themes that resonate so closely with adolescents today.”

Each year, the Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Prize honors an author whose work is aimed at a young adult audience, addresses themes especially relevant to adolescents, inspires young readers, and champions literacy. Past winners have included R.L. Stine, Lois Lowry, James Patterson, John Green, Judy Blume, and LeVar Burton.

When asked about writing LGBT characters for the YA audience, Levithan says, “It’s important to have a range of LGBTQIA+ voices in YA literature because there is a range of LGBTQIA+ experiences in life. Every teen deserves to be represented in some way in the books he or she or they or ze reads. It’s as simple as that.”

Levithan, who is also an editorial director at Scholastic Corporation and the founding editor of the Scholastic young adult imprint PUSH, has written 23 novels to date, both as a solo author and in collaborations with John Green, Andrea Cremer, Nina LaCour, Rachel Cohn, David Ozanich, Chris Van Etten, and illustrator Brian Selznick.

The Printers Row Lit Fest, now entering its 33rd year, is the Midwest’s largest literary event. The two-day festival features hundreds of authors and booksellers and attracts more than 100,000 attendees. The festival takes place on Dearborn Street, from Harrison Street to Polk Avenue, rounding the corner on Polk and continuing to State Street, with indoor programming at the Harold Washington Library Center and Jones College Prep High School. The festival is free and open to the public, as is the majority of its programming.

The Printers Row Lit Fest is made possible by the Chicago Tribune Media Group, publisher of the Pulitzer Prize-winning Chicago Tribune as well as related print and interactive media serving the Chicagoland area, including RedEye, Hoy, TribLocal, chicagotribune.com, triblocal.com, and metromix.com. Lit Fest is sponsored by COUNTRY Financial, C-SPAN, KIND, Navy Pier, the Chicago Public Library and 1001 S. State. 

Rate this blog entry:
Make Your Mark Tattoo Contest
Rick Riordan Presents...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."