The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Cover Reveal: Falls the Shadow by Stefanie Gaither + Giveaway (US/Canada)

Cover Reveal: Falls the Shadow by Stefanie Gaither + Giveaway (US/Canada)

 

We're back from our holiday vacation with a new cover reveal, YABCers!

Today we're celebrating the cover for FALLS THE SHADOW by Stefanie Gaither, releasing September 16, 2014 from Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers. Before we get to the cover, here's a message from Stefanie:

 

Hello YABC! I'm SO excited to be here for the exclusive cover reveal of my book, FALLS THE SHADOW! 
 
I've been trying reeeally hard to come up with some sort of witty and brilliant introduction to do said cover justice, but all I keep coming back to is: Wow! This is happening! This book cover has my name on it! WHAT. WHAT IS HAPPENING AHHHH
 
Ahem. But seriously, my first thought when I opened the email containing it was simply: "Whoa.” I think it's positively striking, and I adore the boldness of it, the colors, etc... My agent rightly used the word “intense” to describe it, and “intense” is such a perfect adjective to describe the story inside, too, so I’m thrilled that this cover captures that so well. I can't wait to see the physical jacket, either; I imagine it's going to be even more striking once the letters and such have some shiny effects on them (I do love shiny things). 
 
Anyway, I hope you love this cover as much as I do!
 
~ Stefanie
 

 

 

Intense? Sweet! Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

b2ap3_thumbnail_FallsTheShadow_CVRfinal.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Stefanie's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

 

FALLS THE SHADOW

by Stefanie Gaither
Release date: September 16, 2014
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers
 

About the book

 

When Cate Benson was a kid, her sister, Violet, died. Two hours after the funeral, Cate’s family picked up Violet’s replacement. Like nothing had happened. Because Cate’s parents are among those who decided to give their children a sort of immortality—by cloning them at birth—which means this new Violet has the same face. The same perfect smile. She even has all of the same memories as the girl she replaced.

She also might have murdered the most popular girl in school. 

At least, that’s what the paparazzi and the anti-cloning protestors want everyone to think: that clones are violent, unpredictable monsters. Cate is used to hearing all that. She’s used to defending her sister, too. But now Violet has vanished, and when Cate sets out to find her, she ends up in the line of fire instead. Because Cate is getting dangerously close to secrets that will rock the foundation of everything she thought was true.

Debut author Stefanie Gaither takes readers on a nail-biting ride through a future that looks frighteningly similar to our own time and asks: how far are you willing to go to keep your family together?

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_sgaither_author_photo_20131230-164507_1.jpgAbout the Author

After co-owning and managing a coffee shop for several years while simultaneously earning her B.A. in English, Stefanie Gaither left the small business world behind to focus on her author career instead. Now, in addition to penning YA novels, she also works part-time as a copywriter for an advertising agency. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and an incredibly spoiled Shih Tzu. You can visit her online at www.stefaniegaither.com.

Twitter | FacebookGoodreadsPinterestTumblr


 

Giveaway Details

  • One US/Canada winner will receive a signed ARC when they become available. 

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover?

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
YA Authors as YAs: The Ingrid Jonach Edition + Giv...
Cover Reveal: Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabet...

Related Posts

Comments 54

 
Guest - Becky on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:07

Amazing cover!

Amazing cover!
Guest - Shallee on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:19

THIS IS SO AWESOME! Yay, Stefanie, I love it!

THIS IS SO AWESOME! Yay, Stefanie, I love it!
Emily Dolhansky on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:51

Beautiful cover, can't wait to read this. :)

Beautiful cover, can't wait to read this. :)
Guest - Leah Rae Miller on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:58

GORGEOUS!!!!!

GORGEOUS!!!!!
Guest - Leah Rae Miller on Monday, 30 December 2013 13:36

For those wondering, here's the Goodreads page for this fantastic book!: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17559487-falls-the-shadow

Not sure why it's not in the post.

For those wondering, here's the Goodreads page for this fantastic book!: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17559487-falls-the-shadow Not sure why it's not in the post.
Joshua David Bellin on Monday, 30 December 2013 14:37

Love the cover--the reverse-shadow scream is awesome!

Love the cover--the reverse-shadow scream is awesome!
Sandra Lam on Monday, 30 December 2013 17:26

I really like the silhouette of the two faces!

I really like the silhouette of the two faces!
Sandra Lam on Monday, 30 December 2013 17:34

I really like the silhouette of the two faces!

I really like the silhouette of the two faces!
Guest - Tammy on Monday, 30 December 2013 18:36

I like the double face and the 3D lettering.

I like the double face and the 3D lettering.
Vivien on Monday, 30 December 2013 21:24

I really like the complexity!

I really like the complexity!
Guest - Lauren Fuchs on Tuesday, 31 December 2013 00:33

This is such a gorgeous cover!! Love it!!

This is such a gorgeous cover!! Love it!!
Teresa Salvatore on Tuesday, 31 December 2013 14:07

Very unique and so pretty! I know we're not supposed to judge a book by its cover but, this looks like an awesome read! Quick! To the TBR list! :)

Very unique and so pretty! I know we're not supposed to judge a book by its cover but, this looks like an awesome read! Quick! To the TBR list! :)
Emily on Tuesday, 31 December 2013 14:27

What a gorgeous & clever cover, and the summary sounds amazing too! I wish the giveaway was international!

What a gorgeous & clever cover, and the summary sounds amazing too! I wish the giveaway was international!
Emily on Tuesday, 31 December 2013 14:29

What a gorgeous & clever cover, and the summary sounds amazing too! I wish the giveaway was international!

What a gorgeous & clever cover, and the summary sounds amazing too! I wish the giveaway was international!
Sam on Wednesday, 01 January 2014 11:28

Its an interesting concept, but the shadow faces arn't the same size and that bothers me. lol

Its an interesting concept, but the shadow faces arn't the same size and that bothers me. lol
Jessica on Thursday, 02 January 2014 12:49

That cover is very cool! I like that it's a different take on having faces on the cover. That can feel overdone but this way it's fresh!

That cover is very cool! I like that it's a different take on having faces on the cover. That can feel overdone but this way it's fresh!
Viviana Ortiz on Thursday, 02 January 2014 15:43

It looks kind of like the drama faces one screaming and the other serious(it should be laughing but you get my point). Different

It looks kind of like the drama faces one screaming and the other serious(it should be laughing but you get my point). Different
Jaime arkin on Thursday, 02 January 2014 20:51

Love this cover and the summary has me intrigued!!

Love this cover and the summary has me intrigued!!
Jaime arkin on Thursday, 02 January 2014 20:51

Love this cover and the summary has me intrigued!!

Love this cover and the summary has me intrigued!!
Guest - Olivia Hou on Thursday, 02 January 2014 20:59

Okay, I'm going to be 100% honest. When I first saw the cover, I had no idea what it was, but I think it's an okay cover. It doesn't exactly really catch my eye :p

Okay, I'm going to be 100% honest. When I first saw the cover, I had no idea what it was, but I think it's an okay cover. It doesn't exactly really catch my eye :p

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)