The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Cover Reveal: Falls the Shadow by Stefanie Gaither + Giveaway (US/Canada)

Posted by on in Cover Reveals
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 6286
  • 54 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

 

We're back from our holiday vacation with a new cover reveal, YABCers!

Today we're celebrating the cover for FALLS THE SHADOW by Stefanie Gaither, releasing September 16, 2014 from Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers. Before we get to the cover, here's a message from Stefanie:

 

Hello YABC! I'm SO excited to be here for the exclusive cover reveal of my book, FALLS THE SHADOW! 
 
I've been trying reeeally hard to come up with some sort of witty and brilliant introduction to do said cover justice, but all I keep coming back to is: Wow! This is happening! This book cover has my name on it! WHAT. WHAT IS HAPPENING AHHHH
 
Ahem. But seriously, my first thought when I opened the email containing it was simply: "Whoa.” I think it's positively striking, and I adore the boldness of it, the colors, etc... My agent rightly used the word “intense” to describe it, and “intense” is such a perfect adjective to describe the story inside, too, so I’m thrilled that this cover captures that so well. I can't wait to see the physical jacket, either; I imagine it's going to be even more striking once the letters and such have some shiny effects on them (I do love shiny things). 
 
Anyway, I hope you love this cover as much as I do!
 
~ Stefanie
 

 

 

Intense? Sweet! Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

b2ap3_thumbnail_FallsTheShadow_CVRfinal.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Stefanie's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

 

FALLS THE SHADOW

by Stefanie Gaither
Release date: September 16, 2014
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers
 

About the book

 

When Cate Benson was a kid, her sister, Violet, died. Two hours after the funeral, Cate’s family picked up Violet’s replacement. Like nothing had happened. Because Cate’s parents are among those who decided to give their children a sort of immortality—by cloning them at birth—which means this new Violet has the same face. The same perfect smile. She even has all of the same memories as the girl she replaced.

She also might have murdered the most popular girl in school. 

At least, that’s what the paparazzi and the anti-cloning protestors want everyone to think: that clones are violent, unpredictable monsters. Cate is used to hearing all that. She’s used to defending her sister, too. But now Violet has vanished, and when Cate sets out to find her, she ends up in the line of fire instead. Because Cate is getting dangerously close to secrets that will rock the foundation of everything she thought was true.

Debut author Stefanie Gaither takes readers on a nail-biting ride through a future that looks frighteningly similar to our own time and asks: how far are you willing to go to keep your family together?

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_sgaither_author_photo_20131230-164507_1.jpgAbout the Author

After co-owning and managing a coffee shop for several years while simultaneously earning her B.A. in English, Stefanie Gaither left the small business world behind to focus on her author career instead. Now, in addition to penning YA novels, she also works part-time as a copywriter for an advertising agency. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and an incredibly spoiled Shih Tzu. You can visit her online at www.stefaniegaither.com.

Twitter | FacebookGoodreadsPinterestTumblr


 

Giveaway Details

  • One US/Canada winner will receive a signed ARC when they become available. 

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover?

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Guest
    Becky Monday, 30 December 2013

    Amazing cover!

  • Guest
    Shallee Monday, 30 December 2013

    THIS IS SO AWESOME! Yay, Stefanie, I love it!

  • Emily Dolhansky
    Emily Dolhansky Monday, 30 December 2013

    Beautiful cover, can't wait to read this. :)

  • Guest
    Leah Rae Miller Monday, 30 December 2013

    GORGEOUS!!!!!

  • Guest
    Leah Rae Miller Monday, 30 December 2013

    For those wondering, here's the Goodreads page for this fantastic book!: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17559487-falls-the-shadow

    Not sure why it's not in the post.

  • Joshua David Bellin
    Joshua David Bellin Monday, 30 December 2013

    Love the cover--the reverse-shadow scream is awesome!

  • Sandra Lam
    Sandra Lam Monday, 30 December 2013

    I really like the silhouette of the two faces!

  • Sandra Lam
    Sandra Lam Monday, 30 December 2013

    I really like the silhouette of the two faces!

  • Guest
    Tammy Monday, 30 December 2013

    I like the double face and the 3D lettering.

  • Vivien
    Vivien Monday, 30 December 2013

    I really like the complexity!

  • Guest
    Lauren Fuchs Tuesday, 31 December 2013

    This is such a gorgeous cover!! Love it!!

  • Teresa Salvatore
    Teresa Salvatore Tuesday, 31 December 2013

    Very unique and so pretty! I know we're not supposed to judge a book by its cover but, this looks like an awesome read! Quick! To the TBR list! :)

  • Emily
    Emily Tuesday, 31 December 2013

    What a gorgeous & clever cover, and the summary sounds amazing too! I wish the giveaway was international!

  • Emily
    Emily Tuesday, 31 December 2013

    What a gorgeous & clever cover, and the summary sounds amazing too! I wish the giveaway was international!

  • Sam
    Sam Wednesday, 01 January 2014

    Its an interesting concept, but the shadow faces arn't the same size and that bothers me. lol

  • Jessica
    Jessica Thursday, 02 January 2014

    That cover is very cool! I like that it's a different take on having faces on the cover. That can feel overdone but this way it's fresh!

  • Viviana Ortiz
    Viviana Ortiz Thursday, 02 January 2014

    It looks kind of like the drama faces one screaming and the other serious(it should be laughing but you get my point). Different

  • Jaime arkin
    Jaime arkin Thursday, 02 January 2014

    Love this cover and the summary has me intrigued!!

  • Jaime arkin
    Jaime arkin Thursday, 02 January 2014

    Love this cover and the summary has me intrigued!!

  • Guest
    Olivia Hou Thursday, 02 January 2014

    Okay, I'm going to be 100% honest. When I first saw the cover, I had no idea what it was, but I think it's an okay cover. It doesn't exactly really catch my eye :p

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, 18 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)