The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Cover Reveal: 45 Pounds (more or less) + Giveaway! (US Only)

Posted by on in Cover Reveals
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 7058
  • 53 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Today we have the pleasure of hosting a terrific cover reveal for 45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS) by K.A. Barson! 

Before we get to the big reveal, here is a message from Kelly:

Hey, YABC! Thanks for joining me for the exclusive cover reveal for my debut YA novel, 45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS). While neither my main character Ann nor I are unbelievably gorgeous, I think the cover of my book is. The design team at Viking took care with each and every detail, right down to a spectacular font. Feel free to “ooh” and “ah” and even laugh a little, because that’s actually the look we were going for. You can find out more about Ann, the book, and me—including future giveaways—by checking out my website, www.kabarson.com or the Class of 2k13’s site, www.classof2k13.com.

Cheers,
K.A. (Kelly) Barson, (45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS), Viking)

And now on with the show! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

45Pounds compcover new

 

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life: 

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 ½  months.

Welcome to the world of informercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother. 

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!

 

What a perfect-sounding contemporary! I'm looking forward to adding this one to my YA Contemporary TBR list. I can't seem to get enough of them! 

 

In honor of this reveal, Kelly is generously providing one signed (and/or personalized) ARC to one lucky US winner. Enter using the form below! Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 



Rate this blog entry:
Tagged in: Cover Reveal Giveaway

Comments

  • Vivien
    Vivien Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I think it's really cute!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    The cover looks heavy. All those clothes. It's nice

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I like the cover and LOVE the title, but I wish I could see more of her body in order to solidify that her issue is weight loss.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Love it, Kelly! Thanks for letting us know about the reveal!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Congrats, Kelly! I love the idea of piling on the clothes, and it could be seen as symbolic of her true self waiting to be revealed.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    What a fun cover, Kelly! And the book sounds wonderful. On my TBR list!

  • Jennifer Howard McCoy
    Jennifer Howard McCoy Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    This is a fun cover!!!

  • Alyssa Hatmaker
    Alyssa Hatmaker Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    SUCH a great cover! I love the title placement and fonts, and I think the cover perfectly illustrates what the book is about.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I love the cover -- colorful and really shows visually what's happening in the book

  • April Byrum
    April Byrum Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Love the cover!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I like it!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Really fun cover. Kind of drives me crazy that I can't pull back those clothes and see her face. Love all the color!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I think the cover is clean and telling. It really makes me want to read the book!

  • Elie
    Elie Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Cute cover, I love the story idea better. I think there will be many who will relate to this story. I can't wait to read it!

  • Megan Bostic
    Megan Bostic Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I think the cover is really adorable and I love the fonts.:)

  • Kelly Barson
    Kelly Barson Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Thanks, everyone. I appreciate your support and enthusiasm. Thank you, thank you, thank you, YABC, for such a great reveal. You guys are awesome.

    Reply Cancel
  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 01 January 2013

    You're very welcome! Thanks for letting us be the host! Can't wait to read this one. :)

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I love the cover, because it is 1) timeless--I hate when a book starts to fade from regular classroom checkouts because the cover was trendy a few years earlier--2) the facelessness makes it universal and an easy "I am Ann" connection for lots of readers, and 3) it's super cute!

    Thanks for giveaway! :)

    Reply Cancel
  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 28 November 2012

    Great points. Totally agree.

  • Stacy
    Stacy Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    This cover is so intriguing!

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 19 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)