The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Cover Reveal: 45 Pounds (more or less) + Giveaway! (US Only)

Posted by on in Cover Reveals
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 7424
  • 53 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Today we have the pleasure of hosting a terrific cover reveal for 45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS) by K.A. Barson! 

Before we get to the big reveal, here is a message from Kelly:

Hey, YABC! Thanks for joining me for the exclusive cover reveal for my debut YA novel, 45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS). While neither my main character Ann nor I are unbelievably gorgeous, I think the cover of my book is. The design team at Viking took care with each and every detail, right down to a spectacular font. Feel free to “ooh” and “ah” and even laugh a little, because that’s actually the look we were going for. You can find out more about Ann, the book, and me—including future giveaways—by checking out my website, www.kabarson.com or the Class of 2k13’s site, www.classof2k13.com.

Cheers,
K.A. (Kelly) Barson, (45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS), Viking)

And now on with the show! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

45Pounds compcover new

 

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life: 

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 ½  months.

Welcome to the world of informercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother. 

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!

 

What a perfect-sounding contemporary! I'm looking forward to adding this one to my YA Contemporary TBR list. I can't seem to get enough of them! 

 

In honor of this reveal, Kelly is generously providing one signed (and/or personalized) ARC to one lucky US winner. Enter using the form below! Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 



Rate this blog entry:
Tagged in: Cover Reveal Giveaway

Comments

  • Vivien
    Vivien Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I think it's really cute!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    The cover looks heavy. All those clothes. It's nice

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I like the cover and LOVE the title, but I wish I could see more of her body in order to solidify that her issue is weight loss.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Love it, Kelly! Thanks for letting us know about the reveal!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Congrats, Kelly! I love the idea of piling on the clothes, and it could be seen as symbolic of her true self waiting to be revealed.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    What a fun cover, Kelly! And the book sounds wonderful. On my TBR list!

  • Jennifer Howard McCoy
    Jennifer Howard McCoy Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    This is a fun cover!!!

  • Alyssa Hatmaker
    Alyssa Hatmaker Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    SUCH a great cover! I love the title placement and fonts, and I think the cover perfectly illustrates what the book is about.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I love the cover -- colorful and really shows visually what's happening in the book

  • April Byrum
    April Byrum Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Love the cover!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I like it!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Really fun cover. Kind of drives me crazy that I can't pull back those clothes and see her face. Love all the color!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I think the cover is clean and telling. It really makes me want to read the book!

  • Elie
    Elie Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Cute cover, I love the story idea better. I think there will be many who will relate to this story. I can't wait to read it!

  • Megan Bostic
    Megan Bostic Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I think the cover is really adorable and I love the fonts.:)

  • Kelly Barson
    Kelly Barson Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Thanks, everyone. I appreciate your support and enthusiasm. Thank you, thank you, thank you, YABC, for such a great reveal. You guys are awesome.

    Reply Cancel
  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 01 January 2013

    You're very welcome! Thanks for letting us be the host! Can't wait to read this one. :)

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    I love the cover, because it is 1) timeless--I hate when a book starts to fade from regular classroom checkouts because the cover was trendy a few years earlier--2) the facelessness makes it universal and an easy "I am Ann" connection for lots of readers, and 3) it's super cute!

    Thanks for giveaway! :)

    Reply Cancel
  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 28 November 2012

    Great points. Totally agree.

  • Stacy
    Stacy Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    This cover is so intriguing!

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 27 February 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)