The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Cover Reveal: 45 Pounds (more or less) + Giveaway! (US Only)

Cover Reveal: 45 Pounds (more or less) + Giveaway! (US Only)

Today we have the pleasure of hosting a terrific cover reveal for 45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS) by K.A. Barson! 

Before we get to the big reveal, here is a message from Kelly:

Hey, YABC! Thanks for joining me for the exclusive cover reveal for my debut YA novel, 45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS). While neither my main character Ann nor I are unbelievably gorgeous, I think the cover of my book is. The design team at Viking took care with each and every detail, right down to a spectacular font. Feel free to “ooh” and “ah” and even laugh a little, because that’s actually the look we were going for. You can find out more about Ann, the book, and me—including future giveaways—by checking out my website, www.kabarson.com or the Class of 2k13’s site, www.classof2k13.com.

Cheers,
K.A. (Kelly) Barson, (45 POUNDS (MORE OR LESS), Viking)

And now on with the show! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

45Pounds compcover new

 

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life: 

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 ½  months.

Welcome to the world of informercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother. 

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!

 

What a perfect-sounding contemporary! I'm looking forward to adding this one to my YA Contemporary TBR list. I can't seem to get enough of them! 

 

In honor of this reveal, Kelly is generously providing one signed (and/or personalized) ARC to one lucky US winner. Enter using the form below! Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 



Rate this blog entry:
October Giveaway Winners Announced!
Interview with Victoria Strauss, Author of Passio...

Related Posts

Comments 53

 
Vivien on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 12:09

I think it's really cute!

I think it's really cute!
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 12:25

The cover looks heavy. All those clothes. It's nice

The cover looks heavy. All those clothes. It's nice
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 12:29

I like the cover and LOVE the title, but I wish I could see more of her body in order to solidify that her issue is weight loss.

I like the cover and LOVE the title, but I wish I could see more of her body in order to solidify that her issue is weight loss.
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 12:42

Love it, Kelly! Thanks for letting us know about the reveal!

Love it, Kelly! Thanks for letting us know about the reveal!
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 12:49

Congrats, Kelly! I love the idea of piling on the clothes, and it could be seen as symbolic of her true self waiting to be revealed.

Congrats, Kelly! I love the idea of piling on the clothes, and it could be seen as symbolic of her true self waiting to be revealed.
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 13:06

What a fun cover, Kelly! And the book sounds wonderful. On my TBR list!

What a fun cover, Kelly! And the book sounds wonderful. On my TBR list!
Jennifer Howard McCoy on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 13:22

This is a fun cover!!!

This is a fun cover!!!
Alyssa Hatmaker on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 14:23

SUCH a great cover! I love the title placement and fonts, and I think the cover perfectly illustrates what the book is about.

SUCH a great cover! I love the title placement and fonts, and I think the cover perfectly illustrates what the book is about.
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 14:28

I love the cover -- colorful and really shows visually what's happening in the book

I love the cover -- colorful and really shows visually what's happening in the book
April Byrum on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 14:40

Love the cover!

Love the cover!
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 14:48

I like it!

I like it!
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 15:10

Really fun cover. Kind of drives me crazy that I can't pull back those clothes and see her face. Love all the color!

Really fun cover. Kind of drives me crazy that I can't pull back those clothes and see her face. Love all the color!
YABC on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 15:40

I think the cover is clean and telling. It really makes me want to read the book!

I think the cover is clean and telling. It really makes me want to read the book!
Elie on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 16:43

Cute cover, I love the story idea better. I think there will be many who will relate to this story. I can't wait to read it!

Cute cover, I love the story idea better. I think there will be many who will relate to this story. I can't wait to read it!
Megan Bostic on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 17:22

I think the cover is really adorable and I love the fonts.:)

I think the cover is really adorable and I love the fonts.:)
Kelly Barson on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 17:29

Thanks, everyone. I appreciate your support and enthusiasm. Thank you, thank you, thank you, YABC, for such a great reveal. You guys are awesome.

Thanks, everyone. I appreciate your support and enthusiasm. Thank you, thank you, thank you, YABC, for such a great reveal. You guys are awesome.
YABC on Tuesday, 01 January 2013 17:33

You're very welcome! Thanks for letting us be the host! Can't wait to read this one. :)

You're very welcome! Thanks for letting us be the host! Can't wait to read this one. :)
MrsErica Beaton on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 19:36

I love the cover, because it is 1) timeless--I hate when a book starts to fade from regular classroom checkouts because the cover was trendy a few years earlier--2) the facelessness makes it universal and an easy "I am Ann" connection for lots of readers, and 3) it's super cute!

Thanks for giveaway! :)

I love the cover, because it is 1) timeless--I hate when a book starts to fade from regular classroom checkouts because the cover was trendy a few years earlier--2) the facelessness makes it universal and an easy "I am Ann" connection for lots of readers, and 3) it's super cute! Thanks for giveaway! :)
YABC on Wednesday, 28 November 2012 10:01

Great points. Totally agree.

Great points. Totally agree.
Stacy on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 19:51

This cover is so intriguing!

This cover is so intriguing!

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)