The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.
All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

What's New in YA--April 26, 2016

What's New in YA--April 26, 2016


















Are you wondering what's new in YA  today? Check out these wonderful  new  releases!         Timothy Brennan is seventeen and miserable; life unravels by the day. Driven to the brink of suicide, a fae creature intervenes and together, they discover there is more to Timothy than anyone knew....
Continue reading
  2036 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Alight by Scott Sigler

Featured Review: Alight by Scott Sigler
  About this book: “If it’s war they want, they messed with the wrong girl.” M. Savage—or Em, as she is called—has made a bewildering and ominous discovery. She and the other young people she was chosen to lead awoke in strange coffins with no memory of their names or their...
Continue reading
  1074 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Invision, Plus Giveaway!

Spotlight on Invision, Plus Giveaway!





  Today we're putting a spotlight on Sherrilyn Kenyon's novel,  Invision . Read on for more about Sherrilyn, her novel, a book trailer, a chance to continue the scavenge hunt, an excerpt of Invision , plus a giveaway!   Meet Invision !   Think you have a lot of pressure on...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
missy ellis
it sounds good
Thursday, 05 May 2016 02:17
Linda Romer
Sherrilyn Kenyon ROCKS ♡ I want to read all her books! Thank you
Friday, 06 May 2016 07:36
Kara S
The specific thought I have upon reading about the 7th book in this acclaimed series is: "Whoa! I'm a little late to this party -... Read More
Tuesday, 17 May 2016 23:05
  1991 Hits
  6 Comments

The Librarian's Corner--April 25, 2016

The Librarian's Corner--April 25, 2016






Tough Fiction for Tough Teens This month I wanted to highlight some books dealing with tough issues. These are books that will make you  cry, that will make your heart ache, and that will leave you with a different perspective on not just your life,  these tough books for the teens...
Continue reading
  1561 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: How Many Letters Are in Goodbye?

Featured Review: How Many Letters Are in Goodbye?
  About this book: Seventeen-year-old Rhea Farrell carries the scars of a childhood accident in which she lost her arm. But she also carries scars that aren’t so visible—the loss of a mother she hardly remembers, the impact of her father’s drinking, and her confusion and pain around accepting her sexuality....
Continue reading
  1646 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)

Featured Review: The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)
About this book: A ridiculously cute, formerly-famous new guy dropping into your life? It's practically every girl's dream. But not Jules McCallister-Morgan's. I realize that on paper I look like your standard type-A, neurotic, overachiever. And maybe I am. But I didn't get to be the editor of my school's long-revered...
Continue reading
  1124 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Flamecaster

Featured Review: Flamecaster
About this book: The first in a thrilling new four-book fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author Cinda Williams Chima, set in the same world as her beloved Seven Realms series, a generation later Adrian sul’Han, known as Ash, is a trained healer with a powerful gift of magic—and a...
Continue reading
  1283 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Forest of Ruin

Featured Review: Forest of Ruin
About this book: Perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones, this is the breathtaking conclusion to the Age of Legends trilogy—from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong. The empire rests on the edge of a knife, and sisters Ashyn and Moria are the handle and the blade....
Continue reading
  1104 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Elizabetta Holcomb, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Elizabetta Holcomb, Plus Giveaway!



YABC: What is your favorite hobby when you're not writing? Elizabetta Holcom: I love the theatre and concerts. The Saenger Theatre in New Orleans is my favorite venue. It’s so classy. I’ve tickets to see Wicked there in June. I can’t wait!!! And in August I’m going see Coldplay in Texas...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Emily
I love this cover!!!!
Friday, 29 April 2016 13:46
Linda Romer
The Guardian sounds great ♡ And I love the cover ♡ Thank you
Saturday, 30 April 2016 17:10
Eddie Black
I like that the covers has the iconic cliffs on it so you get an idea immediately about the setting of the book
Wednesday, 04 May 2016 20:13
  2445 Hits
  5 Comments

Trailer Reveal: The Huntsman--Winter's War

Trailer Reveal: The Huntsman--Winter's War

Have you been (im)patiently waiting for the newest story from the world of Snow Whiye and the Hunstman? With just one moe day until The Hunstman: Winter's War makes its cinematic debut, we thought we'd share the trailer one more time to tide ourselves over!      If you make it...
Continue reading
  1098 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Every Stolen Breath
The Swarm is unrecognizable, untraceable, and unpredictable—random attacks on the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cursed Beauty
Aurora Rose Brynhild is out of time. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The C Word
Addison: Secrets have a way of getting out....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aphelion
Ky isn’t your typical seventeen-year-old girl. She's an alien hunter.Ky...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Announcing Trouble
I may know everything there is to know about baseball,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seneca Lake
It's 1944, and high school senior Meg Michaels has always...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freshman Witch
Of course, magic is real. Everybody knows that. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sarai and The Around The World Fair
When Sarai outgrows her bike, she worries she'll never get...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Of Beast and Beauty
7 vengeful sisters 7 fairytale kingdoms 7 daughters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pepper Party Picks The Perfect Pet (The Pepper Party, #1)
Meet the Peppers. Funny runs in the family....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dylan’s parents were taken from her in a terrible crash...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dirt
Things are hard for eleven-year-old Yonder. Her mother died and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gen One
Generations after robots conquered Earth, the remaining population survives in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Darknessontheedgeoftown.jpg
Chief Jim Hopper reveals long-awaited secrets to Eleven about his...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
SupermanDawnbreaker.jpg
When the dawn breaks, a hero rises. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moon Water: A Novel
Set in the Blue Ridge Mountains during the summer of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Every Stolen Breath
 
4.0
"EVERY STOLEN BREATH is an engrossing read that follows Lia as she attempts to uncover her father's killers. Every so..."
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
"Skipping Forward by Bethany Wicker is a standalone contemporary fantasy about a girl who can skip through time. This book..."
Fangs & Fins
 
3.3
"Ivy and Ember are thrown together when their parents marry. One a popular girl, the other a bookworm, they start..."
The N Word
 
5.0
"Alright, if you read my review of The F Word, you know how attached I already am to these characters...."
Announcing Trouble
 
5.0
"Making me smile all the way through, ANNOUNCING TROUBLE was a pure delight. Josie is almost eighteen with an enormous..."
Of Wolves and Witches
 
4.0
"Harper is sent to a magical Academy when she breaks the rules. She doesn't expect to end up with two..."
Golden Chains
 
5.0
"Feedback I just… wow. What a different pace than the first novel! Right off the bat we are thrown into..."
Sarai and The Around The World Fair
 
3.0
"Though rich and vibrant in illustrations and culture, Sarai and the Around the World Fair is a slow-mover. ..."
The Pepper Party Picks The Perfect Pet (The Pepper Party, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolute fun is one way to summarize The Pepper Party Picks the Perfect Pet. Perfectly placed and brilliant illustrations helped..."
Dirt
 
4.0
"After Yonder's mom dies, she and her dad are struck with grief and have trouble picking up the pieces. It..."
Darkness on the Edge of Town (Stranger Things )
 
4.7
"Darkness on the Edge of Town is a fascinating glimpse into Hopper's past. Being a big fan of Hopper since..."
Moon Water: A Novel
 
3.3
"MOON WATER follows Nettie in the summer of 1969 when her life is in turmoil. Nettie is 16 years old..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
4.0
"Where to start with this book? The Story: Rayne manages to snag the eye of the most desirable..."
The Fifth Well: Fate of the Future
 
3.5
"The story: Four high-schoolers happens upon five mysterious wells while walking through the woods near their home. Before..."
The Memory Thief
 
4.7
"THE MEMORY THIEF is an engrossing YA fantasy that will keep you turning pages late into the night. Etta lives..."
Where the Heart Is
 
5.0
"The start of thirteen-year-old Rachel’s summer doesn’t go as she planned. Tensions are high at her home and she knows..."
Smile: How Young Charlie Chaplin Taught the World to Laugh (and Cry)
 
4.0
"'Smile: How Young Charlie Chaplin Taught the World to Laugh (and Cry)' by Gary Golio, illustrated by Ted Young, is..."
Ocean: A Peek-Through Picture Book
 
5.0
"OCEAN: A PEEK-THROUGH PICTURE BOOK is a beautiful exploration of marine life. Featuring clever cut-outs on each page that peek-through..."
Watch Us Rise
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Readers get a dual POV novel narrated by Jasmine, a fat Black girl, and Chelsea, a..."
Meet the Sky
 
5.0
"MEET THE SKY is a beautiful story about loss, life, and love. Sophie lives with her mother and sister, who..."