The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Spotlight on A Curse So Dark and Lonely (Brigid Kemmerer), Special Pre-Order Offer, Plus Excerpt!

ACSD

C:\Users\eloberg\Downloads\CURSE Preorder Ad.jpg
C:\Users\eloberg\Downloads\CURSE Cozy Winter Reading Box.png

A Curse So Dark and Lonely Excerpt and Pre-Order Offer     In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.   Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince...
Continue reading
  801 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Realm Of Ruins (Hannah West), Exclusive First Excerpt, & Giveaway!

Realm-of-Ruins
















Today we're excited to spotlight  Realm Of Ruins  by Hannah West.  Read on for more about Hannah and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!          Meet  Hannah West ! Hannah West has always loved writing about magic and fairy tales, but her time studying abroad in Orleans,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Debra Branigan
The cover is gorgeous and YA readers will be quick to pick it up. I enjoyed the excerpt provided and believe the book to be an exc... Read More
Wednesday, 28 November 2018 15:40
Tiffany Engler
I LOVE this cover. This book sounds so good!!
Thursday, 29 November 2018 08:15
Hannah
This cover is stunning and the book sounds great
Sunday, 02 December 2018 23:08
  1557 Hits
  15 Comments

Spotlight on In Another Time (Caroline Leech) Plus Exclusive Excerpt & Giveaway!

InAnotherTime-FINAL-cover-with-blurb



Today we're spotlighting  Caroline Leech's novel,  In Another Time !  Read on for more about Caroline and her novel, plus a exclusive excerpt, and giveaway!         Meet  Caroline Leech ! Caroline Leech is a Scottish writer who moved to Texas for an adventure in 2007. Her debut novel...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Sandy
I had to do a double take when i saw this cover as the woman on the front reminds me of my cousin when we were growing up so natur... Read More
Wednesday, 01 August 2018 16:08
Shannon Mizikoski
I really enjoyed Wait for Me so I am so excited to read In Another Time! I love how the covers really get the feel of being back i... Read More
Wednesday, 01 August 2018 19:50
Marisa Fort
The cover is beautiful and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Tuesday, 07 August 2018 12:49
  1373 Hits
  13 Comments

Spotlight on Star-Touched Stories (Roshani Chokshi), Plus Excerpt!

IMG_6242


Read on for more about Roshani and her book, plus an excerpt, & giveaway!            Meet  Roshani Chokshi !  Roshani Chokshi is the New York Times bestselling author of  The Star-Touched series  and  Aru Shah and The End of Time , book one in the Pandava series....
Continue reading
  804 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Nadine Brandes (Fawkes), Plus Excerpt!

36576048



Today we're excited to chat with Nadine Brandes , author of  Fawkes! Read on for more info about Nadine, an interview, and an excerpt!       Meet  Fawkes ! Thomas Fawkes is turning to stone, and the only cure to the Stone Plague is to join his father’s plot to...
Continue reading
  842 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Bone's Gift (Angie Smibert), Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

BonesGift



Today we're excited to spotlight  Bone's Gift  by Angie Smibert!  Read on for more about Angie and her book, plus an excerpt & giveaway!          Meet Angie Smibert ! Angie Smibert is the author of several young adult books, including Memento Nora, The Forgetting Curve, and The Meme Plague, numerous nonfiction...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Marisa Fort
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Wednesday, 25 April 2018 13:46
wendy rinebold
This sounds like a very interesting and different story. I like the cover and I am curious about the yellow shirt.
Friday, 04 May 2018 21:54
Dan Denman
I like the cool and colorful book cover. Bone sounds like a good character. I am excited to read this story that sounds mysterious... Read More
Sunday, 06 May 2018 13:54
  1108 Hits
  5 Comments

YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Radical Element (Jessica Spotswood), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

radical



Today we're excited to share an excerpt from Jessica Spotswood's The Radical Element  as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt!  Read on for more about Jessica and her novel!   And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win the ...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
Well-designed cover, and it sounds like this has a variety of viewpoints!
Sunday, 01 April 2018 22:25
Kara S
The cover is just stunning, and I am so excited about the subject of this short story collections -- to say nothing of all the gre... Read More
Sunday, 08 April 2018 04:04
Delaney
The cover is super pretty and I’m excited for more badass ladies!
Monday, 09 April 2018 15:55
  810 Hits
  6 Comments

YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Unfortunates (Kim Liggett), Plus Excerpt, & Giveaway!

Unfortunates



Today we're excited to share an excerpt from Kim Liggett's The Unfortunates  as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt!  Read on for more about Kim and her novel!   And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win the  Grand...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
It looks and sounds like quite the thriller!
Sunday, 01 April 2018 22:24
Kara S
The cover doesn't add much to my interest, but the excerpt was awesome!
Sunday, 08 April 2018 04:57
wendy rinebold
This sounds incredibly exciting and I love the cover!
Wednesday, 11 April 2018 21:27
  908 Hits
  5 Comments

YABC Scavenger Hunt: Dive Smack (Demetra Brodsky), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

dive
Demetra Brodsky








Today we're excited to share an excerpt from Demetra Brodsky's Dive Smack  as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt!  Read on for more about Demetra and her novel! And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win the  Grand Prize...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
I suppose the cover is symbolic, and this isn't a fantasy. Sounds interesting!
Sunday, 01 April 2018 22:24
Kara S
The cover manages originality and suggests an excitement exposition of the plot described. More convincingly, the excerpt shows t... Read More
Sunday, 08 April 2018 05:02
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is amazing and symbolic and goes well with this exciting and suspenseful synopsis.
Thursday, 12 April 2018 18:48
  1102 Hits
  5 Comments

YABC Scavenger Hunt: Anger Is A Gift (Mark Oshiro), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

Anger



Today we're excited to share an excerpt from Mark Oshiro's Anger Is A Gift  as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt!  Read on for more about Mark and his novel!   And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
It looks and sounds like a pretty tough tale!
Sunday, 01 April 2018 22:23
Kara S
The cover works well with the synopsis, and the synopsis sounds impressive! ... Read More
Sunday, 08 April 2018 05:12
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is perfect for this book and the synopsis sounds emotional, powerful, and important for everyone to read as we all have ... Read More
Thursday, 12 April 2018 18:46
  859 Hits
  5 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Emerge: The Betrayal  (Immortals of Indriell Book 5)
Four years ago, Allie and Aidan parted ways. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Merbaby's Lullaby
 
5.0
"MERBABY’S LULLABY is an elegant and sweet poem, perfect for a bedtime book. As waves rock, whales sing, and starfish..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."