The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author of Pretty Dark Nothing + US Giveaway

Posted by on in Blog Tours
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2161
  • 5 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

I was really excited to have the opportunity to read the YA paranormal novel, PRETTY DARK NOTHING. Here is author Heather L. Reid's way of battling writer's block. Make sure to check out the  giveaway at the bottom of the post!
 

Cursing The Blank Page: How I Battle Writer’s Block

The cursor winks, mocking me as it looms above the blank page.

“Come on. Do it. Write something.”

Dark and evil it blinks, a beacon of my own inadequacy, each beat a challenge.

“I dare you.”

Fear grips me, anger too.  My mind is blank. I wipe sweat from my forehead with a sleeve. I take a sip of water, to ease the dryness in my mouth. Ideas swirl through my thoughts, I grab at them, one by one examining them in my mind, then throw each back into the ether. None of them are good enough. None of them worthy of the demands of that damned cursor. I curse. Damn you. I look at the clock. 10:20 am. Time and the cursor are in cahoots with their taunts.

It’s Wednesday, a blog post is due, I have interview questions to answer, my inbox is piling up, and the deadline for the sequel to Pretty Dark Nothing is looming like a dark cloud. All I really want to do is give the cursor the finger and escape into a game of Skyrim and devour a bar of chocolate.

“Quitter.” The cursor sneers.

Heat rises in my cheeks. I grit my teeth. I am not a quitter.

“There’s only one thing that can guarantee our failure, and that’s if we quit.”–Craig Breedlove

The cursor stares at me, shocked.

“Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I start to write.

“Keep on beginning and failing. Each time you fail, start all over again, and you will grow stronger until have accomplished a purpose – not the one you began with perhaps, but one you’ll be glad to remember.”–Anne Sullivan

Not my own words, at first.

“Other people and things can stop you temporarily. You’re the only one who can do it permanently.” –Zig Ziglar

I will not let the blank page, that blinking cursor, win.

“All that is necessary to break the spell of inertia and frustration is this: Act as if it were impossible to fail. That is the talisman, the formula, the command of right about-face which turns us from failure to success.”–Dorthea Brande

Act as if it were impossible to fail, act as if it were impossible to fail, act as if it were impossible to fail…the mantra for today. The thing that’s getting me through this blank page is the encouragement found in the words and the works of others. It’s the friends that I’ve made online, the support from my peers, my family, my readers, and the belief that I have a calling. This passion for the written word isn’t for naught.

“You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.”–Beverly Sills

There is poetry in my soul aching to be released. I must learn to trust it every single day. I grab onto that idea. I hold it close and let it feed me the determination to never give up, to act as if it were impossible to fail. I open myself up and let the words pour onto the page, without fear, without limits. What is there to lose? One word at a time, the good, the bad, the ugly, let it flow until it builds into a flood. It is then that I remember why I write and let the joy of storytelling fill me until I am bursting at the seams. The cursor is no longer my enemy, but my partner, working together to weave magic.

 

ABOUT HEATHER L. REID:

Heather L. Reid eats mayonnaise on her fries, loves men in kilts, and met her husband playing Star Wars Galaxies online. This native Texan now lives with her Scottish hubby in North Ayrshire, Scotland, where she wanders the moors in search of Heathcliff and William Wallace.     
 
 

 

 

 

 

TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY:

Grand prize includes a signed copy of PRETTY DARK NOTHING, bookmarks, sleep mask, and nail polish! (US Only). Five ebook copies of PRETTY DARK NOTHING will also be given away, open internationally.

 

Rafflecopter code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Book Links: Goodreads - Amazon - Barnes & Noble

Author Links: Website - Facebook - Twitter - Goodreads

Month9Books: Website - Blogger Central - Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Goodreads

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_PDNblogbutton.jpgTOUR SCHEDULE: 

April 22 - Falling for YA (Guest Post)
April 23 - Imaginary Reads (Review)
April 24 - The Eater of Books! (Review & Interview)
April 25 - Book Twirps (Review)
April 26 - Chapter by Chapter (Review & Favorites Q&A)
April 27 - Library of  a Book Witch (Review)
April 28 - Life Debatable (Guest Post)
April 29 - Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf (Interview))
April 30 - YA Book Central (Guest Post)
May 1 - Book Haven Extraordinaire (Guest Post)
May 2 - Books of Love (Review)
May 3 - I Am A Reader, Not a Writer (Top Ten)
May 4 - The Book Cellar (Interview)
May 5 -  A Dream Within A Dream (Review)

 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Krista Low
    Krista Low Tuesday, 30 April 2013

    I haven't read this book! I am always looking for a good read, this one looks fabulous :) I love all the fabulous quotes of inspiration! We have all faced writers block in one form or another and these quotes are great words to live by. Never give up! As Randy Pauch illustrated in The Last Lecture, walls are put up to see how badly we want something. I can relate! I look forward to reading the first book so I can enjoy the sequel too!

  • Jacqueline Yarwaye
    Jacqueline Yarwaye Tuesday, 30 April 2013

    All of the books I read are YA. I really can't wait to add this one to my Read list on Goodreads. The cover looks amazing and the Cursing the Blank Page thing under is awesome!!! CANNOT wait for this!!!:D:D

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 02 May 2013

    This is the first I'm hearing of this title and am so excited at the opportunity to win a copy!

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I had a student--just yesterday--ask me for a creepy, romance book! I'm so glad that I swung by the YABC site and found this! She'll be so excited when I recommend it to her.

  • Sam
    Sam Friday, 10 May 2013

    I love the writers block part! When ive got a short story due for school thats how it usually goes for me.

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 21 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)