The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author of Pretty Dark Nothing + US Giveaway

Posted by on in Blog Tours
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2283
  • 5 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

I was really excited to have the opportunity to read the YA paranormal novel, PRETTY DARK NOTHING. Here is author Heather L. Reid's way of battling writer's block. Make sure to check out the  giveaway at the bottom of the post!
 

Cursing The Blank Page: How I Battle Writer’s Block

The cursor winks, mocking me as it looms above the blank page.

“Come on. Do it. Write something.”

Dark and evil it blinks, a beacon of my own inadequacy, each beat a challenge.

“I dare you.”

Fear grips me, anger too.  My mind is blank. I wipe sweat from my forehead with a sleeve. I take a sip of water, to ease the dryness in my mouth. Ideas swirl through my thoughts, I grab at them, one by one examining them in my mind, then throw each back into the ether. None of them are good enough. None of them worthy of the demands of that damned cursor. I curse. Damn you. I look at the clock. 10:20 am. Time and the cursor are in cahoots with their taunts.

It’s Wednesday, a blog post is due, I have interview questions to answer, my inbox is piling up, and the deadline for the sequel to Pretty Dark Nothing is looming like a dark cloud. All I really want to do is give the cursor the finger and escape into a game of Skyrim and devour a bar of chocolate.

“Quitter.” The cursor sneers.

Heat rises in my cheeks. I grit my teeth. I am not a quitter.

“There’s only one thing that can guarantee our failure, and that’s if we quit.”–Craig Breedlove

The cursor stares at me, shocked.

“Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I start to write.

“Keep on beginning and failing. Each time you fail, start all over again, and you will grow stronger until have accomplished a purpose – not the one you began with perhaps, but one you’ll be glad to remember.”–Anne Sullivan

Not my own words, at first.

“Other people and things can stop you temporarily. You’re the only one who can do it permanently.” –Zig Ziglar

I will not let the blank page, that blinking cursor, win.

“All that is necessary to break the spell of inertia and frustration is this: Act as if it were impossible to fail. That is the talisman, the formula, the command of right about-face which turns us from failure to success.”–Dorthea Brande

Act as if it were impossible to fail, act as if it were impossible to fail, act as if it were impossible to fail…the mantra for today. The thing that’s getting me through this blank page is the encouragement found in the words and the works of others. It’s the friends that I’ve made online, the support from my peers, my family, my readers, and the belief that I have a calling. This passion for the written word isn’t for naught.

“You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.”–Beverly Sills

There is poetry in my soul aching to be released. I must learn to trust it every single day. I grab onto that idea. I hold it close and let it feed me the determination to never give up, to act as if it were impossible to fail. I open myself up and let the words pour onto the page, without fear, without limits. What is there to lose? One word at a time, the good, the bad, the ugly, let it flow until it builds into a flood. It is then that I remember why I write and let the joy of storytelling fill me until I am bursting at the seams. The cursor is no longer my enemy, but my partner, working together to weave magic.

 

ABOUT HEATHER L. REID:

Heather L. Reid eats mayonnaise on her fries, loves men in kilts, and met her husband playing Star Wars Galaxies online. This native Texan now lives with her Scottish hubby in North Ayrshire, Scotland, where she wanders the moors in search of Heathcliff and William Wallace.     
 
 

 

 

 

 

TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY:

Grand prize includes a signed copy of PRETTY DARK NOTHING, bookmarks, sleep mask, and nail polish! (US Only). Five ebook copies of PRETTY DARK NOTHING will also be given away, open internationally.

 

Rafflecopter code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Book Links: Goodreads - Amazon - Barnes & Noble

Author Links: Website - Facebook - Twitter - Goodreads

Month9Books: Website - Blogger Central - Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Goodreads

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_PDNblogbutton.jpgTOUR SCHEDULE: 

April 22 - Falling for YA (Guest Post)
April 23 - Imaginary Reads (Review)
April 24 - The Eater of Books! (Review & Interview)
April 25 - Book Twirps (Review)
April 26 - Chapter by Chapter (Review & Favorites Q&A)
April 27 - Library of  a Book Witch (Review)
April 28 - Life Debatable (Guest Post)
April 29 - Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf (Interview))
April 30 - YA Book Central (Guest Post)
May 1 - Book Haven Extraordinaire (Guest Post)
May 2 - Books of Love (Review)
May 3 - I Am A Reader, Not a Writer (Top Ten)
May 4 - The Book Cellar (Interview)
May 5 -  A Dream Within A Dream (Review)

 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Krista Low
    Krista Low Tuesday, 30 April 2013

    I haven't read this book! I am always looking for a good read, this one looks fabulous :) I love all the fabulous quotes of inspiration! We have all faced writers block in one form or another and these quotes are great words to live by. Never give up! As Randy Pauch illustrated in The Last Lecture, walls are put up to see how badly we want something. I can relate! I look forward to reading the first book so I can enjoy the sequel too!

  • Jacqueline Yarwaye
    Jacqueline Yarwaye Tuesday, 30 April 2013

    All of the books I read are YA. I really can't wait to add this one to my Read list on Goodreads. The cover looks amazing and the Cursing the Blank Page thing under is awesome!!! CANNOT wait for this!!!:D:D

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 02 May 2013

    This is the first I'm hearing of this title and am so excited at the opportunity to win a copy!

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I had a student--just yesterday--ask me for a creepy, romance book! I'm so glad that I swung by the YABC site and found this! She'll be so excited when I recommend it to her.

  • Sam
    Sam Friday, 10 May 2013

    I love the writers block part! When ive got a short story due for school thats how it usually goes for me.

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 01 March 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)