Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author of Pretty Dark Nothing + US Giveaway

Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author of Pretty Dark Nothing + US Giveaway

I was really excited to have the opportunity to read the YA paranormal novel, PRETTY DARK NOTHING. Here is author Heather L. Reid's way of battling writer's block. Make sure to check out the  giveaway at the bottom of the post!
 

Cursing The Blank Page: How I Battle Writer’s Block

The cursor winks, mocking me as it looms above the blank page.

“Come on. Do it. Write something.”

Dark and evil it blinks, a beacon of my own inadequacy, each beat a challenge.

“I dare you.”

Fear grips me, anger too.  My mind is blank. I wipe sweat from my forehead with a sleeve. I take a sip of water, to ease the dryness in my mouth. Ideas swirl through my thoughts, I grab at them, one by one examining them in my mind, then throw each back into the ether. None of them are good enough. None of them worthy of the demands of that damned cursor. I curse. Damn you. I look at the clock. 10:20 am. Time and the cursor are in cahoots with their taunts.

It’s Wednesday, a blog post is due, I have interview questions to answer, my inbox is piling up, and the deadline for the sequel to Pretty Dark Nothing is looming like a dark cloud. All I really want to do is give the cursor the finger and escape into a game of Skyrim and devour a bar of chocolate.

“Quitter.” The cursor sneers.

Heat rises in my cheeks. I grit my teeth. I am not a quitter.

“There’s only one thing that can guarantee our failure, and that’s if we quit.”–Craig Breedlove

The cursor stares at me, shocked.

“Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I start to write.

“Keep on beginning and failing. Each time you fail, start all over again, and you will grow stronger until have accomplished a purpose – not the one you began with perhaps, but one you’ll be glad to remember.”–Anne Sullivan

Not my own words, at first.

“Other people and things can stop you temporarily. You’re the only one who can do it permanently.” –Zig Ziglar

I will not let the blank page, that blinking cursor, win.

“All that is necessary to break the spell of inertia and frustration is this: Act as if it were impossible to fail. That is the talisman, the formula, the command of right about-face which turns us from failure to success.”–Dorthea Brande

Act as if it were impossible to fail, act as if it were impossible to fail, act as if it were impossible to fail…the mantra for today. The thing that’s getting me through this blank page is the encouragement found in the words and the works of others. It’s the friends that I’ve made online, the support from my peers, my family, my readers, and the belief that I have a calling. This passion for the written word isn’t for naught.

“You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.”–Beverly Sills

There is poetry in my soul aching to be released. I must learn to trust it every single day. I grab onto that idea. I hold it close and let it feed me the determination to never give up, to act as if it were impossible to fail. I open myself up and let the words pour onto the page, without fear, without limits. What is there to lose? One word at a time, the good, the bad, the ugly, let it flow until it builds into a flood. It is then that I remember why I write and let the joy of storytelling fill me until I am bursting at the seams. The cursor is no longer my enemy, but my partner, working together to weave magic.

 

ABOUT HEATHER L. REID:

Heather L. Reid eats mayonnaise on her fries, loves men in kilts, and met her husband playing Star Wars Galaxies online. This native Texan now lives with her Scottish hubby in North Ayrshire, Scotland, where she wanders the moors in search of Heathcliff and William Wallace.     
 
 

 

 

 

 

TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY:

Grand prize includes a signed copy of PRETTY DARK NOTHING, bookmarks, sleep mask, and nail polish! (US Only). Five ebook copies of PRETTY DARK NOTHING will also be given away, open internationally.

 

Rafflecopter code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Book Links: Goodreads - Amazon - Barnes & Noble

Author Links: Website - Facebook - Twitter - Goodreads

Month9Books: Website - Blogger Central - Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Goodreads

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_PDNblogbutton.jpgTOUR SCHEDULE: 

April 22 - Falling for YA (Guest Post)
April 23 - Imaginary Reads (Review)
April 24 - The Eater of Books! (Review & Interview)
April 25 - Book Twirps (Review)
April 26 - Chapter by Chapter (Review & Favorites Q&A)
April 27 - Library of  a Book Witch (Review)
April 28 - Life Debatable (Guest Post)
April 29 - Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf (Interview))
April 30 - YA Book Central (Guest Post)
May 1 - Book Haven Extraordinaire (Guest Post)
May 2 - Books of Love (Review)
May 3 - I Am A Reader, Not a Writer (Top Ten)
May 4 - The Book Cellar (Interview)
May 5 -  A Dream Within A Dream (Review)

 
Rate this blog entry:
Cover Reveal: SHADOWLARK by Meagan Spooner + US Gi...
5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris C...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Krista Low on Tuesday, 30 April 2013 07:56

I haven't read this book! I am always looking for a good read, this one looks fabulous I love all the fabulous quotes of inspiration! We have all faced writers block in one form or another and these quotes are great words to live by. Never give up! As Randy Pauch illustrated in The Last Lecture, walls are put up to see how badly we want something. I can relate! I look forward to reading the first book so I can enjoy the sequel too!

0
I haven't read this book! I am always looking for a good read, this one looks fabulous :) I love all the fabulous quotes of inspiration! We have all faced writers block in one form or another and these quotes are great words to live by. Never give up! As Randy Pauch illustrated in The Last Lecture, walls are put up to see how badly we want something. I can relate! I look forward to reading the first book so I can enjoy the sequel too!
Jacqueline Yarwaye on Tuesday, 30 April 2013 16:51

All of the books I read are YA. I really can't wait to add this one to my Read list on Goodreads. The cover looks amazing and the Cursing the Blank Page thing under is awesome!!! CANNOT wait for this!!!

0
All of the books I read are YA. I really can't wait to add this one to my Read list on Goodreads. The cover looks amazing and the Cursing the Blank Page thing under is awesome!!! CANNOT wait for this!!!:D:D
YABC on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:20

This is the first I'm hearing of this title and am so excited at the opportunity to win a copy!

0
This is the first I'm hearing of this title and am so excited at the opportunity to win a copy!
MrsErica Beaton on Thursday, 02 May 2013 18:40

I had a student--just yesterday--ask me for a creepy, romance book! I'm so glad that I swung by the YABC site and found this! She'll be so excited when I recommend it to her.

0
I had a student--just yesterday--ask me for a creepy, romance book! I'm so glad that I swung by the YABC site and found this! She'll be so excited when I recommend it to her.
Sam on Friday, 10 May 2013 15:05

I love the writers block part! When ive got a short story due for school thats how it usually goes for me.

0
I love the writers block part! When ive got a short story due for school thats how it usually goes for me.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."