Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

 

Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have. And since we love magic here at YABC, we'd love to hear which magical powers you'd most like to possess in the commets below!

 

But first, meet Django.

 b2ap3_thumbnail_Django-author-pic.jpg

He is a self-proclaimed computer/fantasy/sci fi geek. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked in artificial intelligence research. He left his job at Microsoft and now writes full-time. 

 

 

Now, meet Django's new book. It contains magic, mysteries, and the power of books!

b2ap3_thumbnail_the-mad-apprentice-cover.jpg

 

And now for Django Wexler's list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have:

In The Forbidden Library, magicians called Readers can enter special books to fight the creatures that live within them. If they win, they can call the powers of those creatures, summon them, or even transform into them.

When I was thinking about powers I wanted to give Alice, the protagonist, I started pondering what I would most like to have. Compared to Alice, my life is pretty boring. I almost never have to head into magical labyrinths to fight monsters. (Almost). So my ideal set of powers is a little bit different...

 

1.) Teleportation

This one always jumps to the top of my list, especially when I've spent a lot of time sitting in traffic. 

Aside from fighting evil robots, teleportation would be an enormous time-saver. As a writer, I don't have to commute, but I'd love to be able to zap over to my favorite restaurants for lunch. Plus, I could finally go to ALL THE CONVENTIONS! Just cons across the country. Every weekend!

**Extra bonus: I'd save on shipping to winners of the book giveaways. I could always just pop over and deliver the books in person!

 

2.) Speak With Animals (Or Just Cats, Really)

I love cats. I have two, Sakaki and The Tomoes, and I've always wanted to be able to know what they're thinking when they just sort of stare into space for hours, or play fight elaborate battles against invisible enemies. 

On the other hand, they can already be kind of annoying in the morning when they think it's time for breakfast. So maybe this is a bad idea. I can't imagine their complaints would be any better in words than in mewing.

 

3.) Super-Fast Reading

This one is pretty obvious. There are way more books that I want to read than time to read them. Short of some kind of time travel gimmick (which seems like cheating) this is the only way I'm ever going to catch up. I already went from one pile into several piles, and then from several piles to a shelf. I'm in constant danger of book-related collapses. 

Speaking of which...

 

4.) Handy Pocket Dimensions

Even my library downstairs, where I keep the books I have read, is starting to fill up. I also have too many board games, too many miniatures and painting supplies, too many swords hanging on my walls, and so on. I suppose I could get rid of some of that stuff, but where's the fun in that? Much more practical, in my opinion, to find a way to build a room that's bigger on the inside than the outside. 

That's actually the way the tibular library works in The Forbidden Library. Maybe the Readers started out as guys like me, filling up their garages.

 

5.) Invulnerability

Unlike, say, Superman, I don't have to fight aliens on a daily basis. Also, unlike Superman, I am extremely clumsy and probably a bigger threat to myself than aliens would ever be. So I may not need invulnerability so I can wade through hails of gunfire, but I also don't want to accidentally stab myself with a pen, or cut my hand open on one of my own bookmarks!

This would also protect me against angry cats! Sakaki can inflict serious damage when she doesn't want to go to the vet.

 

Thank you, Django!

So what do YOU think? Let us know what magical abilities you'd like to possess in the comments below! Don't forget to pick up your copy of The Mad Apprentice today! And for more information about Django and his writing, visit him at his website HERE!

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + G...
April 2015 Book Haul!

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Tracker's Canyon
Thanks to his dad’s coaching, sixteen-year-old Tristan is one of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ride: Kit Meets Covington
Trying to move on from her mother’s death and afraid...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Pandora (An Assassin Fall novel)
Tyler Bennett trusts no one. Just another foster kid bounced...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt happens upon his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne's...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal)
Neanderthal siblings Lucy and Andy are back to their paleo...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Knowing
Samara is one of the Knowing, and the Knowing...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Slider
David can eat an entire sixteen-inch pepperoni pizza in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genuine Fraud
The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Expelled
A secret Twitter account An anonymous photo Everyone is...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but you've...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
A handbook for beating nightmares from the New York Times...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Code 7: Cracking the Code for an Epic Life
Life at Flint Hill Elementary School may seem normal, but...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Rebel's Blade
War. Secrets. Betrayal. Katniss meets Lord of the Rings...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Confidentially Yours #6: Vanessa's Design Dilemma
In the sixth installment of the series that readers of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Tracker's Canyon
 
4.7
"Tristan's father taught him everything he near about tracking and canyoneering, but after his father disappears during a hike, Tristan..."
Ride: Kit Meets Covington
 
4.0
"Kit and her father Rudy are moving from Montana to the posh Covington Academy in England where her father is..."
Project Pandora (An Assassin Fall novel)
 
4.0
"Tyler and Shannon are both foster children with a murky grasp of their past... and a startling alternate identity of..."
Tuned Into You
 
3.8
"A story detailing the pain that can sometimes come with young love. The story: Wrong place, wrong time. Lydia..."
Earthweeds
 
5.0
" I'm not wordy in my reviews, but if you like action, you'll like this one. The Bohai character, the..."
Enhanced
 
5.0
"After the events of Flying, Mana is back, and her situation hasn't improved. Her father is still deceased, her mother..."
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
 
4.0
"Max Tilt (short for Trujillo, as his father is Dominican. His mother is African American) is having a number of..."
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Andy struggle when they have to move in with a Neanderthal family because it is winter and they..."
The Knowing
 
4.7
"New Canaan is home to the Knowing, a group of people descended from colonists from the planet Earth--sent to a..."
The Vampire Wish (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 1)
 
5.0
"THE VAMPIRE WISH has it all. There are witches, shifters, humans, vampires, and even someone that resembles a genie. The..."
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
 
4.7
"I love short story anthologies. So when I heard that there was a collection of YA shorts by some of..."
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
 
4.0
"In this companion to the Nightmares! trilogy, a hodgepodge of supplementary material is presented. There are pictures and descriptions of..."
Code 7: Cracking the Code for an Epic Life
 
3.5
"Flint Hill Elementary is planning a big anniversary celebration. The students decide that painting a mural is a great way..."
Confidentially Yours #6: Vanessa's Design Dilemma
 
4.0
"Katie and Vanessa are launching their KV fashion line at the school fashion show, and they are excited to find..."
Fly Guy's Big Family (Fly Guy #17)
 
5.0
"Buzz wants to play, but Fly Guy is downcast and drawing pictures of his family. Buzz decides to host a..."
Luna and the Lost Shell (Fairy Hill #2)
 
4.0
"Luna, Ruby and May are back, and this time the glow globes that are to be used to illuminate the..."
Ruby and the Magic Garden (Fairy Hill #1)
 
4.0
"Luna, Ruby and May are young fairies who live in Fairy Hill. They are learning magic and hope to get..."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
4.0
"I’ll admit I was a bit hesitant to pick this one up. First of all, it sounded a bit like..."
The Dragon Orb
 
5.0
"The magical barrier is diminishing and people are looking to take advantage of it. Some people don't like the Chief..."
Choices-The True Story Of One Family's Daring Escape to Freedom
 
4.7
"'Choices: The True Story of One Family's Daring Escape to Freedom' by J.E. Laufer is a short, yet instantly compelling..."