Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

 

Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have. And since we love magic here at YABC, we'd love to hear which magical powers you'd most like to possess in the commets below!

 

But first, meet Django.

 b2ap3_thumbnail_Django-author-pic.jpg

He is a self-proclaimed computer/fantasy/sci fi geek. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked in artificial intelligence research. He left his job at Microsoft and now writes full-time. 

 

 

Now, meet Django's new book. It contains magic, mysteries, and the power of books!

b2ap3_thumbnail_the-mad-apprentice-cover.jpg

 

And now for Django Wexler's list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have:

In The Forbidden Library, magicians called Readers can enter special books to fight the creatures that live within them. If they win, they can call the powers of those creatures, summon them, or even transform into them.

When I was thinking about powers I wanted to give Alice, the protagonist, I started pondering what I would most like to have. Compared to Alice, my life is pretty boring. I almost never have to head into magical labyrinths to fight monsters. (Almost). So my ideal set of powers is a little bit different...

 

1.) Teleportation

This one always jumps to the top of my list, especially when I've spent a lot of time sitting in traffic. 

Aside from fighting evil robots, teleportation would be an enormous time-saver. As a writer, I don't have to commute, but I'd love to be able to zap over to my favorite restaurants for lunch. Plus, I could finally go to ALL THE CONVENTIONS! Just cons across the country. Every weekend!

**Extra bonus: I'd save on shipping to winners of the book giveaways. I could always just pop over and deliver the books in person!

 

2.) Speak With Animals (Or Just Cats, Really)

I love cats. I have two, Sakaki and The Tomoes, and I've always wanted to be able to know what they're thinking when they just sort of stare into space for hours, or play fight elaborate battles against invisible enemies. 

On the other hand, they can already be kind of annoying in the morning when they think it's time for breakfast. So maybe this is a bad idea. I can't imagine their complaints would be any better in words than in mewing.

 

3.) Super-Fast Reading

This one is pretty obvious. There are way more books that I want to read than time to read them. Short of some kind of time travel gimmick (which seems like cheating) this is the only way I'm ever going to catch up. I already went from one pile into several piles, and then from several piles to a shelf. I'm in constant danger of book-related collapses. 

Speaking of which...

 

4.) Handy Pocket Dimensions

Even my library downstairs, where I keep the books I have read, is starting to fill up. I also have too many board games, too many miniatures and painting supplies, too many swords hanging on my walls, and so on. I suppose I could get rid of some of that stuff, but where's the fun in that? Much more practical, in my opinion, to find a way to build a room that's bigger on the inside than the outside. 

That's actually the way the tibular library works in The Forbidden Library. Maybe the Readers started out as guys like me, filling up their garages.

 

5.) Invulnerability

Unlike, say, Superman, I don't have to fight aliens on a daily basis. Also, unlike Superman, I am extremely clumsy and probably a bigger threat to myself than aliens would ever be. So I may not need invulnerability so I can wade through hails of gunfire, but I also don't want to accidentally stab myself with a pen, or cut my hand open on one of my own bookmarks!

This would also protect me against angry cats! Sakaki can inflict serious damage when she doesn't want to go to the vet.

 

Thank you, Django!

So what do YOU think? Let us know what magical abilities you'd like to possess in the comments below! Don't forget to pick up your copy of The Mad Apprentice today! And for more information about Django and his writing, visit him at his website HERE!

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + G...
April 2015 Book Haul!

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kai's summer changes when she gets a summer internship at...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Zoe is just your average teenage girl expecting another average,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Frango & Chicken
Some things seem impossible, but with the right attitude and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Lane
Ruby is overexcited again, and her brain is spinning creative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Ghost
A gripping psychological thriller. Inspired by a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression, and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voyage of the Dogs
SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Flying in a Cage
A song tugs inside me, like a string pulling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
The energetic and zany duo Shorty and Clem are back,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
If you want to keep kids happily busy for hours...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Strange New World
Dahlia 16's life is a lie. The city of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Like Never And Always
Liv Burnham thinks nobody knows Morgan Frost like she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.3
"I can't wait to see where the next book goes!"
Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
 
4.0
"This is a collection of brief biographies of people who stood up and resisted injustices and tyranny. There's a little..."
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
 
5.0
"Mason Buttle can't read all that well. And he sweats a lot. And writing isn't something he can do either...."
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
 
4.3
"Bonnie Parker is waiting for Clyde to be released from prison. It's 1931 and she wants him to come..."
Voyage of the Dogs
 
5.0
"The Laika is on mission Stepping Stone, traveling outside the solar system to set up a new planet. In addition..."
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
 
4.5
"'Shorty & Clem Blast Off!' by Michael Slack is a cute addition to Shorty and Clem's adventures. The first book..."
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
 
3.5
"'Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things' by Gergely Dudas is for anyone who loves books like 'Where's Waldo?' Even adults..."
Here to Stay
 
4.7
"Bijan Majidi does okay in high school-- he has a good friend, Sean, is on the basketball team, and while..."
Funny Kid #2: Stand Up
 
4.5
"After his attempts to run for class president in Funny Kid for President, Max has decided that his identity is..."
Hiding Lies
 
5.0
"HIDING LIES is the second installment in the Eleanor Ames series. It begins with Ellie and Miles saying goodbye since..."
Yellow Submarine
 
4.0
"Twice upon a time, once in 1968 and once today, there was an unearthly paradise called Pepperland. In an elaboration..."
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
 
5.0
"Apollo, now known as a human teenager named Lester, must restore five Oracles that have gone dark in order to..."
Louie (The Puppy Place #51)
 
4.0
"The Petersons are working together to clean up a camp ground near Loon Lake, where they will be spending time..."
Spirit (The Puppy Place #50)
 
4.0
"Lizzie is very used to being around dogs, since her family fosters many of them, and has Buddy, their own..."