Author Of The Week: Chat with Kelly St Clare (The Retreat), Plus Giveaway!!

Author Of The Week: Chat with Kelly St Clare (The Retreat), Plus Giveaway!!

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

Introducing Kelly St Clare, YABC's Author of the Week!!

When Kelly St Clare is not reading or writing, she is lost in her latest reverie.Books have always been magical and mysterious to her. One day she decided to start unravelling this mystery and began writing.

The Tainted Accords was her debut series, and her second series, The After Trilogy, is now available. 

A New Zealander in origin and in heart, Kelly currently resides in Australia with her soon-to-be husband, a great group of friends, and some huntsman spiders who love to come inside when it rains. Their love is not returned.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

Meet The Retreat (The After Trilogy #1)!!

Earth is ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news.
Romy’s life is simple—for a genetically enhanced space soldier; pick up space junk with her four friends, and stave off the invaders fixated on stealing Planet Earth.
It isn’t much. But it’s temporary—only another 850 years to go, give or take.
When her crew tangles with a gulp-worthy alien mothership, Romy’s return to Earth is brought forwards at hurtling pace.
Strength comes from the unlikeliest of quarters.
As does leadership.
…As does betrayal.

 

 

Amazon * B & N AbeBooks



 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Houston. A highly intelligent and eccentric doctor with a questionable moral compass. He blurs the line between wrong and right so often, it leaves the other characters (and the reader) uncertain as to whether they can trust him. He is so much fun to write.



 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title. I pick the title right at the start—and usually name the entire series while I’m at it.



 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Ooo, I like this question. I’ll tell you my second favorite, because it has no spoilers. I am proud of the scene where Romy and the rest of Knot 27 crash-land on Earth. I did a ton of research on space shuttles, previous crash-landings, astronauts, spacesuits, and Earth’s atmosphere. I consulted astrophysicists and then, once I collated all this information, I sat in front of my laptop and visualized how it would happen. I had to edit it a billion times to get it juuust right.

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what's the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’ve learned that writing time needs to be protected. There are many aspects of being an author that can encroach on it.

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The feeling of suspense I get from looking at it.



 

YABC:   What was your favorite book in 2015?

Hardest. Question. Ever.

I am going to go with Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. But there were a lot.



 

YABC:   What's up next for you?

More books! Sin, a companion novella to my first young adult fantasy series, The Tainted Accords, comes out January 14th , 2017. I am currently writing the sequel to The Retreat, it is titled The Return. That will come out June 2017.

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Atlas! Our mysterious romantic interest. He didn’t want to tell me any of his secrets. He kept them behind the locked door in Jimboomba settling in futuristic earth for a long time. Now I know them all. *evil chuckle*.

 

YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

The first draft is my favorite, hands down. I also enjoy the second draft because it’s satisfying to pick up any plot holes – it’s also when I get a lot of my ‘extra ideas’.

 

YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?


Nothing big and fancy that would attract the eye of the government, or research facilities. I would settle for the ability to read ten books, simultaneously.

 

 

 

The Retreat (The After Trilogy #1)

By: Kelly St Clare

Release Date: August 30th, 2016 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will receive a signed paperback copy of The Retreat (Kelly St Clare) ~ (International)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Stalking Jack The Ripper (Kerri M...
Behind The Scenes In Indie Publishing
 

Comments 10

John on Tuesday, 29 November 2016 00:57

I found the cover fun and beautifully designed. I found the synopsis insightful.

1
I found the cover fun and beautifully designed. I found the synopsis insightful.
Kelly St. Clare, Staff Reviewer on Tuesday, 29 November 2016 04:49

Thanks for the interview, YA Books Central!

0
Thanks for the interview, YA Books Central! :)
Tara Schurz Shields on Tuesday, 29 November 2016 15:07

Intriguing synopsis - definitely makes me want to read the story. And the cover is BEAUTIFUL and eye-catching. Really grabbed my attention so I wanted to see the book details.

1
Intriguing synopsis - definitely makes me want to read the story. And the cover is BEAUTIFUL and eye-catching. Really grabbed my attention so I wanted to see the book details.
Linda Romer on Thursday, 01 December 2016 14:24

The Retreat sounds great! I love the cover, it's very mysterious ♡ Thank you

1
The Retreat sounds great! I love the cover, it's very mysterious ♡ Thank you
BJ James on Monday, 12 December 2016 19:26

Thank you - The cover is awesome!

1
Thank you - The cover is awesome!
Kendra on Monday, 12 December 2016 19:33

The cover is intriguing, and the synopsis makes me really want to read the book!

1
The cover is intriguing, and the synopsis makes me really want to read the book!
Helen Picone on Monday, 12 December 2016 20:11

Great insights into the creative mind of an author. The book cover captures a sense of anticipation and awe.

1
Great insights into the creative mind of an author. The book cover captures a sense of anticipation and awe.
Candice Gigous on Friday, 16 December 2016 09:29

The cover is really cool, very futuristic. The synopsis makes you want to read more. Sounds like an exciting read.

1
The cover is really cool, very futuristic. The synopsis makes you want to read more. Sounds like an exciting read.
Dianna G. on Monday, 19 December 2016 17:00

We recently watched the first season of The 100, and I think this book would be a great way to tide me over until we get to see the next one. Love the cover - very pretty.
Dianna

1
We recently watched the first season of The 100, and I think this book would be a great way to tide me over until we get to see the next one. Love the cover - very pretty. Dianna
Nadine S on Saturday, 24 December 2016 09:02

I'm impressed that you did a lot of research of how to write a plausible crash landing. I can't wait to read that sequence. I'm a pilot so I get so annoyed with ridiculous aviation plots or incidents.

1
I'm impressed that you did a lot of research of how to write a plausible crash landing. I can't wait to read that sequence. I'm a pilot so I get so annoyed with ridiculous aviation plots or incidents.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."