Author Of The Week: Chat with Erin Beaty, Plus Giveaway!!

Author Of The Week: Chat with Erin Beaty, Plus Giveaway!!

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Erin Beaty, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Erin Beaty was born and raised in Indianapolis, Indiana, which means she can't drive a tractor, but she won't eat veggies that come from a can. She graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy with a degree in rocket science and served in the fleet as a weapons officer and a leadership instructor.  She and her husband have five children, two cats, and a vegetable garden and live wherever the Navy tells them to go.

 

Website * Twitter

 

 

 

Meet The Traitor's Kiss!!

For fans of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Mary Pearson’s The Remnant Chronicles, comes the first novel in a captivating new fantasy trilogy!
Desperate to escape a hopeless future, Sage Fowler accepts an apprenticeship with a matchmaker, and becomes a spy for the army to uncover a treasonous plot. But how much can she trust the handsome soldier that recruited her? Sage finds herself caught in a dangerous balancing act that will determine the fate of her kingdom. 
A comedy of manners with a twisting spy plot, readers will devour this richly layered story and well-drawn characters.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

              I don't think anyone would be surprised to hear the idea formed while watching Mulan with my daughters. I started wondering if my dad would have made me go through a bride evaluation process like Mulan does at the beginning, and I decided probably not, even if doing so would make our family outcasts. I would likely be raised to despise the idea. So then I wondered what would happen if, having been raised against something like that, a girl lost the parents that shielded her from it and was left in the custody of someone who considered it an honor. It kind of blew my mind how complicated the story became from there.
 
 
 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

             That's a tough question because I love all of them, even the minor ones. The main character, Sage, was often tough to write because she can be pretty irrational and emotional, and that is so not me. Captain Quinn was the easiest POV. He's all cool logic and restraint on the surface, even when things are spiraling out of control, and he's terrified of failing- not for himself, but for the people who depend on him. After my time in the Navy, I can totally relate to that.
 
 
 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

             Definitely the novel. I gave it a holder title of "The Matchmaker's Apprentice" while looking for an agent and publisher, but I knew it was a mouthful and not that exciting. In the end I left it completely in the hands of my publisher. I think I exhausted my brain on the novel itself.
 
 
 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

             There's one that seems to get a universal OMG, and many of my readers emailed me or texted me after finishing it, so I'll probably go with that one. I can't describe it too much because it would be a huge spoiler, but I'll just say it ends with a slap. Otherwise, I'm really relieved that no one seemed to think the romantic scenes were as awkward as they felt to write.
 
 
 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

             Get it down. You can't fix a blank page. I have to tell myself this every day.
 
 
 

YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?

             I love the contrasting ideas of the dagger and the flowers. It totally fits the feeling of the book and the main character, Sage.
 
 
 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

            
             I've gotten to read so many as ARCs of 2017 books, so my answer will only consider those I can't read until their release. I want Renee Ahdieh's Flame in the Mist with every breath in my body.

       


YABC:   What’s up next for you?

             The Traitor's Kiss will have two sequels, so those are the biggest things on my writing plate and the moment. Everything else is a secret!

YABC:    Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

              Definitely revising, because I love making things better, even when it's super frustrating. I also love getting that feedback that makes me act- I can't judge my own work. Drafting was easy the first time, but now I know just how much work comes after that first draft, and sometimes that makes it hard to put those words down. 
 
 
 

YABC:   Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

             The Travis Manion Foundation  http://www.travismanion.org/ is dedicated to helping veteran transition to civilian life, supporting the families of those lost, and developing the leaders of the future. If you want to read about real life heroes, spend some time on this website. Be sure to look up Captain Jennifer Harris, USMC, who was a classmate of mine. She piloted a medical evac helicopter which was shot down over Al Anbar in 2007.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Traitor's Kiss

By: Erin Beaty

Publisher: Imprint, Macmillan Children's Publishing Group

Release Date: May 9th, 2017 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Traitor's Kiss (Erin Beaty) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Spotlight on Peterrific (Victoria Kann) + Trailer!
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ May 1st, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

John on Monday, 01 May 2017 20:17

The cover makes me think of flowers, the synopsis conveys an incredible beauty.

0
The cover makes me think of flowers, the synopsis conveys an incredible beauty.
Susan Light on Tuesday, 02 May 2017 17:51

When you compare the book to Mary Pearson and Kristin Cashore, I'm in!

0
When you compare the book to Mary Pearson and Kristin Cashore, I'm in!
Mindy on Thursday, 04 May 2017 16:41

The cover is beautiful! And the synopsis sounds great!

0
The cover is beautiful! And the synopsis sounds great!
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 22:15

Sounds intriguing. Beautiful cover art!

0
Sounds intriguing. Beautiful cover art!
Anne on Saturday, 06 May 2017 02:39

I'm partial to the cover but I think it sounds interesting!

0
I'm partial to the cover but I think it sounds interesting!
Lily M. on Monday, 08 May 2017 05:23

Can't wait to check this book out, been wanting to read it ??

0
Can't wait to check this book out, been wanting to read it ??
Isabella Wojnarowicz on Monday, 08 May 2017 20:14

Oh my God, it's so pretty

0
Oh my God, it's so pretty
Cassie Hileman on Saturday, 13 May 2017 11:50

Pretty cover, the story sounds intriguing!

0
Pretty cover, the story sounds intriguing!
Dianna G. on Monday, 22 May 2017 20:01

The cover is really lovely. The synopsis makes me think of a Disney movie.

0
The cover is really lovely. The synopsis makes me think of a Disney movie.
Eddie Black on Wednesday, 24 May 2017 10:18

This sounds like a fun story. Always good to have the spy element (who can you trust, etc). The cover is quite lovely but may alienate any potential male readers.

0
This sounds like a fun story. Always good to have the spy element (who can you trust, etc). The cover is quite lovely but may alienate any potential male readers.
Nancy Hernandez on Friday, 26 May 2017 21:04

I've heard this is a great book hope i win and the cover, beautiful.

0
I've heard this is a great book hope i win and the cover, beautiful.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 27 May 2017 00:15

The cover is just beautiful. The plot sounds really interesting. I'm hooked.

0
The cover is just beautiful. The plot sounds really interesting. I'm hooked.

Current Giveaways

 

   

  

  

   

   

  

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Blacksouls
Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I Love My Mommy
Sometimes mommies are funny and playful. Other times they are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I love My Daddy
Sometimes daddies are loud and playful. Other times they are...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Takedown
Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Happily Ever After  (Cinder & Ella #2)
“Like it or not, Brian, the moment you gave...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blues Harp Green
The second Francie met Chet, her poetic memory danced....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheShip.jpg
London is burning and Lalla has one hope for...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Other Breakable Things
According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Earth to Skye
Buy direct from the publisher ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hubert in Heaven: A hi-tech angel gets his wings
A hologram in a video game, Hubert is accidentally transported...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kiss Me in New York
It's Christmas Eve at JFK in NYC. ...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
rsz_rsz_atskcoverfinal.jpg
"This is a lovely romance, which unleashes butterflies in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland
GT is an intelligent, handsome and talented athlete in Page,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Dream of Fire
In a not-so-distant future, Dreams really do come true… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)