Author Jodi Meadows' Top 5

Author Jodi Meadows' Top 5

Today we welcome Jodi Meadows, author of THE ORPHAN QUEEN and the INCARNATE trilogy, to the blog. She's giving us her top five reasons why she loves fantasy. We love fantasy too (especially Jodi's new book THE ORPHAN QUEEN, which is basically Batman meets Game of Thrones with some swoon thrown in for good measure). You can see more about THE ORPHAN QUEEN here.

 

Meet Jodi. She knits socks of every color imaginable, has an unsafe number of ferrets who keep her on her toes, and would live in the world of Fringe if given half the chance.

b2ap3_thumbnail_jodi-meadows.jpg

 

Meet Jodi's new book. It has dangerous magic, a vigilante with a huge secret to protect, and an orphaned, disposed queen determined to get her kingdom back no matter the cost.

b2ap3_thumbnail_OrphanQueen.jpg

 

 

And now for Jodi's Top 5 reasons why she loves fantasy novels.

 

1. Anything is possible.

 

There aren't really rules for fantasy, beyond whatever you do, it must work. I love that you can come up with any crazy world and, as long as it works (and that is subjective, of course), the story is totally legitimate. Want to get rid of gravity in your fantasyland? Fine! (But make sure you explain why a massive body like a planet doesn't have gravity and explore the consequences of a world without gravity.)

 

 

2. Magic.

 

Of course. Magic is part of that "anything is possible" thing, I suppose, but it's cool enough that it should get its own point. But specifically, I love that magic can be another tool in fantasy, like technology. I love that writers can come up with systems of magic and, for several hundred pages, really make readers believe in it. That's magic, too.

 

 

3. Real issues.

 

Fantasy, like science fiction, has the ability to deal with real issues people deal with and explore them in a different environment. It can provide an extra layer of safety for readers, while still exposing them to something important. Look at STAR TREK for great examples of social issues in space. And tons of books for pretty much anything you can imagine, even personal ones.

b2ap3_thumbnail_star-trek.jpg

 

 

4. Creatures.

 

Look, I love unicorns. I love dragons. I think they are amazing. And I love that in fantasy, they get to be real. (Maybe they are real in real life too. I don't know. I'm not an expert or anything.) We get to play with other fantastic creatures, as well. And make up our own!

 

 

5. No limits.

 

Oh, it looks like we're back to the first point, just worded a little differently. But really, fantasy is amazing, and I love that we're getting more and more exploration in the genre. It's darn exciting. 

 

Thank you, Jodi! 

So what do YOU think? What are some things you love about fantasy stories?

Rate this blog entry:
CINDERELLA - Drive Through Movie Review
Giveaway: City Love by Susane Colasanti (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Emily Savant, Staff Reviewer on Sunday, 15 March 2015 17:46

A+ gif use here!

1
A+ gif use here! :D

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."