Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Whitney Gardnerauthor 

of You're Welcome, Universe

Below you'll find more about Whitney

her book, plus a giveaway!

“It wasn’t really a big deal or anything.”

I was sitting, completely enthralled, in my high school art class. My friend was telling me about the time he went out and spray painted his tag on a wall near a Long Island Rail Road stop. How he chose green and orange paint because they were the cheapest colors, but also the ugliest together. He talked about anarchy and art and how he wanted to embrace the discord. He was overly nonchalant about the whole thing, acting like it was easy. The story was so fantastic I almost didn’t believe him, but the next time I took the LIRR into the city, there it was: the word BEANZ written in big bubble letters.

When I decided to write YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE I knew I wanted to write a book for the teen version of myself. A book about a girl who doesn't quite fit in, and blazes her own trail. About friendship and loneliness. Most importantly, it had to be about art. It wasn't enough to have my main character create her masterpieces on paper. She deserved something bigger, something more bad-ass. And that’s when I remembered that day in art class. And how jealous I was of my friend. That I wanted to be as brave and bold as he was. After deciding to make my main character a graffiti artist, the rest of the story unlocked.

I immersed myself in graffiti culture while writing the book. Joining street art forums, testing out the different ways to buy spray paint. But I’d rather not disclose what I did with said paint once I bought it for... reasons. The more I learned the more excited I got. I wrote other books before YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, but this was the first time I felt like I had found my voice. My story. 

 

Meet Whitney Gardner!
 
 
 Whitney Gardner is an author, illustrator, and coffee addict. Originally from New York, she studied design and worked as an art teacher and school librarian before moving to Portland, Oregon, where she lives by a bridge with her husband and two pugs. In the rare moment Whitney isn’t writing or drawing, she’s likely to be reading comics, knitting, and tending her garden or apiary. YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, her debut novel, has been selected as an American Booksellers Association Indies Introduce Pick. 

 
 
 
Meet You're Welcome, Universe!
 
 
 
 A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way. 

 
 
 
  
 
  
 You're Welcome, Universe

By: Whitney Gardner

Release Date: March 7, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  You're Welcome, Universe (US & Canada only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Press Release: Loved (P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast)
Press Release: Today's Twitter Takeover with Robin...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Heidi Wong on Thursday, 09 March 2017 20:10

The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.

0
The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.
John on Monday, 13 March 2017 18:15

I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!

0
I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!
Lillian Lozada on Thursday, 16 March 2017 13:48

My TOP fave cover of 2017!

0
My TOP fave cover of 2017!
Mindy on Friday, 17 March 2017 12:42

I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story

0
I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story
Danielle on Friday, 17 March 2017 17:28

The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!

0
The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!
Lily M. on Saturday, 18 March 2017 02:53

I like all the colors on this cover ?

0
I like all the colors on this cover ?
Susan T. on Sunday, 26 March 2017 14:50

I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!

0
I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 02 April 2017 19:04

I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.

0
I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.
Alyssa Annico on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 08:29

I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!

0
I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!
Caity Dooley on Friday, 07 April 2017 00:29

I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether

0
I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether
Penny Olson on Saturday, 08 April 2017 20:30

The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

0
The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
The smallest of three brothers, Keenan Mowat had a priceless...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
Did you know that the earth is covered in three...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The November Girl
I am Anda, and the lake is my mother....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
Danny Garland is so out of Holly’s league. And...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Penny Lost
Penelope Grace, usually forgotten under the shadow of her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel...
 
4.7
 
5.0 (2)
Good and Gone
When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Glow
When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique paintings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Secrets
After an abrupt move across the country to San Francisco,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her music...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
White Rabbit
Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving, delivers another spellbinding...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Temptation of Adam
Adam Hawthorne is fine. Yeah, his mother left, his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Undiscovered Country
In the aftermath of her mother's death, Cat recklessly...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"An excellent follow up. The story: We meet Emma again when she is still in the early stages of..."
 
3.5
"An interesting plot with a lot of potential. The story: Katie has been raised by her mother and..."
The Good Citizen
 
4.3
"The story: In a futuristic society that oppresses immigrants and requires citizens, including children, to use guns to enforce..."
The Girl Who Saved Ghosts
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Saves Ghosts is as engaging, adventerous, and mysterious as the first in the series! There is murder,..."
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables #1)
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now..."
Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
 
5.0
"I have never heard of this author or these books and I am so amazed that I haven’t. Not only..."
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
 
4.7
"Honestly, I loved everything about this book. It’s filled to the brim with facts and numbers about the universe we..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always enjoyed Kelly St. Clare’s series and I’ve always enjoyed Raye Wagner’s as well, but together, these authors are..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
White (The Wings Trilogy, #1)
 
4.3
"With Claire's parents gone, she is uprooted and moves to Aurora with her sister. Here, she finds a new fascination..."
Stolen Secrets
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an amazing tale with an unique twist on the holocaust and the survivors. What I really..."
Somebody's Baby
 
4.3
"SOMEBODY’S BABY by Lurlene McDaniel is the perfect follow up to her novel LOSING GABRIEL, which I absolutely loved. I..."
White Rabbit
 
5.0
"Rufus just wants one day of semi-fun, something he hasn’t had since his ex-boyfriend, Sebastian, wrecked his heart. But then,..."
Goldeline
 
4.0
"Goldeline has found a rag tag family with Gruff and his bandits. They live in the forest and steal food..."