Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Whitney Gardnerauthor 

of You're Welcome, Universe

Below you'll find more about Whitney

her book, plus a giveaway!

“It wasn’t really a big deal or anything.”

I was sitting, completely enthralled, in my high school art class. My friend was telling me about the time he went out and spray painted his tag on a wall near a Long Island Rail Road stop. How he chose green and orange paint because they were the cheapest colors, but also the ugliest together. He talked about anarchy and art and how he wanted to embrace the discord. He was overly nonchalant about the whole thing, acting like it was easy. The story was so fantastic I almost didn’t believe him, but the next time I took the LIRR into the city, there it was: the word BEANZ written in big bubble letters.

When I decided to write YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE I knew I wanted to write a book for the teen version of myself. A book about a girl who doesn't quite fit in, and blazes her own trail. About friendship and loneliness. Most importantly, it had to be about art. It wasn't enough to have my main character create her masterpieces on paper. She deserved something bigger, something more bad-ass. And that’s when I remembered that day in art class. And how jealous I was of my friend. That I wanted to be as brave and bold as he was. After deciding to make my main character a graffiti artist, the rest of the story unlocked.

I immersed myself in graffiti culture while writing the book. Joining street art forums, testing out the different ways to buy spray paint. But I’d rather not disclose what I did with said paint once I bought it for... reasons. The more I learned the more excited I got. I wrote other books before YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, but this was the first time I felt like I had found my voice. My story. 

 

Meet Whitney Gardner!
 
 
 Whitney Gardner is an author, illustrator, and coffee addict. Originally from New York, she studied design and worked as an art teacher and school librarian before moving to Portland, Oregon, where she lives by a bridge with her husband and two pugs. In the rare moment Whitney isn’t writing or drawing, she’s likely to be reading comics, knitting, and tending her garden or apiary. YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, her debut novel, has been selected as an American Booksellers Association Indies Introduce Pick. 

 
 
 
Meet You're Welcome, Universe!
 
 
 
 A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way. 

 
 
 
  
 
  
 You're Welcome, Universe

By: Whitney Gardner

Release Date: March 7, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  You're Welcome, Universe (US & Canada only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Press Release: Loved (P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast)
Press Release: Today's Twitter Takeover with Robin...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Heidi Wong on Thursday, 09 March 2017 20:10

The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.

0
The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.
John on Monday, 13 March 2017 18:15

I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!

0
I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!
Lillian Lozada on Thursday, 16 March 2017 13:48

My TOP fave cover of 2017!

0
My TOP fave cover of 2017!
Mindy on Friday, 17 March 2017 12:42

I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story

0
I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story
Danielle on Friday, 17 March 2017 17:28

The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!

0
The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!
Lily M. on Saturday, 18 March 2017 02:53

I like all the colors on this cover ?

0
I like all the colors on this cover ?
Susan T. on Sunday, 26 March 2017 14:50

I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!

0
I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 02 April 2017 19:04

I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.

0
I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.
Alyssa Annico on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 08:29

I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!

0
I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!
Caity Dooley on Friday, 07 April 2017 00:29

I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether

0
I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether
Penny Olson on Saturday, 08 April 2017 20:30

The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

0
The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

From Twinkle, Wtih Love
Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freshmen
A laugh-out-loud, realistic portrayal of a freshman year in college...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
In 1945, at the end of World War II, Adolf...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
Ruby Redfort: you can count on her when the ice...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
What if you wished you were a gorilla and then...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The New Kid
Middle school can be tough! Especially when Alex's best friend...
 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
Margot and Mateo Save the World
When Margot Blumenthal removes a bright blue slug alien attached...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
When destiny and desire collide... In a community full...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Escape The Future
"AS POWERFUL AS CORMAC MCCARTHY... A TIMELY, TROUBLING, AND MEMORABLE...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Challenge Accepted
Emma Dawson and Logan Reynolds have been neighbors and...
 
4.2 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
The Planetsider
A story of self-discovery, belonging and hope. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Sea Takes Me
Two years later might as well be two lifetimes....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From You to Me
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"According to legend, when the world was young, two gods...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Why Can't I Be You
Claire Ladd knows that this summer is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

From Twinkle, With Love
 
5.0
"Where do I begin? I thought this was such a cute story! I am not a big fan of YA..."
Freshmen
 
3.7
"Luke and Phoebe both attended the same high school and now are at the same university. Phoebe has had..."
The New Kid
 
5.0
"This book shows the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene and a reminder that true friendship is..."
 
5.0
"Good book for middle school kids- a true snapshot of the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene..."
You May Now Kill the Bride
 
4.7
"In 1923, sisters Ruth-Ann and Rebecca have an uneasy relationship, especially after Rebecca hastily throws over her boyfriend Melvin for..."
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
 
4.0
"Ruby's parents are in France, and Ruby is back from Genius Camp and Mrs. Digby back from a convenient cruise...."
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
 
4.3
"This level one reader introduces children to details about gorillas by asking what they would do if they WERE gorillas...."
The New Kid
 
3.0
"Alex's best friend and constant supporter, Luke, moves away and Alex has to face the school bully T.J. without him...."
Margot and Mateo Save the World
 
4.0
"Margot is new to West Cover middle school, and her day isn't going well. There is a giant whale decomposing..."
White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
Where the Sea Takes Me
 
5.0
"Sienna just finished her freshman year in college. It’s been two years since she parted from Deni back in Indonesia...."
From You to Me
 
4.0
"Amelia is tired of being "the girl with the dead sister", since it's been three years since her sister was..."
 
4.5
"'Eugenia Lincoln and the Unexpected Package' by Kate DiCamillo is a story that arouses curiosity about the differences that make..."
Takedown
 
5.0
"Mikayle has wrestled in a rec league for many years, always with her friend Kenna. They hold their own, and..."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"Scary short stories seem to be perennially popular, and not just around Halloween! This newest collection edited by R.L. Stine..."
Monica the Marshmallow Fairy: A Rainbow Magic Book (The Sweet Fairies #1)
 
4.0
"Rachel has come back to visit Kirsty, and they are being taken by Aunt Helen to visit Candy Land, a..."
Esme's Wish
 
4.5
"Ahhh, Esme's Wish turned out to be far better than what I imagined! Author Elizabeth Foster created a wonderful world..."
Judy Moody Was in a Mood (Judy Moody #1)
 
5.0
"Judy is starting 3rd grade, and she is not pleased about it. Her family didn't go anywhere over the summer,..."
Remy Sneakers and the Lost Treasure (Remy Sneakers #2)
 
4.0
"Someone has broken into Remy's house and stolen his notebook, so he gathers his Critter Crew to try to find..."
The Cardboard Kingdom
 
4.0
"In an ordinary suburban neighborhood, a group of multicultural children spend their free time creating characters that inhabit the titular..."