Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Whitney Gardnerauthor 

of You're Welcome, Universe

Below you'll find more about Whitney

her book, plus a giveaway!

“It wasn’t really a big deal or anything.”

I was sitting, completely enthralled, in my high school art class. My friend was telling me about the time he went out and spray painted his tag on a wall near a Long Island Rail Road stop. How he chose green and orange paint because they were the cheapest colors, but also the ugliest together. He talked about anarchy and art and how he wanted to embrace the discord. He was overly nonchalant about the whole thing, acting like it was easy. The story was so fantastic I almost didn’t believe him, but the next time I took the LIRR into the city, there it was: the word BEANZ written in big bubble letters.

When I decided to write YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE I knew I wanted to write a book for the teen version of myself. A book about a girl who doesn't quite fit in, and blazes her own trail. About friendship and loneliness. Most importantly, it had to be about art. It wasn't enough to have my main character create her masterpieces on paper. She deserved something bigger, something more bad-ass. And that’s when I remembered that day in art class. And how jealous I was of my friend. That I wanted to be as brave and bold as he was. After deciding to make my main character a graffiti artist, the rest of the story unlocked.

I immersed myself in graffiti culture while writing the book. Joining street art forums, testing out the different ways to buy spray paint. But I’d rather not disclose what I did with said paint once I bought it for... reasons. The more I learned the more excited I got. I wrote other books before YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, but this was the first time I felt like I had found my voice. My story. 

 

Meet Whitney Gardner!
 
 
 Whitney Gardner is an author, illustrator, and coffee addict. Originally from New York, she studied design and worked as an art teacher and school librarian before moving to Portland, Oregon, where she lives by a bridge with her husband and two pugs. In the rare moment Whitney isn’t writing or drawing, she’s likely to be reading comics, knitting, and tending her garden or apiary. YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, her debut novel, has been selected as an American Booksellers Association Indies Introduce Pick. 

 
 
 
Meet You're Welcome, Universe!
 
 
 
 A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way. 

 
 
 
  
 
  
 You're Welcome, Universe

By: Whitney Gardner

Release Date: March 7, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  You're Welcome, Universe (US & Canada only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Press Release: Loved (P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast)
Press Release: Today's Twitter Takeover with Robin...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Heidi Wong on Thursday, 09 March 2017 20:10

The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.

0
The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.
John on Monday, 13 March 2017 18:15

I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!

0
I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!
Lillian Lozada on Thursday, 16 March 2017 13:48

My TOP fave cover of 2017!

0
My TOP fave cover of 2017!
Mindy on Friday, 17 March 2017 12:42

I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story

0
I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story
Danielle on Friday, 17 March 2017 17:28

The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!

0
The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!
Lily M. on Saturday, 18 March 2017 02:53

I like all the colors on this cover ?

0
I like all the colors on this cover ?
Susan T. on Sunday, 26 March 2017 14:50

I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!

0
I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 02 April 2017 19:04

I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.

0
I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.
Alyssa Annico on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 08:29

I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!

0
I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!
Caity Dooley on Friday, 07 April 2017 00:29

I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether

0
I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether
Penny Olson on Saturday, 08 April 2017 20:30

The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

0
The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Our Broken Pieces
The only thing worse than having your boyfriend dump...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love?...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Invictus
Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The...
 
4.7
 
4.0 (1)
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
The unrequited love of the girl next door is...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin
ustyce McAllister is top of his class and set for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Come Home, Angus
Angus woke up mad and knew today was not his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rulers of the Playground
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Elect
For the past thirteen years, the Foundation has ruled Belstrana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soul Mates by J Butterworth
Alex is born into a future society were at birth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
26091228.jpg
Follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel, Forget Tomorrow!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
It was the perfect night for a party. That is,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Dear Martin
 
5.0
"Justyce is at the top of his class, captain of the debate team, and on track to attend a prestigious..."
A Court of Wings and Ruin
 
5.0
"Alright warning time. As with most books that I read, this has been labeled problematic. Though this one is completely..."
Wintersong
 
1.0
"This is going to be more like a rant/review than just a review. I am honestly proud that I finished..."
Enshadowed (Nevermore #2)
 
5.0
"First off... that freaking cliffhanger!? I can't even... I could not imagine having read this the year it came out..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.7
" It's great! What I love the most is how dark and gritty the world felt. It was so cool..."
House of Night: Hunted
 
3.3
"So the Nerd Herd is now underground and hiding away from Kalona. Aphrodite and Stevie-Rae have imprinted, Stark is an..."
House of Night: Untamed
 
3.3
"So this one picks up right where the other left off and don't worry if you haven't read the others..."
House of Night: Chosen
 
3.3
"Zoey now knows that her old mentor is not what she claims to be. She's hiding something and doing things..."
House of Night: Betrayed
 
3.3
"This one picks up not far where Marked left off. Zoey is now in charge of the Daughters of Darkness...."
Roar (Stormheart #1)
 
N/A
"DNF PAGE 133 - I hate DNFing a book. I hardly ever do it. I personally feel like I'm giving..."
Truthers
 
3.3
"So, I've said before that for some reason I love conspiracy theories. Do I believe any of them? No. I..."
Mask of Shadows
 
3.3
"Okay I loved the premise of this book and I love the fact that it features a Genderfluid MC but..."
Hunted
 
3.7
"What I love most about this book is the setting. Medieval Russia, like hell yeah sign me up! I love..."
Come Home, Angus
 
5.0
"Most of us have days when we just get mad. We don’t know why. We don’t know who is to..."
Rulers of the Playground
 
4.5
"Jonah wants to rule the playground. And he’s a good ruler. Except when he’s not. The problem is that Lennox..."
Plant the Tiny Seed
 
4.5
" This book relies on the interactive nature of read-alouds for young children. Beginning with a single zinnia seed, the..."
The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up..."
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
 
3.5
"In JUNE SPARROW AND THE MILLION DOLLAR PENNY, June Sparrow is a very rich pre-teen living in New York City..."
Princess Breeze
 
4.3
"This is the second book in a very adorable, fun series. This story starts with Breeze Brannigan's end of the..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."