The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Whitney Gardner, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Whitney Gardnerauthor 

of You're Welcome, Universe

Below you'll find more about Whitney

her book, plus a giveaway!

“It wasn’t really a big deal or anything.”

I was sitting, completely enthralled, in my high school art class. My friend was telling me about the time he went out and spray painted his tag on a wall near a Long Island Rail Road stop. How he chose green and orange paint because they were the cheapest colors, but also the ugliest together. He talked about anarchy and art and how he wanted to embrace the discord. He was overly nonchalant about the whole thing, acting like it was easy. The story was so fantastic I almost didn’t believe him, but the next time I took the LIRR into the city, there it was: the word BEANZ written in big bubble letters.

When I decided to write YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE I knew I wanted to write a book for the teen version of myself. A book about a girl who doesn't quite fit in, and blazes her own trail. About friendship and loneliness. Most importantly, it had to be about art. It wasn't enough to have my main character create her masterpieces on paper. She deserved something bigger, something more bad-ass. And that’s when I remembered that day in art class. And how jealous I was of my friend. That I wanted to be as brave and bold as he was. After deciding to make my main character a graffiti artist, the rest of the story unlocked.

I immersed myself in graffiti culture while writing the book. Joining street art forums, testing out the different ways to buy spray paint. But I’d rather not disclose what I did with said paint once I bought it for... reasons. The more I learned the more excited I got. I wrote other books before YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, but this was the first time I felt like I had found my voice. My story. 

 

Meet Whitney Gardner!
 
 
 Whitney Gardner is an author, illustrator, and coffee addict. Originally from New York, she studied design and worked as an art teacher and school librarian before moving to Portland, Oregon, where she lives by a bridge with her husband and two pugs. In the rare moment Whitney isn’t writing or drawing, she’s likely to be reading comics, knitting, and tending her garden or apiary. YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE, her debut novel, has been selected as an American Booksellers Association Indies Introduce Pick. 

 
 
 
Meet You're Welcome, Universe!
 
 
 
 A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way. 

 
 
 
  
 
  
 You're Welcome, Universe

By: Whitney Gardner

Release Date: March 7, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  You're Welcome, Universe (US & Canada only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Press Release: Loved (P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast)
Press Release: Today's Twitter Takeover with Robin...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Heidi Wong on Thursday, 09 March 2017 20:10

The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.

0
The cover is very beautiful. The synopsis sounds interesting and it seems that it will be a book that'll make me cry too much.
John on Monday, 13 March 2017 18:15

I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!

0
I thought the cover was intriguing, and the synopsis more so!
Lillian Lozada on Thursday, 16 March 2017 13:48

My TOP fave cover of 2017!

0
My TOP fave cover of 2017!
Mindy on Friday, 17 March 2017 12:42

I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story

0
I love all the colors on this cover and I'm dying to read this story
Danielle on Friday, 17 March 2017 17:28

The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!

0
The color and graffiti motif is SUPERB. and I can't wait to read a book the explores Deaf culture!
Lily M. on Saturday, 18 March 2017 02:53

I like all the colors on this cover ?

0
I like all the colors on this cover ?
Susan T. on Sunday, 26 March 2017 14:50

I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!

0
I am in love with this cover! It's really awesome that she's a graffiti artist which is such an underrated and unappreciated art form!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 02 April 2017 19:04

I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.

0
I love, love the cover. The synopsis makes this book sound unique and exciting to me as well as emotional.
Alyssa Annico on Tuesday, 04 April 2017 08:29

I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!

0
I love the cover and the synopsis is intriguing!
Caity Dooley on Friday, 07 April 2017 00:29

I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether

0
I cover is eye-catchingly beautiful, the synopsis is really intriguing. I can't wait to get my hands on this book as it seems like a great read altogether
Penny Olson on Saturday, 08 April 2017 20:30

The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

0
The cover art is fabulous. I love the sound of the story too.

Current Giveaways

 

   

    

    

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Poet of the Wrong Generation
“It’s not that I don’t love you, and my...
 
3.3
 
4.0 (1)
Dreamworld.jpg
Kit Alloway's Dreamfire and Dreamfever are now available together for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forward Into Darkness
For Valencia Paine, the world is as small as...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meg & Linus
Can friendship, Star Trek, drama club, and a whole...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Confessions of a High School Disaster
In the tradition of Bridget Jones’s Diary, a lovably...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
North of Happy
His whole life has been mapped out for him…...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Gardenia
Seventeen-year-old Ivy Erickson has one month, twenty-seven days, four...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel Heights...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles
“Always protect your queen.” Ever...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
The Many Reflections of Miss Jane Deming
High-spirited young Jane is excited to be part of Mr....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)