Author Chat with Swati Teerdhala (The Tiger At Midnight), Plus Giveaway!

9780062869210

 Today we're excited to chat with Swati Teerdhala author of The Tiger At Midnight.

 Read on for more about Swati, plus an interview and an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Swati Teerdhala!

Swati Teerdhala is a storyteller at heart. After graduating from the University of Virginia with a B.S. in Finance and B.A. in History, she tumbled into the marketing side of the technology industry. She’s passionate about many things, including how to make a proper cup of tea, the right ratio of curd-to-crust in a lemon tart, and diverse representation in the stories we tell. She currently lives in New York City.

 

 

 WebsiteTwitterInstagram

 

 

 

 

Meet The Tiger At Midnight!

A broken bond. A dying land. A cat-and-mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.

Esha lost everything in the royal coup—and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she’s made the guilty pay. Now she’s been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha.

Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path—even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile.

When Esha and Kunal’s paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they’re calling the shots, but they’re not the only players moving the pieces.

As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they’ve killed to hold on to or with the love that’s made them dream of something more.

 

AmazonB & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I first got the inspiration for THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT when I was traveling and visited an old fort. I remember walking the parapet and looking out over an open window and imagining myself as one of the ancient warriors who would’ve patrolled there. I thought about what sight would make me stand up and leave my post. The first image that came to me was a girl. And that’s when my two main characters, Kunal and Esha, came to life.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

That’s hard for me to pick! I love Kunal and Esha equally, but a side character who grabbed my heart from the moment he showed up on the page is Alok, one of Kunal’s best friends at the Red Fort. He’s the truest friend–caring, observant, loyal–but also loves to make fun of Kunal whenever he has the chance. He was a delight to write!

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel came first! Originally, I had titled it something else but my wonderful agent had the great idea of teasing out THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT from a line in the novel, one that’s actually quite important to the entire story.     

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There’s a scene in the climax which ended up being very emotional to write. I had to dive pretty deeply into my own emotions to find the right way to convey what the character was feeling and it required a lot of honesty, which was more difficult than I wanted to admit. Though it wasn’t technically the hardest scene to write, it’s the one I’m most proud of because of how true it ended up being.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Ah, that old adage–writing is rewriting. The most important thing I’ve learned is to find a way to fall in love with revising. That’s where your story is found and shaped and chiseled into the one you want to tell. Revisions bring a book to life.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! I absolutely love the cover of the book, which is all thanks to David Curtis, the cover designer, and Michael Marsicano, the illustrator. It perfectly captures the feel of the Kunal and Esha’s story and it’s absolutely gorgeous.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

There are so many incredible books releasing in 2019, but a few of the ones that haven’t been released yet that I’m excited for are SPIN THE DAWN by Elizabeth Lim, WICKED FOX by Kat Cho, and THERE WILL BE A DARKNESS by Katy Pool.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

I loved A REAPER AT THE GATES by Sabaa Tahir. It’s the third book in the Ember in the Ashes quartet and it’s a perfect follow up to the first two books, expanding the incredible worldbuilding and pushing the characters to their limits.

 

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m currently working on book 2 and 3 of THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT series and I can’t wait to share book 2 with everyone next year!

 

 

 

The Tiger At Midnight

By: Swati Teerdhala

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: April 23rd, 2019

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a copy of The Tiger At Midnight (Swati Teerdhala) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: The Genie Dagger (Bethany Wicker)
Waiting On Wednesday ~ April 24th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
Kylie on Wednesday, 24 April 2019 23:56

This cover is fierce!

0
This cover is fierce!
Tiffany Engler on Monday, 29 April 2019 08:38

I love this cover! Can't wait to read it!

0
I love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Lily M. on Monday, 06 May 2019 23:48

I'm excited for this book ??

0
I'm excited for this book ??
Hannah on Saturday, 11 May 2019 02:41

Such a great cover!

0
Such a great cover!
Debra Branigan on Sunday, 12 May 2019 09:05

The cover is amazing and I can't wait to meet Esha. She sounds fierce!

0
The cover is amazing and I can't wait to meet Esha. She sounds fierce!
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 15 May 2019 23:12

The cover is powerful and the story sounds really exciting.

0
The cover is powerful and the story sounds really exciting.
Candice Gigous on Saturday, 18 May 2019 09:24

The cover has great colors. The synopsis makes me want to read more. Sounds like an exciting read.

0
The cover has great colors. The synopsis makes me want to read more. Sounds like an exciting read.
Savannah Garrity on Sunday, 19 May 2019 09:49

The cover has great colors and I love how the gold stands out. I cannot wait to read! The story sounds amazing.

0
The cover has great colors and I love how the gold stands out. I cannot wait to read! The story sounds amazing.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 19 May 2019 16:38

The cover is one of my favorites ever. The synopsis sounds unique and exciting.

0
The cover is one of my favorites ever. The synopsis sounds unique and exciting.
Davianna Nieto on Thursday, 23 May 2019 20:50

The cover is just drop dead gorgeous and the synopsis sounds right up my alley!

0
The cover is just drop dead gorgeous and the synopsis sounds right up my alley!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."