Author Chat with Steve Schafer (The Border)

Screen-Shot-2017-09-08-at-10.44.24-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Steve Schafer, author of The BorderRead on for more about Steve and his book!

 

Meet Steve Schafer!

 
 
 

Steve Schafer has a masters in international studies from the Lauder Institute at the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA from Wharton. He grew up in Houston and has since had the privilege to live, work, volunteer, and travel internationally. The bulk of this experience has been in Latin America. His debut novel, The Border, was acquired by Sourcebooks Fire imprint and will be released September 5th, 2017. Steve lives near Philadelphia with his wife and two kids.

 
Meet The Border!
 
 
  Perfect for readers of This Is Where it EndsThe Border is a gripping drama about four teens, forced to flee home after a deadly cartel rips apart their families. They must now face life-threatening danger and unimaginable sacrifice as they attempt to cross the U.S. border.

"Thrilling... often brilliant."―Kirkus

One moment changed their lives forever.

A band plays, glasses clink, and four teens sneak into the Mexican desert, the hum of celebration receding behind them.

Crack. Crack. Crack.

Not fireworks―gunshots. The music stops. And Pato, Arbo, Marcos, and Gladys are powerless as the lives they once knew are taken from them.

Then they are seen by the gunmen. They run. Except they have nowhere to go. The narcos responsible for their families' murders have put out a reward for the teens' capture. Staying in Mexico is certain death, but attempting to cross the border through an unforgiving desert may be as deadly as the secrets they are trying to escape...

 
 
 
A Chat with Steve Schafer:

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago, a friend of mine had a family member abducted in northern Mexico. He never resurfaced and any efforts by the family to find out what happened only resulted in threats, from both unofficial and official channels. This was the spark for The Border. But I didn’t want for the story to stay in Mexico. I felt like the real opportunity was to address our conversation about immigration. Inflammatory language dominates the debate and it often loses sight of the individuals at the heart of the issue. The conversation changes when you think about—and talk about—the separate people involved, each with unique, understandable and admirable motivations.

2. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. The title didn’t surface until it occurred to me the perfect name for an ego-driven, narco gang would be La Frontera (The Border), as if their identity itself claims ownership and control of everything along that stretch of land. At that point, I called the novel Crossing Borders. Full credit goes to Sourcebooks for suggesting we revise it to the more punchy and raw title, The Border.

3. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Spoiler alert! I’ll be a bit nebulous here to avoid giving away the story, but I’m most proud of the encounter with the mountain bikers. It’s because of what the scene represents. I’m hopeful it prompts a tough question in the mind the reader...what would YOU do here? I think it’s easy to get hung up in lofty political talk and thoughts about immigration, but when you dial that into a specific situation with real people (even if just characters), it has the capacity to challenge your thinking.

4. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

If there is something wrong with the third act, the problem is probably in the first act. I re- wrote this novel many, many times. It’s not until I fixed the first third that the story really took off.

5. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how it tells a story on its own. It suggests so much with so little.

6. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I’m going to dance around the spoilers with this answer. If you’ve read the novel, it’s the obvious scene (there’s a constellation involved). Sometimes you have to do things in the interest of your message that are hurtful to the characters whom you have grown to love. That is exactly what happened with this scene and it was emotionally draining to write it.

7. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Marcos was the most challenging character to write for a number of reasons. First, his personality is the most different from my own—he’s nearly a polar opposite. I had to work hard to keep him from being an unlikable caricature of a tough-guy. In addition, his arc was the most demanding one to show in a believable manner. It was tough to extract emotion from him, especially at the depth he needed to go to experience any kind of change.

8. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting new material is harder, but also far more rewarding. Dorothy Parker’s quote, “I hate writing; I love having written,” rings very true for me. It’s a slog to lay down new words, but I feel such a sense of accomplishment afterward. I don’t often get that same high from revising.

9. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

There are two organizations related to Latin America that I have been involved with for some time, and both are important to me. 1) Amigos de Las Americas sends high school students to Latin America for summer volunteer projects. I spent two months in Paraguay with the program when I was seventeen—it was a life-changing experience. 2) Fabretto provides educational opportunities to empower children in need in Nicaragua. We have sponsored a child for years and do other volunteer work for the organization.

There are also great organizations that do humanitarian work for immigrants crossing harrowing terrain (like that described in The Border). Here are a few of them—South Texas Human Rights Center, Humane Borders, and Border Angels. 

 

 
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: The Thing With Feathers by McCall...
Author Chat with Chad Morris & Shelly Brown (Musta...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Juliet has just moved to a beachside town with her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Loneliest Girl in The Universe
A surprising and gripping sci-fi thriller with a killer twist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragon-Slayers_Low Res.jpg
A reverse harem with a powerful magical heroine, a mystery...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fire and Fairies by Kristin D Van Risseghem low resolution.jpg
Forbidden love. Agony. Heartbreak. Sidelle never wanted...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I've always been the prey. All Seventeen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ignited (Dance of the Elements, #1)
A NOBLE DAUGHTER. A FORMER SLAVE. SCORCHED EARTH AND...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Royals
Meet Daisy Winters. She’s an offbeat sixteen-year-old Floridian with...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
SoulCatchers_600x900.jpg
Whoever kills the wolf becomes the wolf… ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bring Me Their Hearts
Zera is a Heartless – the immortal, unageing soldier...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik
This is Noah Oakman → sixteen, Bowie believer, concise...
 
5.0
 
3.7 (1)
Playing Her Secret Crush
All her life, Katie has been chosen last for everything:...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Princess of Windswept (#1)
Danni is a normal teenage girl until she gets an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Milla Takes Charge (Disney: Daring Dreamers Club #1)
Milla loves nothing more than imagining grand adventures in the...
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
The House of One Thousand Eyes
Who can Lena trust to help her find out the...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
Where I Found You (Sea)
After her mother's plane went missing over the Indian Ocean,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Juliet's parents have separated, and she has moved into her grandparents' beach cottage with her mom and older sister, Miranda...."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
5.0
"Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning at age 8 and became a math genius as a result. Her diagnosis is..."
Always Forever Maybe
 
5.0
"It isn't always easy to love a book that talks about a dark subject, but Rissi captivated me with her..."
The Loneliest Girl in The Universe
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one of those books you can't put down! I literally stayed up until the early morning..."
Milla Takes Charge (Disney: Daring Dreamers Club #1)
 
4.0
"MILLA TAKES CHARGE by Erin Soderberg is the first in a new series from Disney and Random House Children's Books..."
 
2.7
""Pretties" is a continuation of the Uglies series where Tally Youngblood has now returned to the city and become a..."
Bring Me Their Hearts
 
5.0
""Bring Me Their Hearts" was a fantastic YA fantasy that I wish I could give more than 5 stars to!..."
Fawkes
 
2.0
""Fawkes" is a YA historical fantasy that sounds so interesting! Unfortunately, I could not get into it. In this alternate..."
Fireblood (Frostblood #2)
 
4.0
""Fireblood" was a pretty good continuation of the Frostblood Saga. While the first book took place in the land of..."
Thief of Lies
 
4.0
"“Thief of Lies” is the first in the Library Jumpers series. It had me hooked at the start but lost..."
The Waking Land
 
5.0
"“The Waking Land” is an enthralling YA fantasy that follows Elanna Valtai. The prologue shows us Elanna’s nightmares over the..."
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
""The Adoration of Jenna Fox" is the story of a teenager who wakes up from a coma without any memories..."
Zombie Abbey
 
2.3
""Zombie Abbey" is Downton Abbey with zombies (and characters names changed). Although it's been a while since I watched Downton..."
Heartless
 
4.0
""Heartless" is the origin story for the Queen of Hearts (of Alice in Wonderland fame). Catherine, destined to be the..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
4.0
""All the Crooked Saints" is YA fiction with a heavy dose of magical realism. The Soria family lives in Bicho..."
Beastly (Kendra Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
""Beastly" is a beautiful and amazing story of second chances, the importance of who you are within, and love. A..."
Don't Look Back
 
4.0
""Don't Look Back" is a one-off thriller from Jennifer L. Armentrout. It begins with Samantha appearing bloody and beat up..."
Seven Days of You
 
4.0
""Seven Days of You" follows Sophia during her last week in Tokyo, where she has lived for the last four..."
When the Moon Was Ours
 
5.0
""When the Moon was Ours" is a hauntingly beautiful and lyrical masterpiece. McLemore is an incredible storyteller. The words do..."
Finding Audrey
 
4.0
"I think this is one of Kinsella's finest books. There is so much heart, struggle, and soul to this book...."