Author Chat with Steve Schafer (The Border)

Author Chat with Steve Schafer (The Border)

Today we're excited to chat with Steve Schafer, author of The BorderRead on for more about Steve and his book!

 

Meet Steve Schafer!

 
 
 

Steve Schafer has a masters in international studies from the Lauder Institute at the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA from Wharton. He grew up in Houston and has since had the privilege to live, work, volunteer, and travel internationally. The bulk of this experience has been in Latin America. His debut novel, The Border, was acquired by Sourcebooks Fire imprint and will be released September 5th, 2017. Steve lives near Philadelphia with his wife and two kids.

 
Meet The Border!
 
 
  Perfect for readers of This Is Where it EndsThe Border is a gripping drama about four teens, forced to flee home after a deadly cartel rips apart their families. They must now face life-threatening danger and unimaginable sacrifice as they attempt to cross the U.S. border.

"Thrilling... often brilliant."―Kirkus

One moment changed their lives forever.

A band plays, glasses clink, and four teens sneak into the Mexican desert, the hum of celebration receding behind them.

Crack. Crack. Crack.

Not fireworks―gunshots. The music stops. And Pato, Arbo, Marcos, and Gladys are powerless as the lives they once knew are taken from them.

Then they are seen by the gunmen. They run. Except they have nowhere to go. The narcos responsible for their families' murders have put out a reward for the teens' capture. Staying in Mexico is certain death, but attempting to cross the border through an unforgiving desert may be as deadly as the secrets they are trying to escape...

 
 
 
A Chat with Steve Schafer:

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago, a friend of mine had a family member abducted in northern Mexico. He never resurfaced and any efforts by the family to find out what happened only resulted in threats, from both unofficial and official channels. This was the spark for The Border. But I didn’t want for the story to stay in Mexico. I felt like the real opportunity was to address our conversation about immigration. Inflammatory language dominates the debate and it often loses sight of the individuals at the heart of the issue. The conversation changes when you think about—and talk about—the separate people involved, each with unique, understandable and admirable motivations.

2. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. The title didn’t surface until it occurred to me the perfect name for an ego-driven, narco gang would be La Frontera (The Border), as if their identity itself claims ownership and control of everything along that stretch of land. At that point, I called the novel Crossing Borders. Full credit goes to Sourcebooks for suggesting we revise it to the more punchy and raw title, The Border.

3. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Spoiler alert! I’ll be a bit nebulous here to avoid giving away the story, but I’m most proud of the encounter with the mountain bikers. It’s because of what the scene represents. I’m hopeful it prompts a tough question in the mind the reader...what would YOU do here? I think it’s easy to get hung up in lofty political talk and thoughts about immigration, but when you dial that into a specific situation with real people (even if just characters), it has the capacity to challenge your thinking.

4. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

If there is something wrong with the third act, the problem is probably in the first act. I re- wrote this novel many, many times. It’s not until I fixed the first third that the story really took off.

5. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how it tells a story on its own. It suggests so much with so little.

6. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I’m going to dance around the spoilers with this answer. If you’ve read the novel, it’s the obvious scene (there’s a constellation involved). Sometimes you have to do things in the interest of your message that are hurtful to the characters whom you have grown to love. That is exactly what happened with this scene and it was emotionally draining to write it.

7. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Marcos was the most challenging character to write for a number of reasons. First, his personality is the most different from my own—he’s nearly a polar opposite. I had to work hard to keep him from being an unlikable caricature of a tough-guy. In addition, his arc was the most demanding one to show in a believable manner. It was tough to extract emotion from him, especially at the depth he needed to go to experience any kind of change.

8. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting new material is harder, but also far more rewarding. Dorothy Parker’s quote, “I hate writing; I love having written,” rings very true for me. It’s a slog to lay down new words, but I feel such a sense of accomplishment afterward. I don’t often get that same high from revising.

9. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

There are two organizations related to Latin America that I have been involved with for some time, and both are important to me. 1) Amigos de Las Americas sends high school students to Latin America for summer volunteer projects. I spent two months in Paraguay with the program when I was seventeen—it was a life-changing experience. 2) Fabretto provides educational opportunities to empower children in need in Nicaragua. We have sponsored a child for years and do other volunteer work for the organization.

There are also great organizations that do humanitarian work for immigrants crossing harrowing terrain (like that described in The Border). Here are a few of them—South Texas Human Rights Center, Humane Borders, and Border Angels. 

 

 
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: The Thing With Feathers by McCall...
Author Chat with Chad Morris & Shelly Brown (Musta...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Glow
When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Secrets
After an abrupt move across the country to San...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Tracker's Canyon
Thanks to his dad’s coaching, sixteen-year-old Tristan is one...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Book of Fire
Life outside the domes is not possible. At least...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Body Won't Break
The truth doesn’t always set you free. Orphaned as...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Gears of Fate
Centuries have passed since the Fey conquered Earth, forcing...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
The smallest of three brothers, Keenan Mowat had a priceless...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
Did you know that the earth is covered in three...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The November Girl
I am Anda, and the lake is my mother....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
Danny Garland is so out of Holly’s league. And...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Penny Lost
Penelope Grace, usually forgotten under the shadow of her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel...
 
4.7
 
5.0 (2)
Good and Gone
When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
Where do light bulbs go when they burn out? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her music...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"An excellent follow up. The story: We meet Emma again when she is still in the early stages of..."
 
3.5
"An interesting plot with a lot of potential. The story: Katie has been raised by her mother and..."
The Good Citizen
 
4.3
"The story: In a futuristic society that oppresses immigrants and requires citizens, including children, to use guns to enforce..."
The Girl Who Saved Ghosts
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Saves Ghosts is as engaging, adventerous, and mysterious as the first in the series! There is murder,..."
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables #1)
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now..."
Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
 
5.0
"I have never heard of this author or these books and I am so amazed that I haven’t. Not only..."
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
 
4.7
"Honestly, I loved everything about this book. It’s filled to the brim with facts and numbers about the universe we..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always enjoyed Kelly St. Clare’s series and I’ve always enjoyed Raye Wagner’s as well, but together, these authors are..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
White (The Wings Trilogy, #1)
 
4.3
"With Claire's parents gone, she is uprooted and moves to Aurora with her sister. Here, she finds a new fascination..."
Stolen Secrets
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an amazing tale with an unique twist on the holocaust and the survivors. What I really..."
Somebody's Baby
 
4.3
"SOMEBODY’S BABY by Lurlene McDaniel is the perfect follow up to her novel LOSING GABRIEL, which I absolutely loved. I..."
White Rabbit
 
5.0
"Rufus just wants one day of semi-fun, something he hasn’t had since his ex-boyfriend, Sebastian, wrecked his heart. But then,..."
Goldeline
 
4.0
"Goldeline has found a rag tag family with Gruff and his bandits. They live in the forest and steal food..."