Author Chat with Steve Schafer (The Border)

Author Chat with Steve Schafer (The Border)

Today we're excited to chat with Steve Schafer, author of The BorderRead on for more about Steve and his book!

 

Meet Steve Schafer!

 
 
 

Steve Schafer has a masters in international studies from the Lauder Institute at the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA from Wharton. He grew up in Houston and has since had the privilege to live, work, volunteer, and travel internationally. The bulk of this experience has been in Latin America. His debut novel, The Border, was acquired by Sourcebooks Fire imprint and will be released September 5th, 2017. Steve lives near Philadelphia with his wife and two kids.

 
Meet The Border!
 
 
  Perfect for readers of This Is Where it EndsThe Border is a gripping drama about four teens, forced to flee home after a deadly cartel rips apart their families. They must now face life-threatening danger and unimaginable sacrifice as they attempt to cross the U.S. border.

"Thrilling... often brilliant."―Kirkus

One moment changed their lives forever.

A band plays, glasses clink, and four teens sneak into the Mexican desert, the hum of celebration receding behind them.

Crack. Crack. Crack.

Not fireworks―gunshots. The music stops. And Pato, Arbo, Marcos, and Gladys are powerless as the lives they once knew are taken from them.

Then they are seen by the gunmen. They run. Except they have nowhere to go. The narcos responsible for their families' murders have put out a reward for the teens' capture. Staying in Mexico is certain death, but attempting to cross the border through an unforgiving desert may be as deadly as the secrets they are trying to escape...

 
 
 
A Chat with Steve Schafer:

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago, a friend of mine had a family member abducted in northern Mexico. He never resurfaced and any efforts by the family to find out what happened only resulted in threats, from both unofficial and official channels. This was the spark for The Border. But I didn’t want for the story to stay in Mexico. I felt like the real opportunity was to address our conversation about immigration. Inflammatory language dominates the debate and it often loses sight of the individuals at the heart of the issue. The conversation changes when you think about—and talk about—the separate people involved, each with unique, understandable and admirable motivations.

2. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. The title didn’t surface until it occurred to me the perfect name for an ego-driven, narco gang would be La Frontera (The Border), as if their identity itself claims ownership and control of everything along that stretch of land. At that point, I called the novel Crossing Borders. Full credit goes to Sourcebooks for suggesting we revise it to the more punchy and raw title, The Border.

3. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Spoiler alert! I’ll be a bit nebulous here to avoid giving away the story, but I’m most proud of the encounter with the mountain bikers. It’s because of what the scene represents. I’m hopeful it prompts a tough question in the mind the reader...what would YOU do here? I think it’s easy to get hung up in lofty political talk and thoughts about immigration, but when you dial that into a specific situation with real people (even if just characters), it has the capacity to challenge your thinking.

4. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

If there is something wrong with the third act, the problem is probably in the first act. I re- wrote this novel many, many times. It’s not until I fixed the first third that the story really took off.

5. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how it tells a story on its own. It suggests so much with so little.

6. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I’m going to dance around the spoilers with this answer. If you’ve read the novel, it’s the obvious scene (there’s a constellation involved). Sometimes you have to do things in the interest of your message that are hurtful to the characters whom you have grown to love. That is exactly what happened with this scene and it was emotionally draining to write it.

7. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Marcos was the most challenging character to write for a number of reasons. First, his personality is the most different from my own—he’s nearly a polar opposite. I had to work hard to keep him from being an unlikable caricature of a tough-guy. In addition, his arc was the most demanding one to show in a believable manner. It was tough to extract emotion from him, especially at the depth he needed to go to experience any kind of change.

8. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting new material is harder, but also far more rewarding. Dorothy Parker’s quote, “I hate writing; I love having written,” rings very true for me. It’s a slog to lay down new words, but I feel such a sense of accomplishment afterward. I don’t often get that same high from revising.

9. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

There are two organizations related to Latin America that I have been involved with for some time, and both are important to me. 1) Amigos de Las Americas sends high school students to Latin America for summer volunteer projects. I spent two months in Paraguay with the program when I was seventeen—it was a life-changing experience. 2) Fabretto provides educational opportunities to empower children in need in Nicaragua. We have sponsored a child for years and do other volunteer work for the organization.

There are also great organizations that do humanitarian work for immigrants crossing harrowing terrain (like that described in The Border). Here are a few of them—South Texas Human Rights Center, Humane Borders, and Border Angels. 

 

 
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: The Thing With Feathers by McCall...
Author Chat with Chad Morris & Shelly Brown (Musta...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to future...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
26091228.jpg
Follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel, Forget Tomorrow!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
It was the perfect night for a party. That is,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding
Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fireblood
Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing
From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome Home
Welcome Home collects a number of adoption-themed fictional short...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Even the Darkest Stars
The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
Stephen Albie Bright leads a happy, normal life. Well, as...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
Whether or not you believe in fate, or luck, or...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
50+ killer cakes, cookies, and candies for your exes and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up..."
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
 
3.5
"In JUNE SPARROW AND THE MILLION DOLLAR PENNY, June Sparrow is a very rich pre-teen living in New York City..."
Princess Breeze
 
4.3
"This is the second book in a very adorable, fun series. This book starts with Breeze Brannigan's end of eighth..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."
Coming Up For Air
 
4.3
"Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat. All of Maggie’s focus and free time..."
Landscape with Invisible Hand
 
4.3
"Aliens have invaded Earth and promise to share their technology. Of course most people are very excited about the idea..."
Invictus
 
4.7
"Time-travelling thieves. Who doesn’t want to read about that? Invictus follows Farway Gaius McCarthy, a wannabe time-traveller who was..."
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
 
3.7
"The gang's (Seneca, Maddox, Aerin, and Madison) back again in "Follow Me" by Sara Shepard, author of the "Pretty Little..."
Even the Darkest Stars
 
3.0
"Kamzin dreams of being an explorer, climbing mountains, and finding adventures. When a twist of fate allows her to journey..."
Welcome Home
 
3.7
"WELCOME HOME is a collection of stories about adoption from a number of perspectives, from teens who are meeting their..."
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
 
4.0
"Albie Bright’s mom has died after a long illness, and he’s heartbroken. While trying to sort out his feelings..."
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
 
5.0
"SWEET REVENGE is sweet and deliciously vengeful that I wanted to gobble up all of the recipes. It's full of..."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I HAVE NEVER CRIED SO HARD READING A BOOK. Or laughed. Or laughed AND cried at the same time. I..."
Big and Little Are Best Friends
 
4.5
"Big and Little, an elephant and a mouse, are best friends. But their friendship isn't based on common interests. Big..."
How Oscar Indigo Broke the Universe (and Put It Back Together Again)
 
3.0
"Oscar Indigo is a bad baseball player, but he’s a very good teammate. And he’s committed to his role of..."
Fireblood (Frostblood #2)
 
3.7
" Fireblood is the sequel to Frostblood and thus follows Ruby as her journey furthers..."
Frostblood
 
3.0
"Frostblood follows a young girl through a journey of revenge and romance. Ruby is a Fireblood, one of the last..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Ultimate Jokes for Kids: 2-in-1 Collection of Awesome Jokes and Road Trip Jokes
 
4.5
"This durable hardback presents a sizable collection of perfectly clean kid’s jokes. There are anywhere from 3-6 jokes per page..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Road Trip Jokes for Kids
 
4.0
"A well-arranged, highly portable collection of kid-friendly jokes. This little paperback book of road trip ready humor is 128..."
No Good Deed
 
4.0
"No Good Deed is the book you didn’t know you needed in your life. Goldy Moldavsky has been..."