Author Chat with Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Silvia Moreno-Garciaauthor 

of Certain Dark Things

Below you'll find more about Silvia

her book, plus a 

giveaway!

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: I wrote a short story called “A Puddle of Blood” for an anthology a few years ago, and it featured the main characters, Atl and Domingo, plus the basic plot: a vampire on the run in Mexico City. I thought the idea could be expanded so I turned it into a novel. I wanted to combine my interest in noirs (especially Mexican noirs) with a fantastical element. Plus, it’s not like there’s a monstrous amount of Mexican vampire novels.

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: I like all my characters. That said, I enjoyed the voice of Domingo, who is a street-kid that makes a living picking garbage. He is an optimist, and I was trying to strike the right note between naïve and foolish. He contrasts well with this world of grime and violence. He is a bright light. That said, if I ever wrote a sequel it would probably be because of Bernardino, who is a secondary character.

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?
SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: The original title was Young Blood. None of my novels have retained their original titles. I’m getting used 
to that.

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer

from then to now?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: I write too short. My tendency is to write 70,000 word books but there doesn’t seem to be too much of a market for that, at least in the speculative fiction category. This harks back probably to my interest in fiction from the 70s, when spec books were still very slim. I also have to say my desire for lean prose, ala Bukowski, doesn’t seem to go well with editors. There’s always notes about “describe more,” so I’m attempting to do that. My basic desire is for something very stripped down, with fire-rapid dialogue. Someone once asked me why I wasn’t a play writer instead. Good question.

YABC: What do you like most about the cover of the book?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: I was happy that they didn’t have a model who was white for the cover. That’s something that has happened to novelists frequently, even a few years ago. Publishers used to keep non-white characters off the covers for fear they wouldn’t sell. This is changing. John Picacio, the award-winning artist, talks a bit about this issue with the design of one of his recent book cover paintings (link: http://johnpicacio.com/onthefront/2016/07/05/the-last-adventure-of-constance-verity/). I’d like John to do the cover for one of my books one day, incidentally

YABC: What’s up next for you?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: I am doing edits on The Beautiful Ones, which is my next novel. It’s a love triangle involving a performer with telekinetic powers, set in a world inspired by the Belle Epoque. I also guest-edited an issue of Nightmare Magazine. It should be on sale right now.

YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: It wasn’t trouble, but Ana Aguirre was expanded, I think I ended up adding one or two more chapters from her POV. I’m a very lean writer and like I said, there is not a lot of appetite for 70,000 word books. The editor, and everyone who read the final draft, seemed to love Ana, so she was one of the characters who received an expansion. Ana is a human detective who is trying to solve a murder, and ends up in the middle of a vampire gang rivalry. And yes, she is named after a writer who is a friend of mine. Hint: Bronze Gods.

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA: I’m organized and disciplined. That may not seem like much, but when you work a full-time job and do other stuff, like writing, on the side, it comes in handy. There’s no secret to writing except actually writing, which oddly enough is something a lot of people have trouble with, just sitting down and doing the work. 

 

 

Meet Certain Dark Things!


 
    1. Certain Dark Things combines elements of Latin American mythology with a literary voice that leads readers on an exhilarating and fast-paced journey. 

      Welcome to Mexico City, an oasis in a sea of vampires. Here in the city, heavily policed to keep the creatures of the night at bay, Domingo is another trash-picking street kid, just hoping to make enough to survive. Then he meets Atl, the descendant of Aztec blood drinkers. Domingo is smitten. He clings to her like a barnacle until Atl relents and decides to let him stick around. 

      But Atl’s problems, Nick and Rodrigo, have come to find her. When they start to raise the body count in the city, it attracts the attention of police officers, local crime bosses, and the vampire community. Atl has to get out before Mexico City is upended, taking her with it.

    2. Meet Silvia Moreno-Garcia!

 

SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA is the author of the critically-acclaimed novel Signal to Noise and the short story collection This Strange Way of Dying, which was a finalist for the Sunburst Award in Canada. She was a finalist for the Manchester Fiction Prize, and a recipient of the Gloria Vanderbilt/Exile Award for Best Emerging Writer.

 

 

 

Certain Dark Things

By: Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Release Date: October 25, 2016 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will receive a copy of Certain Dark Things (US only).
 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: The Secret Diary Of Lydia Bennett...
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Scary Books On My TBR Li...
 

Comments 6

Dianna G. on Tuesday, 25 October 2016 22:01

Oh my goodness! What an imaginative, richly designed cover. I love it. The synopsis really caught my attention, too.

0
Oh my goodness! What an imaginative, richly designed cover. I love it. The synopsis really caught my attention, too.
Anne on Wednesday, 26 October 2016 05:33

I've been eyeing this for a while. I like that this is on the creepy side and the cover is beautiful. I would be happy to read this book.

0
I've been eyeing this for a while. I like that this is on the creepy side and the cover is beautiful. I would be happy to read this book.
John on Wednesday, 02 November 2016 23:53

Intriguing cover and synopsis.

0
Intriguing cover and synopsis.
Shannon Mizikoski on Tuesday, 15 November 2016 00:30

This cover is gorgeous and haunting- the book sounds equally so! Thanks so much for the chance!

0
This cover is gorgeous and haunting- the book sounds equally so! Thanks so much for the chance!
Vivien on Tuesday, 15 November 2016 11:10

Fantastic cover!! I hadn't heard of this before. Sounds great!!

0
Fantastic cover!! I hadn't heard of this before. Sounds great!!
Nancy Hernandez on Tuesday, 22 November 2016 20:16

The cover is amazing and the story sounds interesting, I can just imagine vampires in such a huge city.

0
The cover is amazing and the story sounds interesting, I can just imagine vampires in such a huge city.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."