Author Chat with Shawn Sarles (CAMPFIRE), Plus Giveaway!

CAMPFIRE_9780316515061_HC

Today we're excited to chat with Shawn Sarles, author of CAMPFIRE.  

Read on for more about Shawn and his book, an interview, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Shawn Sarles!

Shawn Sarles was born and raised in a small town in western Kentucky. After graduating from Wake Forest University, he moved to New York City. He has lived there and worked in the publishing industry for almost a decade. Campfire is his debut novel.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet CAMPFIRE!

Be careful what stories you tell around the campfire... they just might come true. Fans of Scream and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children will devour this chilling horror debut.

While camping in a remote location, Maddie Davenport gathers around the fire with her friends and family to tell scary stories. Caleb, the handsome young guide, shares the local legend of the ferocious Mountain Men who hunt unsuspecting campers and leave their mark by carving grisly antlers into their victims' foreheads.

The next day, the story comes true.

Now Maddie and her family are lost in the deep woods--with no way out--being stalked by their worst nightmares. Because there were other, more horrifying stories told that night--and Maddie's about to find out just how they end...

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The inspiration for Campfire came from a place of nostalgia. Growing up in the ‘90s, I was obsessed with all things scary. It was kind of a horror hey-day, if you think about it. There was Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark? Blockbuster was huge. You could stroll through the horror aisle and rent everything from slasher flicks to creature features. Campfire came from my desire to merge these two genres of horror – take some scary stories and set them in a world where you have this unknown killer stalking around in the dark and see who survives.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Chelsea. She was my main character’s best friend and a lot of fun to write. I liked that she was snippy and got to have a lot of sassy lines. But then she’s also super loyal to Maddie. A ride-or-die friend…which maybe isn’t the best thing to be in a horror book. You’ll have to read to see if she survives to the end.

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

 The title. It just has a nice, ominous sound to it.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The last scene. But mostly because that meant I had finished writing a whole book! Any time I get to write “The End” I’m ecstatic.

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The power of revisions. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to writing, so it takes me an eternity to crawl through that first draft. With Campfire I got to do my first true revision, and I was shocked at how easy it was to go back and fix things. Like, I could just pop in a new line and suddenly there was a new layer of depth added to the character. Or I could take a whole scene out and the story become magically tighter. I’m still a super-slow writer, but having experienced how much you can do in revisions has really helped me when I get stuck.

 

 

YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The eyes! Those creepy, fiery eyes are just hypnotizing. Especially when you see the finished books. The shine on that cover – you can’t look away. It’s like some sort of demon. I love it!

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

Black Wings Beating by Alex London. I love LGBTA+ stories. I love fantasy. And then you throw in killer birds! I’m so excited for it. It comes out in September. (I also should say that I have two parrots, so I am partial to any and all bird books.)

 

 

YABC:    What was your favorite book in 2017?

I’ll give you two. One YA and one Adult.

YA: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Tayler (The sequel, Muse of Nightmares, is another of my most-anticipated books coming out this year.)

Adult: Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero (It’s Scooby-Doo and the Hardy Boys meets H.P. Lovecraft’s other-dimensional monsters. It’s so good.)

 

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

Next up…that’s a scary question. Well, right now I’m working on a new novel. I have an outline fleshed out, and hopefully I’ll have the first draft finished soon. I don’t want to say too much, but it’s an LGBTQ+ slasher set at a college-prep summer camp with themes of catfishing and birds…I know that’s vague and doesn’t sound like it goes together, but I promise you it does.

 

 

 

CAMPFIRE

By: Shawn Sarles

Publisher: JIMMY Patterson

Release Date: July 17th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will each receive a copy of CAMPFIRE (Shawn Sarles) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Side By Side (Jenni L. Walsh)
What's New In YA ~ July 24th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Dianna G. on Wednesday, 25 July 2018 21:18

I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.

0
I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:52

The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 07:57

The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!

0
The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:31

The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.

0
The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.
Janell Goode on Monday, 13 August 2018 12:15

love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days

0
love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 21 August 2018 10:30

The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.

0
The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 22 August 2018 15:41

The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

0
The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Quinton Wyatt's summer break before high school should be nothing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Delicate Wings
Mia Walters is optimistic that her final high school...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Only A Breath Apart
Bestselling author Katie McGarry’s trademark wrong-side-of-the-tracks romance is given...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is quite the different place after the loss...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Pretty in Punxsutawney
A Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
What’s a pirate without her crew? Abandoned on an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
Getting kidnapped over spring break was definitely memorable. But...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
Grandma’s Last Will and Testament names Ray to inherit...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
51uDXTa8hxL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Celebrate the weird, wonderful, and the downright bizarre in this...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Next to Last Mistake
Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
Dragons are just legends from the past... Felicia’s life...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Penderwicks at Last
The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Over Raging Tides
The pirate crew of the Lady Luck lives by...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Positively Izzy
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reading for the next book! Got me guessing. Page turner just went to fast. I couldnt put it down. If..."
Zero Sum Game - Book 2 of the Sid Rubin Silicon Alley Adventures
 
5.0
""I crack my knuckles and shake out my fingers. To quote The Grey, 'Once more into the fray.'" Sidonie..."
 
5.0
"As if High School was not nightmareish enough, now let's put you in a game. No you do not get..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"I love the budding love story mixed in with the evil that is happening around them, it gives the readers..."
 
5.0
"If Victoria Danann writes it; I'll read it! She's so talented at world building and this is no exception..."
 
5.0
"But and read in one sitting - totally possible and highly probable!"
The Step-Spinsters
 
4.3
"You think you know the story of Cinderella and her evil step sisters but you don’t know the whole story...."
 
5.0
"Wonderful story about the Gods playing games with their unsuspecting children's lives. Definitely worth reading."
 
5.0
"Victoria's R. Caine series made me long to return to high school. Seriously! Nothing like meddling gods with too much..."
 
5.0
"This is an amazing debut novel from Jillian E. Martyn. The book is unique in where you don't just have..."
 
5.0
"When the Gods get bored they play games. What happens is yet to be seen. "
 
5.0
"You can tell this author loves what she does! Fantastic details, characters are well developed, all around a phenomenal read!..."
 
5.0
"It’s been quite some time since I’ve read a YA series that kept my attention & had me wanting more..."
 
5.0
"Victoria Danann has another hit series! Gods from diverse cultures strip their children (players) of their memories and withhold the..."
 
5.0
"This is a really good story and that 1-3 are in it is great from a young person to an..."
Glamour of Midnight
 
5.0
"Karis has been blind for as long as she can remember. However, when she sees through the smoke that stands..."
Who Are You Calling Weird?
 
4.7
"This book is all kinds of wonderful. Actually, everything about it is pretty much spot on – starting with the..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
4.0
""Forest of a Thousand Lanterns" was a slow-building and dark YA fantasy. Xifeng has been raised by her cruel aunt..."
 
5.0
"This was such a fun change from the normal Victoria books! I really felt like I was back roaming the..."
 
5.0
"I never like writing to much info in a review as I don’t want to give away things in the..."