Author Chat with Shawn Sarles (CAMPFIRE), Plus Giveaway!

CAMPFIRE_9780316515061_HC

Today we're excited to chat with Shawn Sarles, author of CAMPFIRE.  

Read on for more about Shawn and his book, an interview, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Shawn Sarles!

Shawn Sarles was born and raised in a small town in western Kentucky. After graduating from Wake Forest University, he moved to New York City. He has lived there and worked in the publishing industry for almost a decade. Campfire is his debut novel.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet CAMPFIRE!

Be careful what stories you tell around the campfire... they just might come true. Fans of Scream and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children will devour this chilling horror debut.

While camping in a remote location, Maddie Davenport gathers around the fire with her friends and family to tell scary stories. Caleb, the handsome young guide, shares the local legend of the ferocious Mountain Men who hunt unsuspecting campers and leave their mark by carving grisly antlers into their victims' foreheads.

The next day, the story comes true.

Now Maddie and her family are lost in the deep woods--with no way out--being stalked by their worst nightmares. Because there were other, more horrifying stories told that night--and Maddie's about to find out just how they end...

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The inspiration for Campfire came from a place of nostalgia. Growing up in the ‘90s, I was obsessed with all things scary. It was kind of a horror hey-day, if you think about it. There was Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark? Blockbuster was huge. You could stroll through the horror aisle and rent everything from slasher flicks to creature features. Campfire came from my desire to merge these two genres of horror – take some scary stories and set them in a world where you have this unknown killer stalking around in the dark and see who survives.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Chelsea. She was my main character’s best friend and a lot of fun to write. I liked that she was snippy and got to have a lot of sassy lines. But then she’s also super loyal to Maddie. A ride-or-die friend…which maybe isn’t the best thing to be in a horror book. You’ll have to read to see if she survives to the end.

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

 The title. It just has a nice, ominous sound to it.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The last scene. But mostly because that meant I had finished writing a whole book! Any time I get to write “The End” I’m ecstatic.

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The power of revisions. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to writing, so it takes me an eternity to crawl through that first draft. With Campfire I got to do my first true revision, and I was shocked at how easy it was to go back and fix things. Like, I could just pop in a new line and suddenly there was a new layer of depth added to the character. Or I could take a whole scene out and the story become magically tighter. I’m still a super-slow writer, but having experienced how much you can do in revisions has really helped me when I get stuck.

 

 

YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The eyes! Those creepy, fiery eyes are just hypnotizing. Especially when you see the finished books. The shine on that cover – you can’t look away. It’s like some sort of demon. I love it!

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

Black Wings Beating by Alex London. I love LGBTA+ stories. I love fantasy. And then you throw in killer birds! I’m so excited for it. It comes out in September. (I also should say that I have two parrots, so I am partial to any and all bird books.)

 

 

YABC:    What was your favorite book in 2017?

I’ll give you two. One YA and one Adult.

YA: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Tayler (The sequel, Muse of Nightmares, is another of my most-anticipated books coming out this year.)

Adult: Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero (It’s Scooby-Doo and the Hardy Boys meets H.P. Lovecraft’s other-dimensional monsters. It’s so good.)

 

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

Next up…that’s a scary question. Well, right now I’m working on a new novel. I have an outline fleshed out, and hopefully I’ll have the first draft finished soon. I don’t want to say too much, but it’s an LGBTQ+ slasher set at a college-prep summer camp with themes of catfishing and birds…I know that’s vague and doesn’t sound like it goes together, but I promise you it does.

 

 

 

CAMPFIRE

By: Shawn Sarles

Publisher: JIMMY Patterson

Release Date: July 17th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will each receive a copy of CAMPFIRE (Shawn Sarles) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Side By Side (Jenni L. Walsh)
What's New In YA ~ July 24th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Wednesday, 25 July 2018 21:18

I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.

0
I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:52

The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 07:57

The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!

0
The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:31

The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.

0
The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.
Janell Goode on Monday, 13 August 2018 12:15

love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days

0
love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 21 August 2018 10:30

The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.

0
The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 22 August 2018 15:41

The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

0
The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
Max Tilt thinks his luck is finally changing, thanks to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
From the World of Eric Carle comes a brand-new book...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hush, Little Bunny
Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
The CrimeBiters gang got its start with help from my...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Wolf Called Wander
“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.”—Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
Rina Nelle Mont has never been a part of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Riverdale.jpg
Based on the massively successful CW show, Riverdale, this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmie and the Tudor King
One moment, Emmie is writing her high school history paper;...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)
First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Afterward
Romantic high fantasy from the bestselling author of Star...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tell Me Everything
Your secret's safe...until it's not. Ivy's always preferred to...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Genie Dagger
A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past....
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Fox and the Box
In this debut picture book, author-illustrator Yvonne Ivinson invites readers...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lambslide
Nicolette Farmer is running for class president, and the rest...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"TBH, TOO MUCH DRAMA is a short book that primarily takes place over texts, but also has some emails, essays,..."
Skeleton Tree
 
4.0
"THE SKELETON TREE is a gripping middle grade novel that will touch your heart. Stanley Stanwright is 12 years old,..."
Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
 
4.0
"Max and his cousin Alex are still enjoying the benefits of the serum that has cured Max's mom and his..."
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
 
4.5
"HUGS AND KISSES FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG features, of course, the iconic character of the grouchy ladybug and which examines..."
Hush, Little Bunny
 
5.0
"HUSH, LITTLE BUNNY is a beautifully reimagined version of the song, “Hush, Little Baby.” Featuring a papa bunny and his..."
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
 
4.0
"Jimmy and his friends are back for this fourth and final installment, which starts with a bit of a shocker......"
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"SUMMER BABIES is a fun board book that celebrates summer with babies playing in the park. Using summery colors and..."
Tell Me Everything
 
3.7
"TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for..."
In the Neighborhood of True
 
4.3
"After her father's untimely death, Ruth Robb's mother uproots her and her little sister from New York City to Atlanta,..."
Emmie and the Tudor King
 
3.0
"What worked: Fast-paced time travel romp through Tudor England. In this case readers find out what would have happened if..."
Fox and the Box
 
5.0
"FOX AND THE BOX is a charming picture book that follows a fox as he/she converts a box into a..."
Lambslide
 
5.0
"LAMBSLIDE is an elegant picture book that follows three little lambs, who are all pretty sure the world revolves around..."
I am a Wonder Woman
 
5.0
"I AM A WONDER WOMAN is a fun and cool activity book which celebrates the amazing things women have done..."
Sun Down, Monsters Up!
 
5.0
"SUN DOWN, MONSTERS UP! introduces the characters of Pitchfork Pines Preschool. This special preschool hosts the children of famous monsters..."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE? features a beautiful poem and lovely illustrations in a celebration of love between friends and..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
3.5
"PIPPIN NO LICKIN is a picture book which follows the cat, Pippin. Although most cats know how to clean themselves..."
Bone Hollow
 
4.0
"BONE HOLLOW follows Gabe, a young boy who lives with Miss Cleo, a woman who cares for him exactly as..."
The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"THE MISSING EASTER BUNNY is a colorful and bright celebration of Easter egg hunts! Ebby the bunny invited all the..."
The Genie Dagger
 
3.8
"The Genie Dagger by Bethany Wicker is the first book in a new fantasy series set in the world of..."
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
 
3.7
"The world the author has created was very varied and offered a fresh look at magical creatures. Rina was a..."