Author Chat with Shawn Sarles (CAMPFIRE), Plus Giveaway!

CAMPFIRE_9780316515061_HC

Today we're excited to chat with Shawn Sarles, author of CAMPFIRE.  

Read on for more about Shawn and his book, an interview, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Shawn Sarles!

Shawn Sarles was born and raised in a small town in western Kentucky. After graduating from Wake Forest University, he moved to New York City. He has lived there and worked in the publishing industry for almost a decade. Campfire is his debut novel.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet CAMPFIRE!

Be careful what stories you tell around the campfire... they just might come true. Fans of Scream and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children will devour this chilling horror debut.

While camping in a remote location, Maddie Davenport gathers around the fire with her friends and family to tell scary stories. Caleb, the handsome young guide, shares the local legend of the ferocious Mountain Men who hunt unsuspecting campers and leave their mark by carving grisly antlers into their victims' foreheads.

The next day, the story comes true.

Now Maddie and her family are lost in the deep woods--with no way out--being stalked by their worst nightmares. Because there were other, more horrifying stories told that night--and Maddie's about to find out just how they end...

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The inspiration for Campfire came from a place of nostalgia. Growing up in the ‘90s, I was obsessed with all things scary. It was kind of a horror hey-day, if you think about it. There was Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark? Blockbuster was huge. You could stroll through the horror aisle and rent everything from slasher flicks to creature features. Campfire came from my desire to merge these two genres of horror – take some scary stories and set them in a world where you have this unknown killer stalking around in the dark and see who survives.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Chelsea. She was my main character’s best friend and a lot of fun to write. I liked that she was snippy and got to have a lot of sassy lines. But then she’s also super loyal to Maddie. A ride-or-die friend…which maybe isn’t the best thing to be in a horror book. You’ll have to read to see if she survives to the end.

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

 The title. It just has a nice, ominous sound to it.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The last scene. But mostly because that meant I had finished writing a whole book! Any time I get to write “The End” I’m ecstatic.

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The power of revisions. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to writing, so it takes me an eternity to crawl through that first draft. With Campfire I got to do my first true revision, and I was shocked at how easy it was to go back and fix things. Like, I could just pop in a new line and suddenly there was a new layer of depth added to the character. Or I could take a whole scene out and the story become magically tighter. I’m still a super-slow writer, but having experienced how much you can do in revisions has really helped me when I get stuck.

 

 

YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The eyes! Those creepy, fiery eyes are just hypnotizing. Especially when you see the finished books. The shine on that cover – you can’t look away. It’s like some sort of demon. I love it!

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

Black Wings Beating by Alex London. I love LGBTA+ stories. I love fantasy. And then you throw in killer birds! I’m so excited for it. It comes out in September. (I also should say that I have two parrots, so I am partial to any and all bird books.)

 

 

YABC:    What was your favorite book in 2017?

I’ll give you two. One YA and one Adult.

YA: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Tayler (The sequel, Muse of Nightmares, is another of my most-anticipated books coming out this year.)

Adult: Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero (It’s Scooby-Doo and the Hardy Boys meets H.P. Lovecraft’s other-dimensional monsters. It’s so good.)

 

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

Next up…that’s a scary question. Well, right now I’m working on a new novel. I have an outline fleshed out, and hopefully I’ll have the first draft finished soon. I don’t want to say too much, but it’s an LGBTQ+ slasher set at a college-prep summer camp with themes of catfishing and birds…I know that’s vague and doesn’t sound like it goes together, but I promise you it does.

 

 

 

CAMPFIRE

By: Shawn Sarles

Publisher: JIMMY Patterson

Release Date: July 17th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will each receive a copy of CAMPFIRE (Shawn Sarles) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Side By Side (Jenni L. Walsh)
What's New In YA ~ July 24th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Dianna G. on Wednesday, 25 July 2018 21:18

I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.

0
I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:52

The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 07:57

The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!

0
The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:31

The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.

0
The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.
Janell Goode on Monday, 13 August 2018 12:15

love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days

0
love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 21 August 2018 10:30

The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.

0
The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 22 August 2018 15:41

The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

0
The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Story of B
The Story of B combines Daniel Quinn's provocative and visionary...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: Beauty and the Beast: A Modern Retelling
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: The Snow Queen: A Graphic Novel
Follow Gerda on an adventure to find her friend Kay,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
DARK TALES: THE CALL OF CTHULHU: A Graphic Novel
In this Dark Tale, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming... ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: The Hound of the Baskervilles: A Graphic Novel
Eliminate the impossible, and whatever remains, however improbable, must be...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
NOTES FROM MY CAPTIVITY
Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
9 FROM NINE WORLDS
The Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard trilogy may...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
#Murdertrending
@doctorfusionbebop: Some 17 y. o. chick named Dee Guerrera was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unstoppable Moses
Moses and his cousin Charlie were best friends, wisecracking pranksters,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
51HTvQF3B2L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Alien meets Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds in this thrilling...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Thief of Happy Endings
Sarah Dessen meets the Wild West in this tale of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Between Before and After
“The carnage began with the roses. She hacked at their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
STANDING UP AGAINST HATE is the story of black women...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chainbreaker (Timekeeper Book 2)
Clock mechanic Danny Hart knows he’s being watched. But by...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old cupid-in-training Kali is in an Olympus-sized mountain of trouble....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
5.0
""These Broken Stars" is an interesting YA sci-fi that follows two young people after a space shuttle crash. Lilac LeRoux..."
This Shattered World (Starbound #2)
 
3.3
""This Shattered World" follows Jubilee (Lee) and Flynn, who live on a planet that has failed terraforming, leaving it with..."
DARK TALES: THE CALL OF CTHULHU: A Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"This vibrant retelling of H.P. Lovecraft’s short story has been artfully adapted into a beautifully illustrated graphic novel that captures..."
Dark Tales: The Hound of the Baskervilles: A Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"The Hound of the Baskervilles is one of Arthur Conan Doyle's finest Sherlock Holmes novels, written years after “The Final..."
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
 
3.0
"Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt offers lengthier chapter book reading, while still offering delightful illustrations more familiar to young readers..."
NOTES FROM MY CAPTIVITY
 
4.7
"Adrienne Cahill finds herself on an expedition to remote Siberia looking for the fabled Osinov family with her stepfather, Dan,..."
9 FROM NINE WORLDS
 
3.7
"Fans of Riordan will find lots of familiar faces from the Magnus Chase series in this clever collection of short..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.0
"A gory, dark thriller with all the things we loved about Hunger Games plus a delightfully creepy twist of something..."
Unstoppable Moses
 
5.0
"Feedback I am going to admit that I would have never picked up this book if I wasn’t provided a..."
Sanctuary
 
3.0
"X-men Gen X (i.e. the teen version) meets Aliens-lite in this survival-in-space story. Told in first-person past-tense from..."
Thief of Happy Endings
 
4.7
"‘Thief of Happy Endings’ is a young adult contemporary with a huge twist. The story centers around, Cassidy. Cassidy..."
Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)
 
4.3
"Feedback I thought this was an interesting concept. The clocks themselves really control the time. There are days where..."
Chainbreaker (Timekeeper Book 2)
 
5.0
"Feedback What a change from book one! While I enjoyed Timekeeper, it took me a while to truly engage..."
Confessions of a High School Disaster
 
3.7
"Confessions of a High School Disaster is the first installment of the Chloe Snow series. I read the second installment..."
I Do Not Trust You
 
4.0
"I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz is a young adult thriller that follows Memphis..."
 
5.0
CJCJ
"Strong characters Great romance Epic adventure Magic Elements of north mythology"
Light Years
 
3.0
"Sporting a diverse ensemble cast, this book is rife with themes of team-building; and not simply setting aside differences but..."
The Color of Lies
 
3.7
"The Color of Lies relies heavily on its interesting characters, not-so-original plot, and captivating writing to keep its reader--but as..."
The Reader
 
4.0
""The Reader" is an intriguing YA fantasy that follows a girl named Sefia. Her parents hid her in a secret..."
The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
 
4.0
" "The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel" is a retelling of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow from the point-of-view of..."