Author Chat with Shawn Sarles (CAMPFIRE), Plus Giveaway!

CAMPFIRE_9780316515061_HC

Today we're excited to chat with Shawn Sarles, author of CAMPFIRE.  

Read on for more about Shawn and his book, an interview, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Shawn Sarles!

Shawn Sarles was born and raised in a small town in western Kentucky. After graduating from Wake Forest University, he moved to New York City. He has lived there and worked in the publishing industry for almost a decade. Campfire is his debut novel.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet CAMPFIRE!

Be careful what stories you tell around the campfire... they just might come true. Fans of Scream and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children will devour this chilling horror debut.

While camping in a remote location, Maddie Davenport gathers around the fire with her friends and family to tell scary stories. Caleb, the handsome young guide, shares the local legend of the ferocious Mountain Men who hunt unsuspecting campers and leave their mark by carving grisly antlers into their victims' foreheads.

The next day, the story comes true.

Now Maddie and her family are lost in the deep woods--with no way out--being stalked by their worst nightmares. Because there were other, more horrifying stories told that night--and Maddie's about to find out just how they end...

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The inspiration for Campfire came from a place of nostalgia. Growing up in the ‘90s, I was obsessed with all things scary. It was kind of a horror hey-day, if you think about it. There was Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark? Blockbuster was huge. You could stroll through the horror aisle and rent everything from slasher flicks to creature features. Campfire came from my desire to merge these two genres of horror – take some scary stories and set them in a world where you have this unknown killer stalking around in the dark and see who survives.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Chelsea. She was my main character’s best friend and a lot of fun to write. I liked that she was snippy and got to have a lot of sassy lines. But then she’s also super loyal to Maddie. A ride-or-die friend…which maybe isn’t the best thing to be in a horror book. You’ll have to read to see if she survives to the end.

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

 The title. It just has a nice, ominous sound to it.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The last scene. But mostly because that meant I had finished writing a whole book! Any time I get to write “The End” I’m ecstatic.

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The power of revisions. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to writing, so it takes me an eternity to crawl through that first draft. With Campfire I got to do my first true revision, and I was shocked at how easy it was to go back and fix things. Like, I could just pop in a new line and suddenly there was a new layer of depth added to the character. Or I could take a whole scene out and the story become magically tighter. I’m still a super-slow writer, but having experienced how much you can do in revisions has really helped me when I get stuck.

 

 

YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The eyes! Those creepy, fiery eyes are just hypnotizing. Especially when you see the finished books. The shine on that cover – you can’t look away. It’s like some sort of demon. I love it!

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

Black Wings Beating by Alex London. I love LGBTA+ stories. I love fantasy. And then you throw in killer birds! I’m so excited for it. It comes out in September. (I also should say that I have two parrots, so I am partial to any and all bird books.)

 

 

YABC:    What was your favorite book in 2017?

I’ll give you two. One YA and one Adult.

YA: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Tayler (The sequel, Muse of Nightmares, is another of my most-anticipated books coming out this year.)

Adult: Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero (It’s Scooby-Doo and the Hardy Boys meets H.P. Lovecraft’s other-dimensional monsters. It’s so good.)

 

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

Next up…that’s a scary question. Well, right now I’m working on a new novel. I have an outline fleshed out, and hopefully I’ll have the first draft finished soon. I don’t want to say too much, but it’s an LGBTQ+ slasher set at a college-prep summer camp with themes of catfishing and birds…I know that’s vague and doesn’t sound like it goes together, but I promise you it does.

 

 

 

CAMPFIRE

By: Shawn Sarles

Publisher: JIMMY Patterson

Release Date: July 17th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will each receive a copy of CAMPFIRE (Shawn Sarles) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Side By Side (Jenni L. Walsh)
What's New In YA ~ July 24th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Dianna G. on Wednesday, 25 July 2018 21:18

I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.

0
I'm curious about this one! The cover definitely catches my attention, and it makes me wonder if the "scary" factor will be realistic or spoof quality. The summary is interesting, kind of like one of those ghost stories I heard at sleepovers growing up.
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:52

The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 07:57

The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!

0
The cover reminds me of the good ol' days when I enjoyed Fear Street and Christopher Pike novels; I still love a good scary story decades later. So I am psyched for this one!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:31

The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.

0
The cover and synopsis totally creep me out, making me really want to read Campfire.
Janell Goode on Monday, 13 August 2018 12:15

love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days

0
love the cover and the synopsis...reminds me of my camping days
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 21 August 2018 10:30

The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.

0
The cover is cool and creepy. I think this sounds like a unique horror story.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 22 August 2018 15:41

The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

0
The cover is scary and perfect for this thriller.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

#1 Bestseller on Kobo and Category Bestseller on Amazon! ...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
What if you were the missing piece in one of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Babysitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day
Kristy's mom is getting married, and Kristy is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Very Last Castle
A curious little girl watches the man who guards the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jack B. Ninja
Jack B. Ninja! Jack, be quick! Jack, jump over the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Assignment: An Immortals of Indriell Novella
She has devoted her life to training with the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Agony House
Denise Farber has just moved back to New Orleans...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freak N Gorgeous
Everyone is ugly sometimes. In a world not unlike...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twice Dead
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
Death. Sacrifice. Betrayal. That is your curse. The seer's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Forest Queen
When sixteen-year-old Sylvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Kendall's Snow Fort (Scholastic Reader Level 2: American Girl: Wellie Wishers)
There's a storm coming! The other WellieWishers promise to help...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Afterimage
A horrific explosion levels part of the city and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Death in daylight. Danger at dark. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Big
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, follows...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.8
"I read some lines over and over because I really liked the writing style."
Dragonfly Nightmare
 
3.5
"I kind of got to know the main characters but they weren't totally real to me. Allie is the only..."
After the Green Withered
 
4.5
"A must read! "
We Regret To Inform You
 
4.3
"Mischa is the perfect high school student. She has joined all the right clubs, she has the best grades, and..."
The Babysitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day
 
4.0
"'The Baby-Sitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day' by Gale Galligan, based on the novel by Ann M. Martin, is an interesting..."
The Very Last Castle
 
5.0
"'The Very Last Castle' by Travis Jonker, pictures by Mark Pett, has a Willy Wonka feel to it. The book..."
Jack B. Ninja
 
3.5
"'Jack B. Ninja' by Tim McCanna, illustrated by Stephen Savage, is a rhyming story about Jack, a young ninja who..."
The Darkest Minds
 
4.0
""The Darkest Minds" is a YA dystopian that felt very similar to others out there- but the twist being a..."
Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2)
 
3.0
""Never Fade" continues the Darkest Minds series with what felt a bit like an intermediate book. Beginning after the end..."
The Darkest Legacy
 
4.0
""The Darkest Legacy" continues The Darkest Minds series after the resolutions of the trilogy. This time, we follow Suzume (Zu)...."
Exo
Exo
 
5.0
""Exo" is a really interesting YA sci-fi that follows a 17-year-old human a hundred years after Earth has been taken..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
""Everything, Everything" follows Madeline, who lives in a bubble- she has a rare disease called SCID, which means she is..."
Eleanor & Park
 
4.0
""Eleanor & Park" was an unexpected touching read for me. Eleanor is a chubby red-head and Park is a half-Asian..."
Warcross
 
5.0
""Warcross" begins a fantastic new YA series from Marie Lu. Fans of the Legend trilogy will rejoice in this new,..."
Freak N Gorgeous
 
4.0
"'Freak N Gorgeous' by Sebastian J. Plata provides an in-depth and telling look into the world of two teenagers who..."
The Forest Queen
 
3.3
"THE FOREST QUEEN by Betsy Cornwell caught my eye at first glance. The cover is beautiful and promises a tale..."
My Wish For You A Message for Every Girl and Girl at Heart: Lessons from My Six-Year-Old Daughter
 
4.0
"My wish for you is the quintessential girl power read. Although it seems to focus on empowering young girls..."
Kendall's Snow Fort (Scholastic Reader Level 2: American Girl: Wellie Wishers)
 
3.0
"Kendall’s snow fort is a feel-good lesson learning wintery mix of fun. Essential for slightly more advanced readers, Kendall’s..."
The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Big
 
5.0
"Dave Engledow does it again with THE LITTLE GIRL WHO WANTED TO BE BIG. All the little girl wants to..."