Author Chat with Sharon Creech (Saving Winslow), Plus Giveaway!

9780062570703

Today we're excited to chat with Sharon Creech, author of Saving Winslow. 

 Read on for more about Sharon and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Sharon Creech!

Sharon Creech is the author of the Newbery Medal Winner Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor Winner The Wanderer, and the Carnegie Medal winner Ruby Holler. Her other works include Moo, The Boy on the Porch, The Great Unexpected, The Unfinished Angel, Hate That Cat, The Castle Corona, Replay, Heartbeat, Granny Torrelli Makes Soup, Love that Dog, Bloomability, Absolutely Normal Chaos, Chasing Redbird, and Pleasing the Ghost, as well as three picture books, A Fine, Fine School, Fishing in the Air, and Who’s That Baby? Sharon Creech and her husband live in Camden, Maine. You can visit her online at www.sharoncreech.com [sharoncreech.com]

 

Website * Twitter 

 

 

 

 

Meet Saving Winslow!

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~ 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

        I was inspired by my grandchildren’s rescue of orphaned lambs: an intriguing combination of dedication, vulnerability, sweetness, humor, fear. Instead of a lamb, though, I chose a mini-donkey.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?       

        Louie. But then, also Winslow. But then, also Nora. Hard to choose!

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

        The title and the vague idea of the story (a child rescuing an orphaned animal) arrived simultaneously. I like it when the title arrives early on, as it helps to inspire, direct and contain the story.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

        This is a hard question to answer because I very much wanted to convey the story through a series of succinct scenes, each complete in itself, and I worked to pare each chapter down to its essentials. It’s not so much pride that I feel about any one part—so much as appreciation for the way they all scenes work individually and together.

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now ?

        The most important thing I’ve learned is to trust my own instincts and get out of the way of the story—to not over think or over plan it—to let the story emerge naturally.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?       

        I love the bright colors and the simplicity and the way those reflect the tone of the book.

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?       

        I don’t yet know of any books to be released in 2019, but I trust that there will be many great ones for me to discover!

       

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?  

        I’m working on a novel whose characters intrigue me, but they are being stubborn and unpredictable, and it is hard to say what this book is about! Still, I expect to finish it in 2019, for publication in 2020.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

        In the beginning, drafting is more exciting, but after completing a first draft, revising becomes more enjoyable. The framework is there and revising is the time to enhance that frame.

 

 

YABC:  Is there anything that you would like to add?      

        Thank you for the time to connect with readers!

 

 

 

 

Saving Winslow

By: Sharon Creech

Publisher: Harpercollins Books

Release Date: September 11th, 2018

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will each receive a copy of Saving Winslow (Sharon Creech) ~ (US only)

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: Twice Dead (Caitlin Seal)
Spotlight on The Journal Of Angela Ashby (Liana Ga...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
Alyssa Annico on Tuesday, 02 October 2018 08:38

This looks and sounds so cute. I love animal stories! :

0
This looks and sounds so cute. I love animal stories! :D:
Debra Branigan on Wednesday, 03 October 2018 22:36

I love Sharon Creech's work with The Wanderer as one of my favorites. I look forward to reading this novel. Cover is cute.

0
I love Sharon Creech's work with The Wanderer as one of my favorites. I look forward to reading this novel. Cover is cute.
Renee Moore on Thursday, 04 October 2018 22:23

I LOVE Charlootes Web! This story sounds so sweet, would love to read!

0
I LOVE Charlootes Web! This story sounds so sweet, would love to read!
Melanie Bracco on Saturday, 06 October 2018 14:23

Love the cover and the synopsis sounds great!

0
Love the cover and the synopsis sounds great!
Victoria Scott on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 15:54

Looks like a terrific read!

0
Looks like a terrific read!
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 19 October 2018 13:52

I think the cover is adorable and I love the synopsis.

0
I think the cover is adorable and I love the synopsis.
Janell Goode on Sunday, 21 October 2018 23:14

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Dan Denman on Monday, 22 October 2018 09:22

The cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a really heartwarming story.

0
The cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a really heartwarming story.
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 16:43

How cute is this cover?!? The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
How cute is this cover?!? The synopsis sounds amazing!
Jana Leah on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 20:27

The cover is adorable & the story sounds fun.

0
The cover is adorable & the story sounds fun.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Merbaby's Lullaby
 
5.0
"MERBABY’S LULLABY is an elegant and sweet poem, perfect for a bedtime book. As waves rock, whales sing, and starfish..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."