Author Chat with Samantha Mabry (All the Wind in the World), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Samantha Mabry (All the Wind in the World), Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Samantha Mabry, author of All the Wind in the World. Read on for more about Samantha and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Samantha Mabry!

 
 
 

Samantha Mabry grew up in Texas playing bass guitar along to vinyl records, writing fan letters to rock stars, and reading big, big books, and credits her tendency toward magical thinking to her Grandmother Garcia, who would wash money in the kitchen sink to rinse off any bad spirits. She teaches writing and Latino literature at a community college in Dallas, Texas, where she lives with her husband, a historian, and her pets, including a cat named Mouse. She is the author of the novels A Fierce and Subtle Poison and All the Wind in the World. Visit her online atsamanthamabry.com or on Twitter: @samanthamabry.

 
 
 
Meet All the Wind in the World!
 
 

Sarah Jac Crow and James Holt have fallen in love working in the endless fields that span a bone-dry Southwest in the near-future—a land that’s a little bit magical, deeply dangerous, and bursting with secrets. To protect themselves, they’ve learned to work hard and—above all—keep their love hidden from the people who might use it against them. Then, just when Sarah Jac and James have settled in and begun saving money for the home they dream of near the coast, a horrible accident sends them on the run. With no choice but to start over on a new, possibly cursed ranch, the delicate balance of their lives begins to give way—and they may have to pay a frighteningly high price for their love.

 
 
A Chat with Samantha Mabry:

1. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The finished novel came well before the title All the Wind in the World. But the novel had a working title long before it was ever even finished. It used to be called The Real Marvelous, which is the name of the maguey ranch where the characters live and work.

2. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

It’s a scene about a swarm of bees. It’s sort of a culminating moment in the novel –several aspects are about to come to a head –and this scene is dramatic, and eerie, and violent, and ultimately the main character Sarah Jac is left to determine if the bee swarm is a kind of profound sign or just a cruel moment of nature.

3. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?
Patience! I wanted things to come very quickly: an awesome finished book, an agent, a book deal, critical acclaim, good sales numbers. But the process of writing –not just the actual writing, but the waiting for feedback and revising and waiting for your book to release and then waiting to hear how it’s received –takes a very, very long time. It makes me very impatient, but then I try to channel that impatience into the characters I’m writing because impatient characters can do some interesting things.

4. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

When I saw the first draft of the cover, the two figures at the bottom were facing each other, like almost about to kiss. I made the gentle suggestion that maybe there could be an added layer of tension –or maybe a sense of mystery –if they were facing away from each other. You don’t see that very often on covers of books that are romances at heart, and I think it ended up cool and cryptic. I also like the birds.

5. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

I absolutely can’t wait to read The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan.

6. What was your favorite book in 2017?

My favorite book of 2017 was probably The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater. It’s nonfiction –which you don’t see a lot in YA –and the story of a hate crime told from both sides. It was really moving and wonderful.

7. What’s up next for you?

I’m working on a couple of things: a ghost story involving three sisters in San Antonio and a sort of big epic about bandits. That said, they both mostly consist of straps tied loosely together. They are quite far from being proper novels.

8. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There’s this scene near the end of the novel when the main character, Sarah Jacqueline reunites with her boyfriend, James. It’s obvious to the reader that James is changed –that his and Sarah Jac’s relationship has fundamentally changed –but Sarah Jac refuses to

believe it. She’s experiencing this weird mix of anger and denial, and it was tricky to get that right –to make her proud and heartsick at the same time.

9. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or revising?

I most enjoy early, early drafting. Usually, I don’t even start writing until I can hold a story in my head for a while and see it take shape there. After that, I write out various sections in a rush in a composition notebook, and then I start to type it out. Those early parts of the process are when I feel the most creative and excited about the project. After that, it starts to feel like a bit of a grind –like work work, you know? 

 
 
 
 
 
 

All the Wind in the World

By: Samantha Mabry

Release Date: October 10, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of All the Wind in the World. (US only). 
      
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Waiting On Wednesday ~ October 11th, 2017
Giveaway: THE WAR I FINALLY WON (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

John on Monday, 23 October 2017 16:18

The cover is intriguing, and the synopsis extra-intriguing!

0
The cover is intriguing, and the synopsis extra-intriguing!
Lily M. on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 03:57

Love the colors on this cover ?

0
Love the colors on this cover ?
Penny Olson on Thursday, 09 November 2017 00:08

I love the colors of this cover. The synopsis sounds really exciting.

0
I love the colors of this cover. The synopsis sounds really exciting.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 09 November 2017 13:50

The cover is gorgeous and I'm already on the edge of my seat wanting this book now--it sounds so exciting!

0
The cover is gorgeous and I'm already on the edge of my seat wanting this book now--it sounds so exciting!
wendy rinebold on Friday, 10 November 2017 20:14

I love the cover and this sounds like it will be a very exciting book!

0
I love the cover and this sounds like it will be a very exciting book!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."