Author Chat with Robin D Mahle (The Fractured Empire), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4532002_20190611-130508_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Robin D Mahle author of

The Fractured Empire.

 Read on for more about Robin, plus an interview and an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Robin D Mahle!

The name Robin D. Mahle represents a dynamic husband and wife storytelling team. They've travelled the world for both love and war, and a tale began to form between the two of them that just had to be told. One's love of anime and comics collided with the other's love of fiction novels to produce a story with action, captivating dialogue, and riveting prose.

The female piece to the puzzle that is Robin spends her days as a captioner for the deaf and hard of hearing. She loves to read, write, and loves all things Doctor Who. A Marine Corps veteran, her husband homeschools their offspring, lovingly nicknamed Thing 1 and Thing 2. He loves to write and spend time in his garden.They also have two fur babies: a standard full-sized poodle and a persian cat. Their family lives in Colorado after a lifetime of being way too hot in Texas.


 Website * Instagram * Facebook * Twitter



 

 

 

Meet The Fractured Empire!

The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for two very different people, the world is still upside down.

For Adelaide, her sister's death has left a gaping void. The one thing she believes will dull the pain is to take the only piece of her sister she has left to the place they'd sworn they'd go together -- the Ever Falls, a natural wonder that splits the world in two. But the journey is perilous and not everyone who seeks the Ever Falls survives.

Clark never imagined his father would be blamed for the Silent Explosion. Now, he must find a way to clear his family's name. As a member of an activist group, he's ready to steal a powerful amulet in exchange for the chance to interrogate a Professor of the Empire. Brash and maybe a little too confident, Clark embarks on a mission that puts his own life at risk.

But Clark isn't the only one after the amulet.

When the ancient artifact attaches itself to Adelaide, essentially painting a target on her back, Clark and Addie's worlds collide. Tensions rise as they work together to stay alive... and resist the temptation to kill each other before their enemies have the chance.


Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC: What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

My husband is very into anime and manga and expansive worlds. He had crafted a general idea of a story he wanted to tell, but it was only one POV and much more of a middle grade fantasy type story. One day, I was listening to the song “Stay” by Rihanna and this back and forth love-hate story between two broken people just came to me. We combined the concepts of his intricate plot and my characters ideas and came up with this series.

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

That’s a toss up between Adelaide and Gunther. Addie is so flawed and real to me, but Gunther is this strong, supportive, kind, amazing character. I love seeing the world through his eyes, the way he interprets and processes the world around him, not being able to hear and having such an astounding mind.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

This is definitely a tough question, but I think I’d have to say the scene between Clark and Addie on the Prince’s yacht. The scene didn’t go the way I intended it to, but to me, it’s one of the realest scenes in the book.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Well, it’s not waaay back for me, since I’m pretty much a newb. 😊 The most important thing I’ve learned is to just write, even if it feels like crap at the time. Get something down on the page and move on from it, let your characters lead their own story, and then you can go back and fix the kinks.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

This cover just got a makeover, and I have to say my favorite part is the tiny hints of gears along the bottom. There is a very subtle dieselpunk theme in the first book, and I like how it’s just as subtle in the cover.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

“I could no sooner choose a favorite star among the heavens.” No, really, I read so many books last year and picking one favorite is nearly impossible, but I definitely got very sucked into Michelle Lynn’s fairy tale world, beginning with Golden Curse.

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

The Forgotten World, Book 3 in The World Apart Series, followed by Summer’s Rebellion, Book 3 in The Lochlann Treaty Series.

 

 

YABC:  Is there anything that you would like to add?

It’s interesting to me, the transition from reading to writing. I have fallen in love with so many characters over the years, but I didn’t realize how deeply you could love a fictional character until I created my own.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Most of my reviews mention how realistic my characters are. I think my super power is writing real people, real relationships that form naturally instead of in a contrived manner.

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I am deeply troubled by the continuous rise in human trafficking. There are few things more horrific than that, and there are several organizations that attempt to combat it that I wholeheartedly support.

 

 

 

 

The Fractured Empire

By: Robin D Mahle

Release Date: June 12th, 2019

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a books 1-3 in The World Apart Series ~ (US Only)

The Fractured Empire, The Tempest Sea, & The Forgotton World

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: The Chosen (Taran Matharu)
Giveaway: National Geographic Prize Pack (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Renee Moore on Thursday, 20 June 2019 00:33

Sounds like a great book! Love the cover.

0
Sounds like a great book! Love the cover.
Linda Leonard on Thursday, 20 June 2019 11:55

Love the hilt on the sword as back as background colors. It gives a mystical feel.

0
Love the hilt on the sword as back as background colors. It gives a mystical feel.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."