Author Chat with Nisha Sharma (My So-Called Bollywood Life), Plus Giveaway!

MySoCalledBollywoodLife

Today we're excited to chat with Nisha Sharma, author of My So-Called Bollywood Life.  

Read on for more about Nisha and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Nisha Sharma!

NISHA SHARMA (@nishawrites) grew up immersed in Bollywood movies, '80s pop culture, and romance novels, so it is no surprise that her first novel, My So-Called Bollywood Life, features all three. Nisha lives in Pennsylvania with her cat, Lizzie Bennett, and her dog, Nancey Drew. You can find her online at nisha-sharma.com or on Twitter and Instagram at @nishawrites.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet My So-Called Bollywood Life!

The romance of Stephanie Perkins meets the quirk of Maureen Johnson, then gets a Bollywood twist in this fate-filled debut that takes the future into its own hands.

Winnie Mehta was never really convinced that Raj was her soul mate, but their love was written in the stars. Literally, a pandit predicted Winnie would find the love of her life before her eighteenth birthday, and Raj meets all the qualifications. Which is why Winnie is shocked when she returns from her summer at film camp to find her boyfriend of three years hooking up with Jenny Dickens. As a self-proclaimed Bollywood expert, Winnie knows this is not how her perfect ending is scripted.

Then there's Dev, a fellow film geek and one of the few people Winnie can count on. Dev is smart and charming, and he challenges Winnie to look beyond her horoscope and find someone she'd pick for herself. But does falling for Dev mean giving up on her prophecy and her chance to live happily ever after? To find her perfect ending, Winnie will need a little bit of help from fate, family, and of course, a Bollywood movie star.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 ~ Interview ~ 

 

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

My favorite character in this novel is the best friend Bridget. I grew up in a small town with non-Indian friends, and when I went to college and later to law school, I ended up meeting very few South Asians. However, I always had non-diverse friends who loved me for who I was and spent many hours sitting on the couch with me watching Bollywood movies. Bridget encapsulates the positive, supportive attitude that I experienced growing up.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title. I used to tell friends that I hated the way Bollywood was being used to describe everything, from food to clothing, to attitude. I wanted to write a story that played on the use of the word Bollywood but explored film in a positive way. The novel came from there.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

How to rewrite. The version that I first sold is very different from the published version. My editor and I spent years rewriting and refining the story into what it is today. The whole process takes a lot of patience and a very open mind. I’d like to think that after going through the rewriting process, I understand how to tackle the job, and I’ve learned to be more open to possibilities and change.

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Ohmergerd, EVERYTHING. I love the colors, the pop-art feel of the art work, and most importantly, the subtlety in the South Asian touches that really make the story phenomenal. Crown and my editor really worked to get the right image to represent the book and I couldn’t be happier.

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m working on another YA right now about Bollywood dance teams and food! My main character is reconnecting with a parent through cooking, and my hero is trying to save his Bollywood dance team from ruin while surviving his brother’s Indian wedding. I’m super excited for everyone to read Radha’s story.

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There is a scene in the story where my main character confronts her ex-boyfriend for the first time since he broke up with her on Facebook (yes, Facebook). I can’t even tell you how many times I had to go through that scene. Winnie is hurt, and bitter, but she needs to work past it, so she can get the future she’s always wanted. The ex-boyfriend is hurt and regrets his decisions. It’s just a hodgepodge of feels. I went through quite a few servings of Talenti ice cream during that one.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I prefer revising. I find it easier to work with something once it’s already on paper. I find that I always put off drafting new content because staring at a blank page, or a blank screen is a little daunting.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Organization. I can pack a house and move in one weekend. I can plan a wedding in three days. I can do all sorts of things that require an insane number of miniscule tasks and deliver on a deadline. I don’t know why I’m good at it. My parents aren’t exactly the most organized humans on this planet (love you guys, but be real). I have to say, it come in handy sometimes.

Thank you so much for having me!

 

 

 

My So-Called Bollywood Life

By: Nisha Sharma

Publisher: Crown BYR

Release Date: May 15th, 2018

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will recieve a copy of My So-Called Bollywood Life (Nisha Sharma) ~ US Only

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Upcoming YA Summer Relea...
What's New In YA ~ May 15th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

John on Tuesday, 15 May 2018 21:27

The cover looks very contemporary! And this Bollywood-flavored story sounds fun!

0
The cover looks very contemporary! And this Bollywood-flavored story sounds fun!
Delaney on Tuesday, 22 May 2018 17:54

This cover is STUNNING and this book sounds awesome!

0
This cover is STUNNING and this book sounds awesome!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."