Author Chat with Maggie Ann Martin (To Be Honest), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-08-22-at-6.28.40-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Maggie Ann Martin, author of To Be Honest.  Read on for more about Maggie and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Maggie Ann Martin! 

 
 

Maggie Ann Martin, author of The Big F and To Be Honest, hails from Des Moines, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She earned her BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet. 

 
 
Meet To Be Honest!
 

The author of The Big F is back with another snappy, utterly relatable contemporary novel about loving yourself and forging your own path, perfect for fans of Julie Murphy and Rainbow Rowell.

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her big sister—and best friend—goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she'll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn't count on is that her mother's obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show, and now Savvy's mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom's diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

To Be Honest is another sharp, witty novel from Maggie Ann Martin, about a spunky heroine who is dealing with very real issues—body image, parental pressure, loneliness, first love, and finding your way—with heart and humor. 

 
A Chat with Maggie Ann Martin:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write To Be Honest?

The inspiration for TO BE HONEST came over many years in many different glimmers. The first glimmer came just after finishing the first season of the British TV drama My Mad Fat Diary. After watching it I went on the hunt for positive plus size representation in TV, movies, and books. When that list came up very short, I knew that I wanted to write a fat-positive character in YA. My second glimmer came when I left for college and was away from my sister for the first time in basically our whole lives. I drew a lot on our relationship and closeness when I wrote my main character, Savannah, and her older sister, Ashley. My third glimmer came in a creative writing class in college when we were doing a basic writing prompt exercise (I wish I could remember what the prompt was!) and a sarcastic, holds-no-punches gal named Savannah came onto the page. I actually ended up creating a whole book proposal for that class that very loosely resembles what became TO BE HONEST.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

Savannah is absolutely my favorite character (but her dog, a fluffy poodle monster named Fiyero, is a close second). Savannah holds so many parts of my heart and my own experiences are closely reflected in every struggle, internal battle, and reconciliation to self-acceptance that she goes through.

3. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I think I’m most proud of the scene where Savannah finally confronts her mom about how her diet monitoring is affecting her. I don’t want to give too much away, but this may or may not be the scene where most of the promotional pull-out quotes come from. : )

4. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

EVERYTHING. The way Savannah is displayed so proudly with each curve on full display brings me endless joy. She’s REAL, she’s fierce, and she’s front and center.

5. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

I’m really looking forward to Mammoth by Jill Baguchinsky. It features a plus-sized fashion blogger who is also into paleontology. Sign me the heck up.

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?

That’s such a tough one! I think it was definitely a tie between Caraval by Stephanie Garber and Now Is Everything by Amy Giles.

9. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing To Be Honest?

Most definitely Savannah’s mom. I believe she’s the hardest character to tackle, because at her core, she just wants to be loved and accepted like everyone else in the novel. But, she firmly believes that the only way to gain that love and respect is to lose weight. She grew up in a society that taught her that her self worth is tied to her physical appearance, and that is difficult to unlearn.

10. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

SO many. But, since TO BE HONEST delves into body positivity, below are some links to awesome body positivity organizations and resources.

The Body Positive: https://www.thebodypositive.org/
“Since 1996, The Body Positive has been re-connecting youth and adults to their innate body wisdom for 
more balanced, joyful self-care and a relationship with their whole selves that is guided by love, forgiveness, and humor.”

Virgie Tovar: https://www.virgietovar.com/
“Virgie Tovar is an author, activist and one of the nation's leading experts and lecturers on fat 
discrimination and body image.”

She’s All Fat Podcast: https://shesallfatpod.com/

“The podcast for body positivity, radical self love, and chill vibes only. Join Sophie and April as they talk about current events, popular culture, and the intersection between fatness and feminism.” 

 
 
 
 
 

The Be Honest

By: Maggie Ann Martin

Release Date: August 21, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a final copy of To Be Honest  (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Featured Review: Something of Substance by Tia Sou...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ August 22nd, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Karen S. on Wednesday, 19 September 2018 21:06

This book sounds so refreshing, especially for a YA!

0
This book sounds so refreshing, especially for a YA!
Penny Olson on Thursday, 20 September 2018 20:23

I like the model on the cover. The story sounds real and relevant.

0
I like the model on the cover. The story sounds real and relevant.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Merbaby's Lullaby
 
5.0
"MERBABY’S LULLABY is an elegant and sweet poem, perfect for a bedtime book. As waves rock, whales sing, and starfish..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."