Author Chat with Kathy Parks (Notes From My Captivity), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-07-18-at-6.29.08-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Kathy Parks, author of Notes From My Captivity.  Read on for more about Kathy and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Kathy Parks! 

 

As a baby, Kathy Parks was thrown out with the bathwater. This experience shaped her life and art. She is the author of five novels and also works as an advertising copywriter. She lives with her husband Michael in Boulder, Colorado.

 

 
Meet Notes From My Captivity !
 

"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band

Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather’s belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there’s no question that she’s going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne’s being held captive by the family she was convinced didn’t exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

 
A Chat with Kathy Parks:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I stumbled upon the real life story of the Lykov family, who fled from their home in Russia in 1936 to escape religious oppression, and lived a life of total isolation for the next 42 years.  There was nothing ominous about this family and of course they never kidnapped anyone, but it got me to thinking…what if?

 

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?                                       It’s hard to say, but I really do love Clara, the kind and mystical youngest member of the Osinov family.

 

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?                                           The novel came first.  Then my editor, Claudia, came up with the wonderful title.

 

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?                   I have a few — but I love the scene where Adrienne and her stepfather wake up and everyone else is dead.  just so eerie and suddenly the whole tone of the narrative shifts.

 

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?                              I’ve learned that writing is a secondary form of living.  Don’t forget to live. 

 

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book? 

I really love the crossed-out trees.  Big fan of the cover!

 

7. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?  Wow that’s a great question.  Some of my most anticipated books have already come out!

 

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?                                      Technically I discovered this book in 2018—but A New Earth by Eckhardt Tolle.

 

9. What’s up next for you?                                                                     I’m writing a book on writing.

 

10. Is there anything that you would like to add?                                Just that I would encourage everyone to read the true story of the Lykovs — it’s riveting!

 

11. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?        The action scenes were difficult. Challenging to communicate the adrenaline and fear.

 

12. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?  I think it was difficult to capture the personality and inner world of Adrienne herself.

 

13. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or                   Revising?  Revising is easier, that’s for sure!  But I do love discovering new ground in the first draft.

 

14. What would you say is your superpower?                                     God, always.

 

15. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?  Anything to do with saving animals or helping the elderly.  One example: Best Friends in Utah.

 
 
 
 
 

Notes From My Captivity

By: Kathy Parks

Release Date: July 10, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Notes From My Captivity (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Joel of @fictionalfat...
Featured Review: Strange New World (Rachael Vincen...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Dianna G. on Friday, 20 July 2018 20:57

The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.

0
The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.
Janell Goode on Monday, 23 July 2018 10:49

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:35

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 05:07

The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.

0
The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.
Emily on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 10:48

I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good

0
I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good
Kelly G on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 13:23

I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.

0
I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 09 August 2018 19:14

I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.

0
I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:14

I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.

0
I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.
linda wong on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 12:29

Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.

0
Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.
wendy rinebold on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 19:44

I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

0
I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Days of the Dead
Glorieta Magdalena Davis Espinosa is happy that Papi married Alice....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Amelia Bedelia Digs In (Amelia Bedelia Chapter Books #12)
In the twelfth chapter book in the New York Times–bestselling...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
King & Kayla and the Case of the Lost Tooth (King & Kayla #4)
Kayla places her tooth in a Tooth Fairy pillow, but...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Bird Blue
A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starfish
A William C. Morris Award Finalist A New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth Lies Here
In small town Michigan, Penny, an aspiring journalist, teams...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Looking Glass
GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That’s what Sylvie Blake’s older sister...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Something of Substance
Seventeen-year-old Grace Michaels is determined to be thin, even...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death by the River
SOME TRUTHS ARE BETTER KEPT SECRET. SOME SECRETS...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
On the planet Elystra, the all-female Ixtrayu tribe have...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Scream All Night
A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Touch of Gold
King Midas once had the ability to turn all...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the Sky
From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fray
She's been trained for battle but is she ready for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emergence (Kindred Ties: Book Two)
The fight for order has only just begun… Fletcher, Ariana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Days of the Dead
 
5.0
"Glorieta Magdelena Davis Espinosa is proud of her family. When her father remarries after her mother's death, he puts away..."
Amelia Bedelia Digs In (Amelia Bedelia Chapter Books #12)
 
3.0
"Geared towards 7-8-year-olds, a bit of this content will go over their heads, told in a voice that seems older..."
King & Kayla and the Case of the Lost Tooth (King & Kayla #4)
 
4.5
"A rather quick read with a quick solve, King and Kayla told from the perspective of the dog, King, will..."
The Truth Lies Here
 
4.0
"THE TRUTH LIES HERE by Lindsey Klingele is a young adult, sci-fi novel set in Bone Lake, Michigan. This little..."
Scream All Night
 
5.0
"I am NOT a Horror fan. I am a big scaredy cat when it comes to the genre, be it..."
Meet the Sky
 
4.3
"Meet the Sky is an ably-written, well-paced contemporary YA—one which is perhaps best described as a pleasantly stormy beach read...."
A Touch of Gold
 
4.0
"When I read the synopsis for this book I was immediately intrigued. I love retellings and this book seemed right..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.0
""Pretty Dead Girls" was an interesting YA thriller following Penelope (Pen/Penny) in the aftermath of a death of a frenemy,..."
Relic
 
4.0
" “Relic” is a historical paranormal novel about Maggie, a teenaged girl who lives with her brother, sister and parents..."
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
 
5.0
"A DOG IN KING ARTHUR'S COURT is told from the point of view of a dog named Cavall. While out..."
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
 
4.0
"Felicia never thought her life could be turned upside down by taking a trip to the mall. But when she's..."
All Summer Long
 
4.0
" Austin and Bina have been inseparable friends since they were in diapers. The summer going into the eighth..."
They Say Blue
 
4.0
"Breathtaking is the only way to describe this book. Intricately detailed, beautifully colored artwork takes the reader through a journey..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"The story: A childhood tragedy forces Sable to flee her home, change her identity, and eke out a meager..."
The Darkest Legacy
 
4.3
"Five years have passed since the 'rehabilitation' camps have been shut down. Suzume 'Zu' is now seventeen years old and..."
The Turnaway Girls
 
3.7
"Delphernia lives in a cloister of turnaway girls on the island of Blightsend, and she's unable to do the one..."
The Looking Glass
 
4.0
"THE LOOKING GLASS by Janet McNally is a young adult novel set in the highly competitive world of aspiring New..."
Twilight of the Elves (The Adventurers Guild #2)
 
5.0
"TWILIGHT OF THE ELVES is the second installment in the Adventurers Guild. With Freestone overpopulated with the elves, tensions are..."
Brightly Burning
 
3.3
"An ambitious work of YA speculative fiction—a post-apocalyptic premise fused with the plot of a beloved classic. I’d like..."
Give Me Some Truth
 
4.3
"Carson Mastick and Magpie "Maggi" Bokoni are two Native American high school students living on a reservation outside of Niagara..."