Author Chat with Kathy Parks (Notes From My Captivity), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-07-18-at-6.29.08-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Kathy Parks, author of Notes From My Captivity.  Read on for more about Kathy and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Kathy Parks! 

 

As a baby, Kathy Parks was thrown out with the bathwater. This experience shaped her life and art. She is the author of five novels and also works as an advertising copywriter. She lives with her husband Michael in Boulder, Colorado.

 

 
Meet Notes From My Captivity !
 

"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band

Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather’s belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there’s no question that she’s going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne’s being held captive by the family she was convinced didn’t exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

 
A Chat with Kathy Parks:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I stumbled upon the real life story of the Lykov family, who fled from their home in Russia in 1936 to escape religious oppression, and lived a life of total isolation for the next 42 years.  There was nothing ominous about this family and of course they never kidnapped anyone, but it got me to thinking…what if?

 

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?                                       It’s hard to say, but I really do love Clara, the kind and mystical youngest member of the Osinov family.

 

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?                                           The novel came first.  Then my editor, Claudia, came up with the wonderful title.

 

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?                   I have a few — but I love the scene where Adrienne and her stepfather wake up and everyone else is dead.  just so eerie and suddenly the whole tone of the narrative shifts.

 

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?                              I’ve learned that writing is a secondary form of living.  Don’t forget to live. 

 

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book? 

I really love the crossed-out trees.  Big fan of the cover!

 

7. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?  Wow that’s a great question.  Some of my most anticipated books have already come out!

 

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?                                      Technically I discovered this book in 2018—but A New Earth by Eckhardt Tolle.

 

9. What’s up next for you?                                                                     I’m writing a book on writing.

 

10. Is there anything that you would like to add?                                Just that I would encourage everyone to read the true story of the Lykovs — it’s riveting!

 

11. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?        The action scenes were difficult. Challenging to communicate the adrenaline and fear.

 

12. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?  I think it was difficult to capture the personality and inner world of Adrienne herself.

 

13. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or                   Revising?  Revising is easier, that’s for sure!  But I do love discovering new ground in the first draft.

 

14. What would you say is your superpower?                                     God, always.

 

15. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?  Anything to do with saving animals or helping the elderly.  One example: Best Friends in Utah.

 
 
 
 
 

Notes From My Captivity

By: Kathy Parks

Release Date: July 10, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Notes From My Captivity (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Joel of @fictionalfat...
Featured Review: Strange New World (Rachael Vincen...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Dianna G. on Friday, 20 July 2018 20:57

The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.

0
The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.
Janell Goode on Monday, 23 July 2018 10:49

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:35

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 05:07

The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.

0
The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.
Emily on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 10:48

I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good

0
I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good
Kelly G on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 13:23

I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.

0
I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 09 August 2018 19:14

I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.

0
I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:14

I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.

0
I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.
linda wong on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 12:29

Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.

0
Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.
wendy rinebold on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 19:44

I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

0
I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wicked Nix
A visually stunning, middle-grade classic in the making about Wicked...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey of the Pale Bear
A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Grenade
It's 1945, and the world is in the grip of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Next stop...The Magic School Bus heads to the Galapagos to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Wanda proudly hosts this year's school harvest feast, but she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tula is a chimera in a world where chimera are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Homework Strike
Gregory K. has too much homework. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Knock Knock
Knock Knock is a fresh and innovative method of humorous...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Thisstoryisalie.jpg
A YA thriller described as The Curious Incident of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Are The Everything
Can you want something—or someone—so badly that it changes your...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seeing Red (Whatever After #12)
I really want the magic mirror in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl At The Grave
In Girl at the Grave, debut author Teri Bailey Black...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Golden Boy
Meg has it made. She has money to spare,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie
A missing girl on a journey of revenge and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Wicked Nix
 
5.0
"Wicked Nix is the foulest of the fairies. He's also the protector of the forest and will keep people out..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"JOURNEY OF THE PALE BEAR is an inspiring and heartwarming story about a bear and a boy who develop a..."
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
 
4.7
"Wyatt has a decent life, but when his dad takes off, it dissolves into chaos. His mother doesn't function well,..."
Bittersweet Wreckage
 
4.3
"A intense story of finding hope in the worst circumstances. The Story: Ivy's life has been anything but easy...."
 
4.0
"A cute YA romance! The story: Callie has only had one goal in life - get a college scholarship..."
Grenade
 
4.7
"Hideki is a 13-year-old Okinawan and Ray is a United States Marine. Both are play important roles in the "Love..."
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"When Ms. Frizzle gets a job as a professor, her sister takes over her class as the new teacher. Arnold..."
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"Wanda is putting together the Fall Fun Feast, but she forgot about the food! When she starts looking into ideas,..."
Soccer School Season 1: Where Soccer Explains (Rules) the World
 
4.3
" "Coaches" Alex and Ben introduce the reader to their school that is all about soccer. Every class, from biology..."
After the Green Withered
 
3.5
"The story: Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and..."
The Homework Strike
 
4.0
"'The Homework Strike' by Greg Pincus is a relevant and worthwhile story about the power of standing up and fighting..."
Knock Knock
 
4.5
"'Knock Knock' by Tammi Sauer, illustrated by Guy Francis, is a cute picture book about a bear getting prepared for..."
The Glass Arrow
 
4.7
"Original Review: http://www.literarychaos.com/ I was really cautious going into this book. I knew from the synopsis that it had..."
The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1)
 
N/A
"original review at: http://www.literarychaos.com/ In the spirit of honesty, I would never have picked this book up for myself...."
The Wood
 
3.7
"I bought this by impulse. Seeing as this book was primarily a cover-buy, I did not have many expectations..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"Elyse Schmidt has the biggest crush on Josh Harris, but he has no idea. When tragedy strikes on their plane..."
Apex Predator (Horizon, Book 4)
 
4.0
" Both the members of the robotics team whose plane went down and the members of the Cub-Tones from the..."
Seeing Red (Whatever After #12)
 
4.0
"Abby is excited that her nana is coming to stay with her and Jonah while her parents are away, but..."
The Phantom Bandit (Geronimo Stilton #70)
 
4.0
"As fall approaches, Geronimo is busy working in his newspaper office when he starts to see strange things-- his co..."
Girl At The Grave
 
4.0
"Valentine was only six years old when her murder was hung for murder. After the death, she's basically taken care..."