Author Chat with Kathy Parks (Notes From My Captivity), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-07-18-at-6.29.08-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Kathy Parks, author of Notes From My Captivity.  Read on for more about Kathy and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Kathy Parks! 

 

As a baby, Kathy Parks was thrown out with the bathwater. This experience shaped her life and art. She is the author of five novels and also works as an advertising copywriter. She lives with her husband Michael in Boulder, Colorado.

 

 
Meet Notes From My Captivity !
 

"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band

Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather’s belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there’s no question that she’s going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne’s being held captive by the family she was convinced didn’t exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

 
A Chat with Kathy Parks:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I stumbled upon the real life story of the Lykov family, who fled from their home in Russia in 1936 to escape religious oppression, and lived a life of total isolation for the next 42 years.  There was nothing ominous about this family and of course they never kidnapped anyone, but it got me to thinking…what if?

 

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?                                       It’s hard to say, but I really do love Clara, the kind and mystical youngest member of the Osinov family.

 

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?                                           The novel came first.  Then my editor, Claudia, came up with the wonderful title.

 

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?                   I have a few — but I love the scene where Adrienne and her stepfather wake up and everyone else is dead.  just so eerie and suddenly the whole tone of the narrative shifts.

 

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?                              I’ve learned that writing is a secondary form of living.  Don’t forget to live. 

 

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book? 

I really love the crossed-out trees.  Big fan of the cover!

 

7. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?  Wow that’s a great question.  Some of my most anticipated books have already come out!

 

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?                                      Technically I discovered this book in 2018—but A New Earth by Eckhardt Tolle.

 

9. What’s up next for you?                                                                     I’m writing a book on writing.

 

10. Is there anything that you would like to add?                                Just that I would encourage everyone to read the true story of the Lykovs — it’s riveting!

 

11. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?        The action scenes were difficult. Challenging to communicate the adrenaline and fear.

 

12. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?  I think it was difficult to capture the personality and inner world of Adrienne herself.

 

13. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or                   Revising?  Revising is easier, that’s for sure!  But I do love discovering new ground in the first draft.

 

14. What would you say is your superpower?                                     God, always.

 

15. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?  Anything to do with saving animals or helping the elderly.  One example: Best Friends in Utah.

 
 
 
 
 

Notes From My Captivity

By: Kathy Parks

Release Date: July 10, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Notes From My Captivity (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Joel of @fictionalfat...
Featured Review: Strange New World (Rachael Vincen...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Dianna G. on Friday, 20 July 2018 20:57

The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.

0
The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.
Janell Goode on Monday, 23 July 2018 10:49

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:35

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 05:07

The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.

0
The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.
Emily on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 10:48

I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good

0
I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good
Kelly G on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 13:23

I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.

0
I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 09 August 2018 19:14

I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.

0
I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:14

I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.

0
I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.
linda wong on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 12:29

Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.

0
Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.
wendy rinebold on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 19:44

I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

0
I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mend A Story of Divorce
Sophia, the fourteen-year-old author and protagonist, tells the heart-wrenching story...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
Click is the heroic story of a young girl who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay Sweet
Summer in Sand Lake isn’t complete without a trip to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
The last place on earth Taylor Sorenson wants to be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courageous
Aiden is the son of a fisherman on the south...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler
Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
New Kid
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Watch Hollow
Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Days
Based on the hit graphic-novel series from BOOM! Studios, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unteachables
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tales from the Inner City
Tales from the Inner City is a collection of incredibly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer Army
After Rogan Webber levels up yet again on his favorite...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eventown
The world tilted for Elodee this year, and now it’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Lives of Princesses
 
4.0
"'The Secret Lives of Princesses' by Seven Steps is yet another enjoyable addition to the St. Mary's Academy series of..."
Underwater
 
5.0
"Bailey has recently lost her parents to a violent crime. She and her younger sister Tilly are desperately trying..."
Mend A Story of Divorce
 
3.0
"What worked: Explores one teen's experience of dealing with the divorce of her parents. For those going through a similar..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
On Delicate Wings
 
4.8
"‘On Delicate Wings’ is the story of Mia, who struggles with her reputation as a nerd at school. When beautiful..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."
Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
 
3.0
"This is a graphic novel adaptation of a real teen's experience of being bullied online. What worked: This is..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"Kaitlyn is living the perfect country life with her family in Northern California. She is a great student, swimmer, and..."
Hearts Unbroken
 
N/A
"There are a lot of entry-points to the storylines in Cynthia Leitich Smith's Hearts Unbroken. I recommend this book especially..."
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
 
4.5
"Ray must figure out the meaning of life in order to be the beneficiary of his late grandmother’s will. At..."
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
 
5.0
"Taylor Sorenson is a typical rebellious teen of 1968, sneaking out of his posh apartment to hang out with friends..."
Right as Rain
 
3.0
"Rain's family has experienced a tragedy-- her older brother was killed in a car accident. The mother thinks that the..."
Eventown
 
3.0
"Elodee's family is struggling for reasons that aren't clear, and she and her twin sister Naomi are not getting along...."
With Malice
 
5.0
"I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that..."