Author Chat with Justin Reynolds (Opposite Of Always), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

35380157

 Today we're excited to chat with Justin Reynolds author of Opposite Of Always.

 Read on for more about Justin, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Justin Reyolds!

Justin A. Reynolds has been a pest control operator, night security guard, steel mill janitor, NASA intern, salesman of high-end faucet fixtures, and carpet-flooring installer. He was most recently a registered nurse, before trading his stethoscope for a pencil, but he likes to think both instruments reveal the heart. He lives in northeast Ohio, home to snow, Lake Erie, and the Cavaliers. You can visit Justin at justinareynolds.com [justinareynolds.com].

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet Opposite Of Always!

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling—hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind.

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

     

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This story stemmed from great personal loss. Two people who still mean the world to me passed away rather unexpectedly, and this story began as a series of questions that I desperately wanted/needed answers to: if I could see my dead loved ones again, who or what would I be willing to risk? If I could see them again (and that time was limited), what would I say, what would I ask them? Would it be fair to them—wanting them back here—when they’d have to die all over again?

      

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?   

        Good question! Honestly, to answer it, I feel sorta terrible, but okay. I think I’m going to go with Franny, because here’s a person with so much heartache in his life, and yet he is also possibly the most hopeful.

      

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

        The novel came first! I usually have a working title that doesn’t actually stick. The actual title, for me, comes later!

      

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?      

Trust that your voice is enough. You don’t have to write like the people that you admire; your voice has its own power.

      

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

        I like that it tells the story of the book rather succinctly, and that depending on if you look at it from the top down, or vice versa, the narrative changes completely.

      

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

        Lots of new releases to look forward to in 2019! I’ll go with one that I’ve been in love with ever since I first heard about it: Let Me Hear a Rhyme by Tiffany D. Jackson! Look out for it for sure!

     

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

        I’m working on a few things, including a book that once more grapples with death, and how it affects the way we all choose to live—naturally, haha.

   

 

YABC:    Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Is this a trick question?! Whichever part I’m not currently doing! :D

 

 

     YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

        My super power is convincing myself that I work better when I’ve waited until the last possible moment to start working, haha. It’s a pretty cool power!

 

 

 

The Opposite Of Always

By: Justin Reynolds

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: March 5th, 2019

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Three winners will each receive a copy of Opposite Of Always (Justin Reynolds) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: White Stag (Kara Barbieri)
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway:...

Related Posts

 

Comments 13

Already Registered? Login Here
Kylie on Thursday, 07 March 2019 17:38

Sarah Henning recommended this book on Instagram and then I saw that it has a special release at Target! Very excited to read!!!

0
Sarah Henning recommended this book on Instagram and then I saw that it has a special release at Target! Very excited to read!!!
Dianna G. on Thursday, 07 March 2019 20:32

I love the cover. It's lighthearted and makes me think of friendship. I wish the summary didn't have so much info, though!

0
I love the cover. It's lighthearted and makes me think of friendship. I wish the summary didn't have so much info, though!
Colleen Burns on Thursday, 14 March 2019 11:05

I really like the cover and the book sounds interesting.

0
I really like the cover and the book sounds interesting.
Madeline Tebo on Thursday, 14 March 2019 19:40

I can't wait to read this!

0
I can't wait to read this!
Nikita Costa on Friday, 15 March 2019 18:13

Thank you author for the diversity representation! I adore the cover and the synopsis already got me hooked. Can't wait to read this!

0
Thank you author for the diversity representation! I adore the cover and the synopsis already got me hooked. Can't wait to read this!
Tiffany Engler on Saturday, 16 March 2019 08:13

Love this cover! Can't wait to read it!

0
Love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Emily on Wednesday, 20 March 2019 14:32

This story sounds heart wrenching and beautiful!

0
This story sounds heart wrenching and beautiful!
Lily M. on Thursday, 21 March 2019 00:59

Wow, this book its going to be sad I can tell, but I'm looking forward to it ?

0
Wow, this book its going to be sad I can tell, but I'm looking forward to it ?
Delaney on Monday, 25 March 2019 11:58

This book sounds fantastic and this cover is perfect.

0
This book sounds fantastic and this cover is perfect.
Penny Olson on Thursday, 28 March 2019 23:32

The cover really fits the story. I like books about the consequences of time travel. This book sounds really emotional.

0
The cover really fits the story. I like books about the consequences of time travel. This book sounds really emotional.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I Got Next
It’s game day! In this action-packed picture book from Daria...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Friend for Bently
Like all pigs, Bently loves to play in the mud,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Great Pumpkin Contest
Mimi and Clara are neighbors. Both cats want to win...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Save Your Friends!
This laugh-out-loud adventure encourages family sharing and is a perfect...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dibs!
Teaching your little brother his first word —dibs —is funny....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where Are You From?
This resonant picture book tells the story of one girl...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Out of Place
When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Salvation Day
A lethal virus is awoken on an abandoned spaceship in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
Girls mean business in a brand-new middle grade series about...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Possibility of Whales
Twelve-year-old Natalia Rose Baleine Gallagher has to move, again. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
Get ready for a Peppa Pig story that's out of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Stars We Steal
Engagement season is in the air. Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie “Leo”...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
Pete the Cat’s cool adaptation of the classic children’s song...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Superlative Birds
Explore the fascinating world of superlative birds―from the bee hummingbird,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In Another Life
Chloe was three years old when she became Chloe Holden,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even Monsters Go To School
What’s a school day like for you? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
A Place for Turtles
 
5.0
"Books like this need to be written and read. Turtles are beautiful animals, but they have a hard time..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Superlative Birds
 
4.7
"SUPERLATIVE BIRDS is an interesting read. Each spread features an illustrated bird with a superlative, such as “smelliest” or “longest..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Origami Bible Stories For Kids
 
5.0
"They really thought of everything. This origami kit is more than just folding paper, every part of it..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."