Author Chat with Joanne O'Sullivan, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Joanne O'Sullivan, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Joanne O'Sullivan, author of Between Two Skies. Read on for more about Joanne and her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I went to college in New Orleans, so I was concerned about what happened to the region when Katrina hit. I started reading narratives of the people who’d evacuated and who couldn’t go back, especially kids and teenagers. The storm hit just as the school year was about to start. I started to imagine dealing with that loss. While the disruption in Evangeline’s life was caused by a hurricane, I think what she experiences are feelings that could come from all kinds of loss, making her experience more universal.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

Evangeline, my main character, because she is independent, strong, funny and loyal. But her beloved grandmother Mamere, is a standout, too. One of my grandmothers died before I was born and the other I only met once, so she’s kind of the grandmother I never had.

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel came first. But in thinking about the connection between Longfellow’s Evangeline and the one in my book, I thought there must be something in the original text of “Evangeline,” that would be a perfect title. There’s a scene in which Evangeline is in her boat at sunset and looks out at the sky above her, then sees it reflected in the water below her. She is described as being “between two skies.” That fits my Evangeline in so many ways: she’s between two places and between two possible futures that she must choose between.

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Probably the penultimate scene because it achieves that mix of sorrow and joy that tugs at the heart and that’s what I was going for!

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I think I understand the internal structure of a novel a lot better-where the highs and lows need to be. Achieving that is a different story: plotting will always be my struggle!

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the colors and that it has a vintage feel!

7. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

Probably the first kiss. I so wanted to get the power of that right!

8. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The environment (climate change in particular) and refugees/immigration are two issues that are very important to me, so I guess it’s not a surprise they both play a role in Between Two Skies. I worked with immigrants and refugees for many years and my husband is an environmental activist so these issues will always be important to us. While Bayou Perdu is a fictional town, the area of Louisiana where the book is set is losing a football-field sized area of wetlands every day. The way of life there is in real danger of being lost. 

 

Meet Joanne O'Sullivan!

Joanne O’Sullivan is a journalist for the Asheville Citizen-Times. She lived in New Orleans for several years and returns to southern Louisiana frequently. Between Two Skies is her debut novel. She lives in Asheville, North Carolina, with her husband and children.
 
 

    

Meet Between Two Skies!
 

Hurricane Katrina sets a teenage girl adrift. But a new life — and the promise of love — emerges in this rich, highly readable debut.

Bayou Perdu, a tiny fishing town way, way down in Louisiana, is home to sixteen-year-old Evangeline Riley. She has her best friends, Kendra and Danielle; her wise, beloved Mamere; and back-to-back titles in the under-sixteen fishing rodeo. But, dearest to her heart, she has the peace that only comes when she takes her skiff out to where there is nothing but sky and air and water and wings. It’s a small life, but it is Evangeline’s. And then the storm comes, and everything changes. Amid the chaos and pain and destruction comes Tru — a fellow refugee, a budding bluesman, a balm for Evangeline’s aching heart. Told in a strong, steady voice, with a keen sense of place and a vivid cast of characters, here is a novel that asks compelling questions about class and politics, exile and belonging, and the pain of being cast out of your home. But above all, this remarkable debut tells a gently woven love story, difficult to put down, impossible to forget.

 
 
  

Between Two Skies

By: Joanne O'Sullivan

Release Date: April 25, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a signed hardcover copy of Between Two Skies. US only. 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaw...
What's Hot in KU

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

John on Thursday, 20 April 2017 21:19

The cover has a colorful, retro look! The story sounds timeless!

0
The cover has a colorful, retro look! The story sounds timeless!
Candice Gigous on Monday, 01 May 2017 09:11

The cover is neat, very colorful. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a great read.

0
The cover is neat, very colorful. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a great read.
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 22:01

Sounds good!Pretty cover!

0
Sounds good!Pretty cover!
Dan Denman on Wednesday, 17 May 2017 11:25

I like the colorful book cover. I think this sounds like a good emotional story.

0
I like the colorful book cover. I think this sounds like a good emotional story.
Nancy Hernandez on Thursday, 18 May 2017 19:41

The cover is y colorful and vibrant I love it.

0
The cover is y colorful and vibrant I love it.
Penny Olson on Friday, 19 May 2017 00:22

The cover is beautiful and the story sounds beautiful too.

0
The cover is beautiful and the story sounds beautiful too.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."