Author Chat with Jesse Andrews (MunMun), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-03-29-at-10.27.34-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Jesse Andrews, author of MunMun. Read on for more about Jesse and his book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Jesse Andrews!

  

Jesse Andrews is the New York Times bestselling author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and the screenwriter of that book’s Sundance Grand Jury Prize–winning movie adaptation. He’s also the author of The Haters, which Booklist called “effortlessly readable, deeply enjoyable,” in a starred review. He lives in Oakland. 

 
 
 
Meet Jesse Andrews!
 
 
  • In an alternate reality a lot like our world, every person’s physical size is directly proportional to their wealth. The poorest of the poor are the size of rats, and billionaires are the size of skyscrapers.

  • Warner and his sister Prayer are destitute—and tiny. Their size is not just demeaning, but dangerous: day and night they face mortal dangers that bigger richer people don’t ever have to think about, from being mauled by cats to their house getting stepped on. There are no cars or phones built small enough for them, or schools or hospitals, for that matter—there’s no point, when no one that little has any purchasing power, and when salaried doctors and teachers would never fit in buildings so small. Warner and Prayer know their only hope is to scale up, but how can two littlepoors survive in a world built against them?

A brilliant, warm, funny trip, unlike anything else out there, and a social novel for our time in the tradition of 1984 or Invisible Man. Inequality is made intensely visceral by an adventure and tragedy both hilarious and heartbreaking. 

 

A Chat with Jesse Andrews:

 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I think the seed was planted in the spring of my senior year of college, when I watched in amazement and horror as huge numbers of my classmates were hoovered up by the finance industry—some had been lizard-eyed mercenaries since day one of freshman year, but plenty were bright thoughtful kids who could have contributed to the world in any number of ways, and yet they ended up committing their talents and imaginations to enriching the already rich (and, of course, themselves). For me it was a window onto one of the most powerful structures enforcing our country’s gonzo, nightmarish inequality: the way the free market allows the owners of capital (financial, intellectual, and otherwise) to suck ever more capital unto themselves, like dying stars, or black holes. I had the desire to write about it ever since. But not the means, until that image cohered abruptly one night in my mind a couple of years ago—a rich person literally as an enormous physical body moving through space, and poor people as tiny bodies that could be trampled underfoot.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

The answer should probably be Warner, the protagonist and narrator, but we’re too close for him to be my favorite. Instead it’s his sister Prayer, who sort of secretly is the funniest and toughest and most interesting character in the book.

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?

I was maybe thirty pages into the novel when I realized the title was “Munmun.” I got a lot of pushback, especially from the book’s marketers—and justifiably so, because this title is a nonsense word that doesn’t mean anything to anyone. But there just wasn’t another title.

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

It feels kind of gross to be especially proud of a scene in your own book. It feels basically the same as announcing you like to smell your own farts.

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Revising is the most important part, and the fastest and best way to get good at revising is to get as far outside yourself as you can. Find people you trust, and listen to what they tell you about your work. Listen so well that you begin to become those people. Figure out how to read your own work with their eyes. Realize that you will never actually be able to do this. So try to get better at it every day.

6. What’s up next for you?

The usual mix of books and movies. I recently wrote a script about the final years of the concert pianist Vladimir Horowitz that my friend David Gelb (JIRO DREAMS OF SUSHI) is putting together to direct, and I am really excited to see it come together. I’m not sure what my next book is going to be. I am currently trying to choose from about five different ideas.

10. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising for sure. Not just because that’s where the most important work happens. Also because the first draft is always bad and writing it feels like confirmation of your long-held suspicion that you are a fraud, millimeters from being exposed. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

MunMun

By: Jesse Andrews

Release Date: April 3, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
Three winners will receive a copy of MunMun (US & Canada only).
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Spotlight on The Fall of Grace by Amy Fellner Domi...
Giveaway: THE SLITHERY SHAKEDOWN (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

John on Thursday, 29 March 2018 23:02

I've been wondering about this one, and the cover looks well-designed, and the plot sounds intriguing!

0
I've been wondering about this one, and the cover looks well-designed, and the plot sounds intriguing!
Marisa Fort on Saturday, 31 March 2018 20:33

Wow! The cover is awesome, it makes you look a little harder then the synopsis is amazing and shows why you should look more carefully!

0
Wow! The cover is awesome, it makes you look a little harder then the synopsis is amazing and shows why you should look more carefully!
Kristi Housman on Friday, 06 April 2018 15:47

I like how the words really stand out so much on the cover (the title).

0
I like how the words really stand out so much on the cover (the title).
Kara S on Sunday, 08 April 2018 02:49

I like neither and the premise isn't particularly compelling, but I enjoyed The Haters and have heard nothing but strong praise for Mr. Andrews's work. So count me in to read this one by the end of the year! Thanks.

0
I like neither and the premise isn't particularly compelling, but I enjoyed [i]The Haters[/i] and have heard nothing but strong praise for Mr. Andrews's work. So count me in to read this one by the end of the year! Thanks.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 26 April 2018 14:12

The cover is okay. The premise, however, sounds unique and therefore exciting to read.

0
The cover is okay. The premise, however, sounds unique and therefore exciting to read.
Dan Denman on Saturday, 28 April 2018 13:51

I like the design of the book cover. This sounds like a unique tale of inequality.

0
I like the design of the book cover. This sounds like a unique tale of inequality.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 29 April 2018 23:59

The cover is really cool. The concept of the book is interesting and original.

0
The cover is really cool. The concept of the book is interesting and original.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."