Author Chat with Jan Eldredge (Evangeline Of The Bayou)!

35230450

Today we're excited to chat with Jan Eldredge, author of Evangeline Of The Bayou. 

Read on for more about Jan and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Jan Eldredge!

Jan was born and raised in the swampy state of Louisiana where as a child she would often sneak into her older brother’s room to read through his numerous monster magazines and scary comic books, and where she would also gaze at his collection of classic movie monster models like the Wolfman, Frankenstein’s Monster, and the Creature from the Black Lagoon.


In addition to her interest in cats, magic, and assorted eldritch things that go bump in the night, she enjoys researching bizarre superstitions, exploring old cemeteries, and visiting assorted theme parks. Halloween is her favorite holiday, but that probably goes without saying.


Jan now lives in the swampy state of Florida with her wonderful husband, three pleasant children, and four devious cats, in a house that just might be haunted.

Jan Eldredge writes spooky middle grade stories. Sometimes people mistakenly address her as Jan Eldritch, which is quite fine with her since eldritch is her favorite word. (Eldritch- adjective eerie; ghostly; supernatural; unearthly.)


EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU, published by HarperCollins Balzer + Bray, is her debut middle grade novel.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

Meet Evangeline Of The Bayou!

A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be. 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YA Book Central

EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU

By: Jan Eldredge

~ Author Interview Questions ~

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago I was browsing around in a small bookstore, and one of the items that caught my eye was a dictionary of superstitions. I started thumbing through it and was instantly spellbound. I’d always had a fascination with spooky creatures, so the pairing of superstitions and monsters felt like a perfect fit. Having been born and raised in Louisiana, my home state provided the ideal setting for the story of a spunky monster-hunting heroine like Evangeline.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Aside from the main character, Evangeline, I have to say I really adore Fader, Gran’s four-eared feline familiar. He has sass and attitude, and he gives Evangeline a hard time, but inside, he has a heart of gold.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

It was definitely the novel that came first. My original title for the book was SWAMP WITCH. I knew it would likely get changed, and I was okay with that. After a lot of back-and-forth brainstorming between my editor and me, it was actually the book’s illustrator, Joseph Kuefler, who suggested EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Learn to embrace the revision process! I used to feel a lot of resistance when it came to deleting or rewritng large chunks of my stories. It wasn’t because I thought my words were perfect; it was because I’d worked so long and so hard to get them out of my head and onto the page. But after doing my first major manuscript revision early in the agent-querying process, a revision where I ripped out the guts, moved things around, and then stitched it back up again, I learned to let go and accept that losing work was part of the process. However, I never throw away any deleted scenes. I store them in another folder just in case I can use them somewhere else.

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! Illustrator Joseph Kuefler did an outstanding job. I love his choice of colors. I love the subtle spookiness and the atmospheric feel of the swamp. And I love Evangeline, right down to the silver tips of her alligator-skin boots.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I’m diligently at work writing the sequel to EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU. It’s so much fun bringing back some of the characters from book one and adding fun, new, quirky characters to Evangeline’s world in book two.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Many years ago when I started taking writing seriously, I thought drafting was the best part. It was fun to brainstorm and create new ideas. Now that I’ve written a few novels and short stories, I find revising to be more rewarding. My drafting process is an unorganized, sloppy mess, with words and ideas scribbled all over the place, but it’s during revision that I can see the story really starting to take shape.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I wish I possessed superhuman strength or the ability to fly, but realistically I’d have to say I’m pretty good at reading people. As an introvert, I’ve always done a lot more listening and observing rather than speaking. I find human behavior fascinating.

 

Evangeline Of The Bayou

By: Jan Eldredge

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: May 1st, 2018

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Brightly Burning (Alexa Donne)
What's New In YA ~ May 1st, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond a Darkened Shore
The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war. Ciara,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
People several generations ago talk about what they were doing...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Storm Runner
Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mother Tongue
On the day she brings her sweet little sister,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being scarred by an unimaginable lie, Erik commits...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
"I'm here to take you to live with your...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
safe_image.jpeg
Twins raised far from the darkness are the key...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Mermaids
A HOT EX-BOYFRIEND, A DETERMINED SWIM STAR, AND A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kiss Collector
Seventeen-year-old Zae Monroe is over relationships. Between getting cheated...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Disasters
Hotshot pilot Nax Hall has a history of making...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."
364 Days a Year
 
4.0
"The story: Effy Garcia commits suicide on her seventeenth birthday. Her body is then possessed by a wandering spirit..."
Mother Tongue
 
5.0
"As MOTHER TONGUE by Julie Mayhew begins, eighteen-year-old Darya envisions the bits of freedom she'll enjoy once her little sister,..."
Watch Hollow
 
5.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker's father repairs clocks for a living, but the business isn't doing well. After the death of..."
The Secret Lives of Princesses
 
4.0
"'The Secret Lives of Princesses' by Seven Steps is yet another enjoyable addition to the St. Mary's Academy series of..."
Underwater
 
5.0
"Bailey has recently lost her parents to a violent crime. She and her younger sister Tilly are desperately trying..."
Mend A Story of Divorce
 
3.0
"What worked: Explores one teen's experience of dealing with the divorce of her parents. For those going through a similar..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
On Delicate Wings
 
4.8
"‘On Delicate Wings’ is the story of Mia, who struggles with her reputation as a nerd at school. When beautiful..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."
Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
 
3.0
"This is a graphic novel adaptation of a real teen's experience of being bullied online. What worked: This is..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"Kaitlyn is living the perfect country life with her family in Northern California. She is a great student, swimmer, and..."