Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

 Today we're excited to chat with J Mercer author of Triplicity.

 Read on for more about J Mercer and her, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet J Mercer!

J Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to UW Madison for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband—though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases.

For updates and news, you can find her on Facebook, but she’s more often on Instagram, talking about what she’s reading and other bookish things. Go there for book recommendations, reading-inspired writing tips, or even to read along.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Triplicity!

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

   

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Ah, well... the setting was inspired by an Alaskan cruise I went on, and the theme - three sides to every story - came from some interpersonal relations I witnessed. Everyone so clearly has their version of events in mind, and it can be so very true from that angle, yet if you look carefully from another angle, you can also see how another truth layers beneath it.


 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! When I saw it, the love was instantaneous :) But I guess if I had to pick, it would be how Robin did the water. Not exactly literal, but so very cool.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

Maggie Steifvater's All the Crooked Saints! Oh, but that's right, I write contemporary ;) In that vein, my favorite was


 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My second young adult contemporary novel, Perfection and Other Illusive Things, will be out in 2020, so I'm working on polishing that up along with drafting some new things.


 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There's a scene with Navy and her mother, and then one with Isaiah and his grandma. I went over them both multiple times, because I wanted it to feel as authentic as possible - not melodramatic and not too stoic.


 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

That depends on what's happening in life and the state of my head... drafting is (usually) exhilarating, which would always win, but I do tend to need less clutter in my life for it to go smoothly. If a lot of other things are happening, revising is my go-to muscle of choice. It is easier to do in smaller bits and while half-distracted by the day job. And yes, of course, sometimes you have to write in less than ideal circumstances, but if I'm trying to be most efficient, these are the guidelines I use to inform what I work on.


 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Organization! It comes fairly easy to me, and it's almost fun.


 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

We Need Diverse Books! And diverse agents and editors. Also, water missions :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Triplicity

By: J Mercer

Publisher: Bare Ink

Release Date: January 6th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Triplicity (J Mercer) ~ US Only

 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 7th, 2019
Featured Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Escape the Un...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 08 January 2019 12:31

The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.

0
The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.
Christy DuBois on Wednesday, 09 January 2019 01:39

I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.

0
I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 18:59

The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.

0
The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 January 2019 18:44

This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.

0
This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 28 January 2019 12:31

The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!

0
The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!
Hann Remraf on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 04:24

I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself

0
I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself
Dan Denman on Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:04

I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

0
I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

This Little Scientist: A Discovery Primer
Learn all about scientists who changed history in this engaging...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Corpse & Crown (Cadaver & Queen, #2)
Agatha DeLacey’s family isn’t rich or titled, so studying nursing...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
TandT enhanced.jpg
Immersed in the historical background of the tenth century, this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Egg-Stra Special Easter
Happy Easter from the Beanie Boos! These furry friends are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jesus Loves Me
The Bible bb's share the Good News about Jesus using...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Changing Faces: Happy Halloween!
It’s Halloween and all the different creatures have come out...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Itsy Bitsy School Bus
A fun and playful back-to-school twist on the popular nursery...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Spy Little Hearts
Perfect for Valentine's Day or any day--search-and-find fun from bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Spy Little Bunnies
This bestselling board book now has a shiny new holographic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Peep, Peep, I Love You
An adorable lift-the-flap springtime and Easter story, full of sweet...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lift the Flap: Look Who's Mooing!
What sounds do a cow, chicken, and more farm animals...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Archive of Magic: Explore the Film Wizardry of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
Newt, Tina, Queenie, and Jacob, the beloved heroes of Fantastic...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Magical Adventure Colouring Book
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Magical Advent ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chicken Talk
The chickens on the farm have a message for their...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sea Bear: A Journey for Survival
Lindsay Moore’s remarkable and beautifully illustrated picture book follows a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré
Follow la vida y legado of Pura Belpré, the first...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

This Little Scientist: A Discovery Primer
 
5.0
"THIS LITTLE SCIENTIST is a great board book which features a scientist plus a cute rhyming phrase about their work..."
Corpse & Crown (Cadaver & Queen, #2)
 
4.0
"Adding in the characters of Oliver Twist to the unique world of Bio-mechanicals created in the first book, this stand-alone..."
Playing by Heart
 
5.0
"This is a beautiful piece of historical fiction, set in 18th century Milan. The main character is a musician, and..."
10 Steps to Girlfriend Status (Bird Face book two)
 
5.0
"Having read 8 Notes to a Nobody, I was eager to continue Wendy's story, and this book does not disappoint...."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"This stellar novel spotlights the trials of Italian immigrants during the era of Prohibition. I'd heard of Al Capone and..."
The Summer of '69
 
5.0
"Lucas' summer is ruined when his girlfriend Robin decides to be a camp counselor some distance from their Long Island..."
Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Start a Club by Accident (Two Dogs in a Trench Coat #2)
 
5.0
"Sassy and Waldo still love going to school (What? You haven't read Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go To..."
Unconventional Warfare (Special Forces, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Danny has a violent streak, frequently pounding on his younger brother for pounding on another brother. His single father has..."
Standing Up Against Hate: How Black Women in the Army Helped Change the Course of WWII
 
5.0
"Because of the enormous need for men to be at the front battle lines, or in one of the theaters..."
Lumberjanes: The Good Egg (Lumberjanes #3)
 
3.0
"Summer is wearing on for the Lumberjanes; cabin cleaning must be done, and there is a slight feeling of ennui..."
An Egg-Stra Special Easter
 
5.0
"Carrots the bunny has hidden Easter eggs all around the farm. This is Blossom's first Easter though and she's excited...."
Jesus Loves Me
 
4.0
"JESUS LOVES ME is based off of the song in Christian religion. It teaches that Jesus loves all of his..."
Changing Faces: Happy Halloween!
 
5.0
"In HAPPY HALLOWEEN, a spider is going around scaring everyone! It scares a pumpkin, a ghost, a witch, and a..."
The Itsy Bitsy School Bus
 
4.0
"THE ITSY BITSY SCHOOL BUS is a fun change to the nursery rhyme "The Itsy Bitsy Spider." It follows a..."
I Spy Little Hearts
 
4.0
"I SPY LITTLE HEARTS is a cute little look-and-find for toddlers. It's in a board book format. The pictures are..."
I Spy Little Bunnies
 
4.0
"I SPY LITTLE BUNNIES is a cute little look-and-find for young children. It's in a board book format. The pictures..."
Peep, Peep, I Love You
 
5.0
"PEEP, PEEP, I LOVE YOU teaches about the mommy and baby animals on a farm. It also has a foam..."
Lift the Flap: Look Who's Mooing!
 
5.0
"LIFT THE FLAP: LOOK WHO'S MOOING is fun and interactive and it teaches the sounds animals make. There's buttons on..."
The Archive of Magic: Explore the Film Wizardry of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
 
5.0
"This book has EVERYTHING and is the ultimate, magical experience for fans of FANTASTIC BEASTS: THE CRIMES OF GRINDELWALD. There..."