Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

 Today we're excited to chat with J Mercer author of Triplicity.

 Read on for more about J Mercer and her, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet J Mercer!

J Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to UW Madison for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband—though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases.

For updates and news, you can find her on Facebook, but she’s more often on Instagram, talking about what she’s reading and other bookish things. Go there for book recommendations, reading-inspired writing tips, or even to read along.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Triplicity!

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

   

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Ah, well... the setting was inspired by an Alaskan cruise I went on, and the theme - three sides to every story - came from some interpersonal relations I witnessed. Everyone so clearly has their version of events in mind, and it can be so very true from that angle, yet if you look carefully from another angle, you can also see how another truth layers beneath it.


 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! When I saw it, the love was instantaneous :) But I guess if I had to pick, it would be how Robin did the water. Not exactly literal, but so very cool.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

Maggie Steifvater's All the Crooked Saints! Oh, but that's right, I write contemporary ;) In that vein, my favorite was


 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My second young adult contemporary novel, Perfection and Other Illusive Things, will be out in 2020, so I'm working on polishing that up along with drafting some new things.


 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There's a scene with Navy and her mother, and then one with Isaiah and his grandma. I went over them both multiple times, because I wanted it to feel as authentic as possible - not melodramatic and not too stoic.


 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

That depends on what's happening in life and the state of my head... drafting is (usually) exhilarating, which would always win, but I do tend to need less clutter in my life for it to go smoothly. If a lot of other things are happening, revising is my go-to muscle of choice. It is easier to do in smaller bits and while half-distracted by the day job. And yes, of course, sometimes you have to write in less than ideal circumstances, but if I'm trying to be most efficient, these are the guidelines I use to inform what I work on.


 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Organization! It comes fairly easy to me, and it's almost fun.


 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

We Need Diverse Books! And diverse agents and editors. Also, water missions :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Triplicity

By: J Mercer

Publisher: Bare Ink

Release Date: January 6th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Triplicity (J Mercer) ~ US Only

 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 7th, 2019
Featured Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Escape the Un...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 08 January 2019 12:31

The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.

0
The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.
Christy DuBois on Wednesday, 09 January 2019 01:39

I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.

0
I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 18:59

The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.

0
The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 January 2019 18:44

This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.

0
This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 28 January 2019 12:31

The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!

0
The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!
Hann Remraf on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 04:24

I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself

0
I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself
Dan Denman on Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:04

I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

0
I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
Max Tilt thinks his luck is finally changing, thanks to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
From the World of Eric Carle comes a brand-new book...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hush, Little Bunny
Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
The CrimeBiters gang got its start with help from my...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Wolf Called Wander
“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.”—Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
Rina Nelle Mont has never been a part of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Riverdale.jpg
Based on the massively successful CW show, Riverdale, this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmie and the Tudor King
One moment, Emmie is writing her high school history paper;...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)
First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Afterward
Romantic high fantasy from the bestselling author of Star...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tell Me Everything
Your secret's safe...until it's not. Ivy's always preferred to...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Genie Dagger
A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past....
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Fox and the Box
In this debut picture book, author-illustrator Yvonne Ivinson invites readers...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lambslide
Nicolette Farmer is running for class president, and the rest...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"TBH, TOO MUCH DRAMA is a short book that primarily takes place over texts, but also has some emails, essays,..."
Skeleton Tree
 
4.0
"THE SKELETON TREE is a gripping middle grade novel that will touch your heart. Stanley Stanwright is 12 years old,..."
Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
 
4.0
"Max and his cousin Alex are still enjoying the benefits of the serum that has cured Max's mom and his..."
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
 
4.5
"HUGS AND KISSES FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG features, of course, the iconic character of the grouchy ladybug and which examines..."
Hush, Little Bunny
 
5.0
"HUSH, LITTLE BUNNY is a beautifully reimagined version of the song, “Hush, Little Baby.” Featuring a papa bunny and his..."
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
 
4.0
"Jimmy and his friends are back for this fourth and final installment, which starts with a bit of a shocker......"
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"SUMMER BABIES is a fun board book that celebrates summer with babies playing in the park. Using summery colors and..."
Tell Me Everything
 
3.7
"TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for..."
In the Neighborhood of True
 
4.3
"After her father's untimely death, Ruth Robb's mother uproots her and her little sister from New York City to Atlanta,..."
Emmie and the Tudor King
 
3.0
"What worked: Fast-paced time travel romp through Tudor England. In this case readers find out what would have happened if..."
Fox and the Box
 
5.0
"FOX AND THE BOX is a charming picture book that follows a fox as he/she converts a box into a..."
Lambslide
 
5.0
"LAMBSLIDE is an elegant picture book that follows three little lambs, who are all pretty sure the world revolves around..."
I am a Wonder Woman
 
5.0
"I AM A WONDER WOMAN is a fun and cool activity book which celebrates the amazing things women have done..."
Sun Down, Monsters Up!
 
5.0
"SUN DOWN, MONSTERS UP! introduces the characters of Pitchfork Pines Preschool. This special preschool hosts the children of famous monsters..."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE? features a beautiful poem and lovely illustrations in a celebration of love between friends and..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
3.5
"PIPPIN NO LICKIN is a picture book which follows the cat, Pippin. Although most cats know how to clean themselves..."
Bone Hollow
 
4.0
"BONE HOLLOW follows Gabe, a young boy who lives with Miss Cleo, a woman who cares for him exactly as..."
The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"THE MISSING EASTER BUNNY is a colorful and bright celebration of Easter egg hunts! Ebby the bunny invited all the..."
The Genie Dagger
 
3.8
"The Genie Dagger by Bethany Wicker is the first book in a new fantasy series set in the world of..."
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
 
3.7
"The world the author has created was very varied and offered a fresh look at magical creatures. Rina was a..."