Author Chat with J. Anderson Coats, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with J. Anderson Coats, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with J. Anderson Coatsauthor 

of The Many Reflections of Miss Jane Deming

Below you'll find more about J. Anderson

her book, plus a giveaway!

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

 

J. ANDERSON COATS: The book definitely came first. I find titles notoriously difficult, and this one came about the way most of my titles do - writing lists of words until something good emerges from the junk. Somehow my titles end up long and Twitter-unfriendly. Not sure why. :)

 

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

 

J.  ANDERSON COATS: When I was just starting out, I learned this from Elizabeth Bear, a fantasy writer I admire very much: “Learn to write this book.” There’s no one way to write a book, and every book is going to need something different. Be openminded and let the needs of each book guide how you write it. Very often your backbrain will surprise you with the answer you need without you having to think it up. Think of everything you learn as tools in a toolbox - you might not need them all for the book you’re working on, but you’ll be glad to have them for future books.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

 

 

J. ANDERSON COATS: I love Jane's dancing braids and the way the artist captured her energy and curiosity. My favorite part (oddly) may be the sky - how it reflects the many moods of the Pacific northwest.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2016?

 

 

J. ANDSERON COATS: Since 2016 is more or less behind us, let me share two of my favorites that came out this year. I really enjoyed Jessica Spotswood’s WILD SWANS - Ivy tries so hard to be true to herself even when she’s under so much pressure. It’s very relatable. CLOUD AND WALLFISH by Anne Nesbet is a delightful middle-grade historical set during the Cold War with an authentic voice and a creative, intriguing structure.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2015?

 

 

J. ANDERSON COATS: I absolutely loved Dietland by Sarai Walker. Who wouldn’t love a subversive, compelling book about an all-female terrorist group called “Jennifer” who takes aim at abusive men, wrapped up in a keen satire about the destructive nature of beauty myths?

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

 

 

J. ANDERSON COATS: My next book is a middle-grade coming out in early 2018, also from Atheneum, called R is for Rebel. It’s set in a fictional occupied country, and it’s about the daughter of known subversives who is sent away to be reeducated and must walk the line between resistance and survival.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

 

 

J. ANDERSON COATS: Revising. Definitely. Creating something out of nothing is exhausting, but transforming something flawed and misshapen and lumbering into something sharp and lovely feels infinitely more doable.

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

 

 

J. ANDERSON COATS: The defense of intellectual freedom and the fight against censorship. Ignorance is at the heart of so many of the issues we face, and dismantling it with the free exchange of ideas and the continued diversification of voices and points of view is our best shot at a world that recognizes each of us as fully human. 

 

 
 
Meet J. Anderson Coats!
 
 

J. Anderson Coats is the author of The Wicked and the Just, one of Kirkus’s Best Teen Books of 2012, a 2013 YALSA Best for Young Adults (BFYA) winner, and a School Library Journal Best Books of 2012 selection. It also won the 2013 Washington State Book Award for Young Adults. Her newest book, The Many Reflections of Miss Jane Deming (Atheneum/Simon & Schuster, 2017), is set in Washington Territory in the

1860s. R is for Rebel, a historical fantasy for middle-grade readers, is forthcoming in 2018. 

 

 

Meet The Many Reflections of Jane Deming!

High-spirited young Jane is excited to be part of Mr. Mercer’s plan to bring Civil War widows and orphans to Washington Territory—but life out west isn’t at all what she expected.

Washington Territory is just the place for men of broad mind and sturdy constitution—and girls too, Jane figures, or Mr. Mercer wouldn’t have allowed her to come on his expedition to bring unmarried girls and Civil War widows out west.

Jane’s constitution is sturdy enough. She’s been taking care of her baby brother ever since Papa was killed in the war and her young stepmother had to start working long days at the mill. The problem, she fears, is her mind. It might not be suitably broad because she had to leave school to take care of little Jer. Still, a new life awaits in Washington Territory, and Jane plans to make the best of it... 

 
 
 

Thr Many Reflections of Jane Deming

By: J. Anderson Coats

Release Date: February 27, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed hardcover of The Many Reflections of Jane Deming(US only).
 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Holiday Gift Guide
Waiting On Wednesday ~ December 14th, 2016

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

John on Wednesday, 14 December 2016 21:09

I was very impressed by the cover, and the synopsis, also, was very good.

0
I was very impressed by the cover, and the synopsis, also, was very good.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 08 January 2017 23:30

The cover is really well done. The story sounds really interesting and engaging.

0
The cover is really well done. The story sounds really interesting and engaging.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 09 January 2017 20:09

I think the cover matches the synopsis well and anyone can see that this girl is alone and venturing into an unknown land for her. I love the synopsis and this book will be fun to read.

0
I think the cover matches the synopsis well and anyone can see that this girl is alone and venturing into an unknown land for her. I love the synopsis and this book will be fun to read.
Nancy Hernandez on Tuesday, 10 January 2017 21:43

I really like the cover and the synopsis makes it very interesting.

0
I really like the cover and the synopsis makes it very interesting.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."