Author Chat with Gwen C. Katz (Among the Red Stars), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Gwen C. Katz (Among the Red Stars), Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Gwen C. Katz, author of Among the Red Stars. Read on for more about Gwen and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Gwen C. Katz!

 
 
 
Gwen C. Katz is a writer, artist, and retired mad scientist who lives in Altadena, CA with her husband and a revolving door of transient animals.
 
 
 
Meet Among the Red Stars!
 
 World War Two has shattered Valka’s homeland of Russia, and Valka is determined to help the effort. She knows her skills as a pilot rival the best of the men, so when an all-female aviation group forms, Valka is the first to sign up.

Flying has always meant freedom and exhilaration for Valka, but dropping bombs on German soldiers from a fragile canvas biplane is no joyride. The war is taking its toll on everyone, including the boy Valka grew up with, who is fighting for his life on the front lines. 

As the war intensifies and those around her fall, Valka must decide how much she is willing to risk to defend the skies she once called home.

Inspired by the true story of the airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches, Gwen C. Katz weaves a tale of strength and sacrifice, learning to fight for yourself, and the perils of a world at war.
 
 
 
A Chat with Gwen C. Katz:

 

1. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. I didn't want to use the word "witches" in the title because I was concerned people would think the book was about actual witches. So I swapped a drawing of an airplane with a friend in exchange for a title. They suggested "Beneath the Red Stars" but I decided "Among the Red Stars" made more sense for pilots.


2. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I've learned to treat problems with the manuscript as challenges with solutions instead of intractable roadblocks.


3. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love that Valka has such a powerful stance. She really looks like she's in control and she's going to make things happen.


4. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

Without spoilers, there's a scene where the regiment suffers a major loss, and that was really hard scene to write. I've never been good at dealing with loss and Valka isn't either.


5. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Marina Raskova, the famous aviator and commander. She's the mentor character and I kept having the problem that her dialogue sounded too much like Mufasa.


6. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting. When you catch that high and you're putting down 3000 words a day, it's just so much fun. Revising means you have to go back and face all the bad parts of the manuscript. That's when you usually have your dark night of the soul.


7. What would you say is your superpower?

I can identify an absurd number of local plants and animals.


8.  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Early on, I decided I wanted to donate part of my advance to charity if I sold Among the Red Stars. I decided to give the money to the Malala Fund. Malala Yousafzai is such an inspiration. The Night Witches accomplished great things because they were in a country that valued girls' education. All girls should have those opportunities.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Among the Red Stars

By: Gwen C. Katz

Release Date: October 3, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed hardcover copy of Among the Red Stars. (International). 
     
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: BLACK MOON RISING (US Only)
Featured Review: Kiss Me in New York by Catherine ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Shannon Mizikoski on Friday, 06 October 2017 23:52

This cover is incredible! I am such a huge fan of illustrated covers. And of course it fits the book perfectly! I love the sound of the whole book, the main character sounds like she's going to be such an incredible hero!

0
This cover is incredible! I am such a huge fan of illustrated covers. And of course it fits the book perfectly! I love the sound of the whole book, the main character sounds like she's going to be such an incredible hero!
Lillian Lozada on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 09:40

All-female aviation group?!?!? YES PLEASE! love that it's inspired by the true story of airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches. Very excited for this title

0
All-female aviation group?!?!? YES PLEASE! love that it's inspired by the true story of airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches. Very excited for this title :D
Candice Gigous on Monday, 30 October 2017 01:50

The cover is cool. The synopsis draws you in for more. Sounds like an exciting read.

0
The cover is cool. The synopsis draws you in for more. Sounds like an exciting read.
Aireanna Lesch on Wednesday, 01 November 2017 14:40

Awesome cover!! I love the detail and the synopsis sounds amazingggg

0
Awesome cover!! I love the detail and the synopsis sounds amazingggg :D:D
Kelly G on Wednesday, 01 November 2017 16:07

I love the illustrated cover, and the synopsis is catching. Can't wait!

0
I love the illustrated cover, and the synopsis is catching. Can't wait!
Irma Jurejevčič on Friday, 03 November 2017 09:07

Lol, your superpowers! Love that. I find the cover gorgeous and the synopsis brilliant.

0
Lol, your superpowers! Love that. I find the cover gorgeous and the synopsis brilliant.
Penny Olson on Friday, 03 November 2017 23:56

I love the cover. The story sounds amazing. I like the strong female pilot character.

0
I love the cover. The story sounds amazing. I like the strong female pilot character.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 04 November 2017 12:58

I love the cover and it fits the synopsis so well. I've had this book on my must read list already!

0
I love the cover and it fits the synopsis so well. I've had this book on my must read list already!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."