Author Chat with Gwen C. Katz (Among the Red Stars), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2017-10-05-at-2.15.04-PM

Today we're excited to chat with Gwen C. Katz, author of Among the Red Stars. Read on for more about Gwen and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Gwen C. Katz!

 
 
 
Gwen C. Katz is a writer, artist, and retired mad scientist who lives in Altadena, CA with her husband and a revolving door of transient animals.
 
 
 
Meet Among the Red Stars!
 
 World War Two has shattered Valka’s homeland of Russia, and Valka is determined to help the effort. She knows her skills as a pilot rival the best of the men, so when an all-female aviation group forms, Valka is the first to sign up.

Flying has always meant freedom and exhilaration for Valka, but dropping bombs on German soldiers from a fragile canvas biplane is no joyride. The war is taking its toll on everyone, including the boy Valka grew up with, who is fighting for his life on the front lines. 

As the war intensifies and those around her fall, Valka must decide how much she is willing to risk to defend the skies she once called home.

Inspired by the true story of the airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches, Gwen C. Katz weaves a tale of strength and sacrifice, learning to fight for yourself, and the perils of a world at war.
 
 
 
A Chat with Gwen C. Katz:

 

1. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. I didn't want to use the word "witches" in the title because I was concerned people would think the book was about actual witches. So I swapped a drawing of an airplane with a friend in exchange for a title. They suggested "Beneath the Red Stars" but I decided "Among the Red Stars" made more sense for pilots.


2. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I've learned to treat problems with the manuscript as challenges with solutions instead of intractable roadblocks.


3. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love that Valka has such a powerful stance. She really looks like she's in control and she's going to make things happen.


4. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

Without spoilers, there's a scene where the regiment suffers a major loss, and that was really hard scene to write. I've never been good at dealing with loss and Valka isn't either.


5. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Marina Raskova, the famous aviator and commander. She's the mentor character and I kept having the problem that her dialogue sounded too much like Mufasa.


6. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting. When you catch that high and you're putting down 3000 words a day, it's just so much fun. Revising means you have to go back and face all the bad parts of the manuscript. That's when you usually have your dark night of the soul.


7. What would you say is your superpower?

I can identify an absurd number of local plants and animals.


8.  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Early on, I decided I wanted to donate part of my advance to charity if I sold Among the Red Stars. I decided to give the money to the Malala Fund. Malala Yousafzai is such an inspiration. The Night Witches accomplished great things because they were in a country that valued girls' education. All girls should have those opportunities.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Among the Red Stars

By: Gwen C. Katz

Release Date: October 3, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed hardcover copy of Among the Red Stars. (International). 
     
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: BLACK MOON RISING (US Only)
Featured Review: Kiss Me in New York by Catherine ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Shannon Mizikoski on Friday, 06 October 2017 23:52

This cover is incredible! I am such a huge fan of illustrated covers. And of course it fits the book perfectly! I love the sound of the whole book, the main character sounds like she's going to be such an incredible hero!

0
This cover is incredible! I am such a huge fan of illustrated covers. And of course it fits the book perfectly! I love the sound of the whole book, the main character sounds like she's going to be such an incredible hero!
Lillian Lozada on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 09:40

All-female aviation group?!?!? YES PLEASE! love that it's inspired by the true story of airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches. Very excited for this title

0
All-female aviation group?!?!? YES PLEASE! love that it's inspired by the true story of airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches. Very excited for this title :D
Candice Gigous on Monday, 30 October 2017 01:50

The cover is cool. The synopsis draws you in for more. Sounds like an exciting read.

0
The cover is cool. The synopsis draws you in for more. Sounds like an exciting read.
Aireanna Lesch on Wednesday, 01 November 2017 14:40

Awesome cover!! I love the detail and the synopsis sounds amazingggg

0
Awesome cover!! I love the detail and the synopsis sounds amazingggg :D:D
Kelly G on Wednesday, 01 November 2017 16:07

I love the illustrated cover, and the synopsis is catching. Can't wait!

0
I love the illustrated cover, and the synopsis is catching. Can't wait!
Irma Jurejevčič on Friday, 03 November 2017 09:07

Lol, your superpowers! Love that. I find the cover gorgeous and the synopsis brilliant.

0
Lol, your superpowers! Love that. I find the cover gorgeous and the synopsis brilliant.
Penny Olson on Friday, 03 November 2017 23:56

I love the cover. The story sounds amazing. I like the strong female pilot character.

0
I love the cover. The story sounds amazing. I like the strong female pilot character.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 04 November 2017 12:58

I love the cover and it fits the synopsis so well. I've had this book on my must read list already!

0
I love the cover and it fits the synopsis so well. I've had this book on my must read list already!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."