Author Chat with Estelle Laure, Plus Giveaway

Author Chat with Estelle Laure, Plus Giveaway

Today we're excited to chat with Estelle Laure, author of But Then I came BackRead on for more about Estelle and her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

YABC: What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

 

I was trying to write a love book and it wasn't coming together the way I wanted. Then one of my best friends committed suicide and all my questions about life and death took over. In the end I was able to combine both love and more existential questions, but I think I processed a lot of my grief in writing this book.

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

 

I have a special soft spot for Gigi, who is based on my grandmother's best friend George, a woman who read cards and had owls all over her house. She seemed completely magical to me when I was a kid so she was a natural choice when I needed a witch.

 

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

Ha. Funny you should ask. It was titled These Mighty Forces until it got to marketing. They thought it sounded like a military thriller. In the end I like this one better and I'm totally in love with the cover design. I think they did an incredible job.

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

This was a really challenging process. I think most writers will tell you that the second book is the hardest. I hope that's true. So I think what I've learned is that something can be hard and you can still be proud of the results. I love this book, but it was a real path through hell to write it. So, I don't know...just keep swimming?

 

YABC: What do you like most about the cover of the book?

 

Everything. I love it so much I had it tattooed on my arm and have my nails that shade of pink. I think it's gorgeous.

 

YABC: What was your favorite book in 2016?

 

My favorite of 2016 YA was The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. I could go on all day about why, but basically I love books that do friendship well and the teen age experience honestly and that, plus a ton of spectacular writing, put it at the top of my list. Oh, and also all my tears. For 2017 I am currently dying to read Becky Albertalli's new one THE UPSIDE OF BEING DOWN. I almost mauled someone for the ARC before deciding to be a decent person and wait for the release date.

 

YABC: What’s up next for you?

 

I'm inching toward more magical subjects. I can't say much but it's about girls and power and what happens to really powerful females.

 

YABC: Is there anything that you would like to add?

 

I love YA Books Central! 

 

YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

 

I think the toughest was where Eden communicates with Jasmine. I wanted to make sure those scenes didn't feel cheesy or overly sentimental. I wrote them about a thousand times. 

 

YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

 

Jasmine. I wanted her to feel real even though she's mostly a ghost presence. I spent a lot of time figuring out her backstory and trying to make her whole within the story.

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or                   Revising?

 

Revising. Nothing is more daunting than the blank page. I like moving things around until they're right. There's a magical moment when it becomes an entity instead of disconnected parts. That's a beautiful thing.

 

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

 

Mind reading. I see what's going on in there. Don't even try to hide it.


YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

 

Yes. I am very proud to work with Help Outreach Taos in my hometown which is making resources available to suicidal teens and teens dealing with domestic violence, two issues that stress me out to the point of distraction. 

 

 

Meet Estelle Laure!

Estelle Laure is a Vonnegut worshiper who believes in love, magic, and the power of facing hard truths. She has a BA in theatre arts, and an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and she lives in Taos, New Mexico, with her children. www.estellelaure.com
 
 
    
Meet But Then I Came Back!
 
Gayle Forman meets Francesca Lia Block in this dazzling story about two coma girls and the boy who connects their lives. From the author of This Raging Light, a debut that New York Times bestselling author Morgan Matson calls “remarkable.”

“Something does exist. I saw. It’s a place. Like this but different.”
“Okay, so let’s say we do reach her, that something like that is even possible. Then what?”
“Then we ask her to come back.”

Eden: As far as coma patients go, Eden’s lucky. She woke up. But still, she can’t shake the feeling that she might have dragged something back from the near-afterlife.
Joe: Joe visits the hospital every day, hoping that Jaz, his lifelong friend, will wake up. More than anything, he wants to hear her voice again. But he’s not sure anyone can reach her.
Eden & Joe: Even though she knows it sounds crazy, Eden tells Joe that they might be able to talk to Jaz. Opening themselves up to the great unknown—and each other—Eden and Joe experience life: mysterious and scary, beautiful and bright.
 
 
  

But Then I Came Back

By: Estelle Laure

Release Date: April 4, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
Three winners will receive a hardcover copy of But Then I came Back. US only. 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: BEYOND THE RED MOUNTAINS (US Only)
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Truthers by Geoffrey Gir...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

John on Friday, 14 April 2017 21:02

The cover makes it appear that this will be an exciting book, and the plot certainly sounds like it!

0
The cover makes it appear that this will be an exciting book, and the plot certainly sounds like it!
Kristy Petree on Friday, 21 April 2017 01:01

I love both the cover and the synopsis. The cover is gorgeous with the contrast of bright lettering on black and white flowers. The story sounds amazing. Thanks!

0
I love both the cover and the synopsis. The cover is gorgeous with the contrast of bright lettering on black and white flowers. The story sounds amazing. Thanks!
Anne on Monday, 01 May 2017 18:28

This sounds interesting. I love the cover!

0
This sounds interesting. I love the cover!
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:40

Sounds good!Nice cover!

0
Sounds good!Nice cover!
Penny Olson on Saturday, 13 May 2017 19:46

The cover is just stunning and I really like the premise of the book.

0
The cover is just stunning and I really like the premise of the book.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."