Author Chat with Elizabetta Holcomb, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Elizabetta Holcomb, Plus Giveaway!

YABC: What is your favorite hobby when you're not writing?

Elizabetta Holcom: I love the theatre and concerts. The Saenger Theatre in New Orleans is my favorite venue. It’s so classy. I’ve tickets to see Wicked there in June. I can’t wait!!! And in August I’m going see Coldplay in Texas with my daughters. I just love road trips and girly getaways!

YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

EH: Jareth, the hero. He’s a bit egotistical and being that he’s a medieval knight, he can be stubborn as well. I didn’t want to make him stereotypical, so I worked really hard at giving him unique quirks such as a love for cats and orphans. Jareth is my all­time favorite character that I’ve created.

YABC: Do you enjoy writing to music? If so, do you have a go­to playlist?

EH: I can only to write to classical music, particularly Mozart. However, my favorite type of music is Rock. In fact, my muse is a rock star; seriously. But, don’t ask because I will never tell who...I will say this though, my muse has been with me for over 20 years and he is a character in one of my books.

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

EH: Because one of my character has autism, I am currently looking into various charities for Autism Awareness. I’m a runner, so I run 5k’s often with my children. We are a family who runs together so we can be found many times in 5k’s geared toward charity.

I also give to the English Heritage Foundation, particularly The Friends of Dover chapter. I donated copies of The Guardian. 100% of the proceeds go to the maintenance and awareness of Dover Castle. It’s pretty exciting to be a part of that!

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

EH: Once upon a time, I loved the first creative process. Writing that first draft was such a buzz. But now that I have an amazing editor, my most enjoyment comes from the revising. My editor gets to the heart of matters and makes me really think where the story is going. She makes the editing part fun and it’s engaging in a way where I get to know my characters in a totally different light. 

 

Meet The Guardian!

1312, A knight destined to rule...

Jareth Tremaine, the first Duke of Dover, has seen how he’s remembered in history books—either a saint who rules his lands with justice or a religious extremist whose harsh treatment of the church nearly has him executed. But what history doesn’t disclose is that he’s essential to the world’s survival. After being wounded by ancient Huns using 21st century weapons, a girl is brought to aid his recovery—a girl who would become his duchess and the key to the future of Dover’s Amalgam.

A 21st century girl whose future has not been written...

Elizabet Blackwell isn’t surprised by wormholes. What shocks her is the multi‐faceted personality of the titled knight. Sir Jareth is a nobleman, translator, surgeon—and he’s intent on locating and protecting a host. The host, she discovers, is a boy who practically lives in her backyard 700 years into Jareth’s future.

The re‐scripting of history for the survival of nature’s attack on mankind...

Together they embark on their life’s journey and discover that they must protect each other even as they prepare the host for his destiny. Their quest must be to ensure the boy is secure and hidden from the evil forces who seek to exploit the power he contains. 

 

 

Meet Elizabetta Holcomb!

Elizabetta Holcomb lives in South Louisiana with her husband, children, and 2 cats. One of those cats is aptly named Sir Jareth after The Guardian’s hero. When she is not writing, she is helping deliver babies in her night job as a Labor&Delivery nurse. Her favorite aspect of becoming an author is meeting all of the readers who love Dover and the characters she has created. 

 

 

 

 

  The Guardian

 By: Elizabetta Holcomb

Release Date: March 21, 2016 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will receive a signed copy of The Guardian, plus a bookmark--US only. 

  

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Forest of Ruin
Trailer Reveal: The Huntsman--Winter's War
 

Comments 5

Emily on Friday, 29 April 2016 13:46

I love this cover!!!!

0
I love this cover!!!!
Linda Romer on Saturday, 30 April 2016 17:10

The Guardian sounds great ♡ And I love the cover ♡ Thank you

0
The Guardian sounds great ♡ And I love the cover ♡ Thank you
Eddie Black on Wednesday, 04 May 2016 20:13

I like that the covers has the iconic cliffs on it so you get an idea immediately about the setting of the book

0
I like that the covers has the iconic cliffs on it so you get an idea immediately about the setting of the book
Maggie on Wednesday, 04 May 2016 23:00

I love time travel books! I think this one looks awesome!

0
I love time travel books! I think this one looks awesome!
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 13 May 2016 19:03

I love time travel books and can't wait to see if this author has pulled it off successfully--it's very difficult to do! I love the idea of going to the past and falling in love. What a choice!

0
I love time travel books and can't wait to see if this author has pulled it off successfully--it's very difficult to do! I love the idea of going to the past and falling in love. What a choice!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."