Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Claudia Gray, author of Defy the StarsRead on for more about Claudia and her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: I feel like such a traitor picking one of my two leads over the other—I love them both—but if I must go for one, it's Abel. That's only because writing his scenes required me to work in a totally new-to-me viewpoint, that of a mechanical lifeform who would have some of the emotional and mental capabilities of a human but would also look at things in a totally different way. It was fun to dig in to that.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: The novel, definitely. The core of this story started taking shape a few years go, but we didn't decide on the title until well into the publication process. This isn't that unusual; I find my titles

 

YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Probably the final conversation between Abel and his cyberneticist creator, Burton Mansfield. It's a very emotional scene, but one that has to be fully portrayed and perceived through Abel's logical mech mind. That was tremendous fun to do, and it actually came out on the page as good as it was in my head—which any writer will tell you is a rarity!

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s
the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

CLUDIA GRAY: That I will never learn "how to write a book." Nobody ever will, because there's no such thing. You have to learn how to write each individual book. Every single one requires different skills and presents different challenges.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Jacqueline Winspear just released IN THIS GRAVE HOUR, the latest Maisie Dobbs mystery, and I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on it. Also I'm eager for REBEL RISING by Beth Revis, a Star Wars YA novel about Jyn Erso from "Rogue One."

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Revising—though I usually enjoy drafting more than a lot of other writers do. But the most fun will always be when the book is at its shiniest, which is of course at the very end.

 

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Sadly it appears to be "invariably getting the start time wrong on Facebook event invites." This will not get me into the X-Men anytime soon.

 

YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Several of them. The two I'd most like to call attention to are (1) Heifer International, which helps provide grassroots support for people in underdeveloped nations who are starting their own farms, dairies, etc. They have a fabulous track record all over the globe, not to mention the greatest gift catalog EVER. And (2) the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, which is dedicated to the preservation of endangered African wildlife. They provide everything from aerial reconnaissance of wildlife areas to veterinary teams! These guys are amazing. 

 

 

Meet Claudia Gray!

 

Claudia Gray is the author of the bestselling Evernight series, Fateful, the Spellcaster trilogy, and the Firebird trilogy. She is also the author the young adult Star Wars novels Lost Stars and Bloodline. She has worked as a lawyer, a journalist, a disc jockey, and a particularly ineffective waitress. Her lifelong interests include old houses, classic movies, vintage style, and history. She lives in New Orleans.

 

 
   
Meet Defy the Stars!
 
 

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier in an interstellar war, fighting to defend her home planet against Earth's robotic armies. When the disastrous aftermath of a space battle strands her on an abandoned enemy ship, she encounters a deadly mech determined to kill her - until a twist in his programming compels him to do her bidding, and to reveal a secret which could save her world.

Abel, Model 1A of the Mansfield Cybernetics Line, is his creator's masterpiece: the most complex mech prototype ever made, he not only appears perfectly human, but possesses an artificial intelligence so sophisticated that he can feel human emotions.

When Noemi boards the ship he has been trapped on for decades, his programming demands that he obey her as his new commander – even if she's fighting on the other side of the war and her plan to win that war will kill him. As they embark upon a dangerous journey through the galaxy, Noemi begins to recognize the soul within the machine, and Abel's devotion to Noemi becomes more than a matter of programming.

 
 
 
 
 

Defy the Stars

By: Claudia Gray

Release Date: April 4, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
One wiinner will receive a copy of Defy the Stars. US only. 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Geekerella (Ashley Poston)
Author Chat with Jessica Park (180 Seconds), Plus ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

John on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 23:02

The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!

0
The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!
Susan Light on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 11:03

Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!

0
Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!
Jen on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 15:05

This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!

0
This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!
Julie on Tuesday, 18 April 2017 18:52

The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.

0
The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.
Jennifer Lancaster on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 12:53

I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.

0
I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.
Lily M. on Monday, 01 May 2017 04:22

Love the colors on the cover ?

0
Love the colors on the cover ?
Candice Gigous on Monday, 01 May 2017 09:25

The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.

0
The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.
Anne on Monday, 01 May 2017 18:23

I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!

0
I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:30

Sounds good!

0
Sounds good!
Aireanna Lesch on Sunday, 07 May 2017 18:05

I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17.
Love this cover!!

0
I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17. :) Love this cover!!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 09 May 2017 22:29

The cover is beautiful and bright. The synopsis is totally intriguing.

0
The cover is beautiful and bright. The synopsis is totally intriguing.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."