Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Claudia Gray, author of Defy the StarsRead on for more about Claudia and her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: I feel like such a traitor picking one of my two leads over the other—I love them both—but if I must go for one, it's Abel. That's only because writing his scenes required me to work in a totally new-to-me viewpoint, that of a mechanical lifeform who would have some of the emotional and mental capabilities of a human but would also look at things in a totally different way. It was fun to dig in to that.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: The novel, definitely. The core of this story started taking shape a few years go, but we didn't decide on the title until well into the publication process. This isn't that unusual; I find my titles

 

YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Probably the final conversation between Abel and his cyberneticist creator, Burton Mansfield. It's a very emotional scene, but one that has to be fully portrayed and perceived through Abel's logical mech mind. That was tremendous fun to do, and it actually came out on the page as good as it was in my head—which any writer will tell you is a rarity!

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s
the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

CLUDIA GRAY: That I will never learn "how to write a book." Nobody ever will, because there's no such thing. You have to learn how to write each individual book. Every single one requires different skills and presents different challenges.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Jacqueline Winspear just released IN THIS GRAVE HOUR, the latest Maisie Dobbs mystery, and I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on it. Also I'm eager for REBEL RISING by Beth Revis, a Star Wars YA novel about Jyn Erso from "Rogue One."

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Revising—though I usually enjoy drafting more than a lot of other writers do. But the most fun will always be when the book is at its shiniest, which is of course at the very end.

 

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Sadly it appears to be "invariably getting the start time wrong on Facebook event invites." This will not get me into the X-Men anytime soon.

 

YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Several of them. The two I'd most like to call attention to are (1) Heifer International, which helps provide grassroots support for people in underdeveloped nations who are starting their own farms, dairies, etc. They have a fabulous track record all over the globe, not to mention the greatest gift catalog EVER. And (2) the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, which is dedicated to the preservation of endangered African wildlife. They provide everything from aerial reconnaissance of wildlife areas to veterinary teams! These guys are amazing. 

 

 

Meet Claudia Gray!

 

Claudia Gray is the author of the bestselling Evernight series, Fateful, the Spellcaster trilogy, and the Firebird trilogy. She is also the author the young adult Star Wars novels Lost Stars and Bloodline. She has worked as a lawyer, a journalist, a disc jockey, and a particularly ineffective waitress. Her lifelong interests include old houses, classic movies, vintage style, and history. She lives in New Orleans.

 

 
   
Meet Defy the Stars!
 
 

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier in an interstellar war, fighting to defend her home planet against Earth's robotic armies. When the disastrous aftermath of a space battle strands her on an abandoned enemy ship, she encounters a deadly mech determined to kill her - until a twist in his programming compels him to do her bidding, and to reveal a secret which could save her world.

Abel, Model 1A of the Mansfield Cybernetics Line, is his creator's masterpiece: the most complex mech prototype ever made, he not only appears perfectly human, but possesses an artificial intelligence so sophisticated that he can feel human emotions.

When Noemi boards the ship he has been trapped on for decades, his programming demands that he obey her as his new commander – even if she's fighting on the other side of the war and her plan to win that war will kill him. As they embark upon a dangerous journey through the galaxy, Noemi begins to recognize the soul within the machine, and Abel's devotion to Noemi becomes more than a matter of programming.

 
 
 
 
 

Defy the Stars

By: Claudia Gray

Release Date: April 4, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
One wiinner will receive a copy of Defy the Stars. US only. 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Geekerella (Ashley Poston)
Author Chat with Jessica Park (180 Seconds), Plus ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

John on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 23:02

The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!

0
The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!
Susan Light on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 11:03

Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!

0
Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!
Jen on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 15:05

This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!

0
This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!
Julie on Tuesday, 18 April 2017 18:52

The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.

0
The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.
Jennifer Lancaster on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 12:53

I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.

0
I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.
Lily M. on Monday, 01 May 2017 04:22

Love the colors on the cover ?

0
Love the colors on the cover ?
Candice Gigous on Monday, 01 May 2017 09:25

The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.

0
The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.
Anne on Monday, 01 May 2017 18:23

I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!

0
I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:30

Sounds good!

0
Sounds good!
Aireanna Lesch on Sunday, 07 May 2017 18:05

I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17.
Love this cover!!

0
I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17. :) Love this cover!!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 09 May 2017 22:29

The cover is beautiful and bright. The synopsis is totally intriguing.

0
The cover is beautiful and bright. The synopsis is totally intriguing.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."