Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the End), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the End), Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Chandler Baker, author of This is Not the End. Read on for more about Chandler and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Chandler Baker!

 
 
 

Chandler Baker grew up in Florida, went to college at the University of Pennsylvania, and studied law at the University of Texas. She now lives in Austin with her husband, though her heart remains at the beach. She strongly believes that writing quality improves vastly if done while staring out at a large body of water and daydreaming.  Chandler is the author of the young adult thriller Alive, as well as the High School Horrorseries. Her latest book, This is Not the End, is available now. 

 

Meet This is Not the End!

 
If you could choose one person to bring back to life, who would it be?
 
Seventeen-year-old Lake Deveraux is the survivor of a car crash that killed her best friend and boyfriend. Now she faces an impossible choice. Resurrection technology changed the world, but strict laws allow just one resurrection per citizen, to be used on your eighteenth birthday or lost forever.
You only have days to decide.
For each grieving family, Lake is the best chance to bring back their child.
For Lake, it's the only way to reclaim a piece of happiness after her own family fell apart.
And Lake must also grapple with a secret--and illegal--vow she made years ago to resurrect someone else. Someone who's not even dead yet.
Who do you need most?
As Lake's eighteenth birthday nears, secrets and betrayals new and old threaten to eclipse her cherished memories. Lake has one chance to save a life...but can she live with her choice?
 
 
 

A Chat with Chandler:

1.) Who is your favorite character in the book?

Definitely Matt, who is my main character Lake’s older brother. He’s so mean and callous, even in the face of his little sister losing her best friend and boyfriend. But he has reasons, even if his reasons are selfish and misguided and sometimes even noble.

2.) Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel, though the title quickly followed. I first called it “When You’re Gone” but only briefly. The line, “This is not the end” came out in what was then the second chapter of the book and hasn’t changed since!

3.) What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I worked so hard on a scene in which my main character Lake talks to her quadriplegic brother, Matt, about sex. My editor and I kept kneading at this scene, coming back to it, knowing that it was crucial to try to get it right. It can and is uncomfortable to have a character engage in an in depth conversation about sex with her brother. But it made sense for these two. What really broke the scene open for me was a conversation I was able to have with a man who was paralyzed as a teenager. He was generous with his time and it’s because of him that the scene is emotional, but at the same time very, very hopeful, I think. When I got my copyedits back, the copyeditor had left a note about how that scene was sensitive and resonated and I felt really proud of the work we’d put in.

4.) What do you like most about the cover of the book?

That font, tho! The title treatment on THIS IS NOT THE END is gorgeous. My first book, Alive, had a really bold, iconic title treatment, I think, and so I was hoping against hope that even though this book is so different, I’d somehow get another really bold font. Boy was I not disappointed.

5.) What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

I’m anxiously awaiting One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake, the sequel to Three Dark Crowns. It’s been a long time since I’ve been so invested in getting my hands on the next installment in a series.

6.) What was your favorite book in 2016?

I really enjoyed an adult book, Before the Fall by Noah Hawley that was published in 2016. He’s an Austin author—represent!—and it’s an easy recommendation to friends with reading tastes of all sorts.

7.) What’s up next for you?

I have the last book in my High School Horror series, Teen Phantom, coming out in January and beyond that I’m in the exciting, secret stage with projects I can’t talk about yet. I’m pushing myself (I hope) in new directions as a writer and it’s really requiring me to keep my head down and blinders on but I’m loving it.

8.) Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I tend to enjoy revising more. The entire time spent drafting I live in fear that I’ll get stuck in some irreversible and unfixable way. That there won’t be a way to reach the end of the draft. Once the story is on the page, though, I know it can be molded and repaired. Most of my favorite scenes in a story come in those deep revision moments where I’m pushing for the next layer, the better idea that I wouldn’t have even known how to come up with at the outset, when I didn’t know the story so well.

9.) What would you say is your superpower?

Not getting stressed or overwhelmed easily, or at least that’s what people tell me. I have a full time day job as a lawyer and a toddler and have published two books a year for the past several years and I swear I totally have a social life and enjoy TV with my husband at night. I don’t know! I just rarely feel stressed!

 
 
 

This is Not the End

By: Chandler Baker

Release Date: August 8, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
            Three winners will receive a copy of This is Not the End (US Only).
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway 
 
Rate this blog entry:
YABC's Blogger Of The Month ~ Damaris (Good Choice...
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaw...

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

John on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 20:42

The cover looks adventurous--and there's a secret and illegal vow??!!

0
The cover looks adventurous--and there's a secret and illegal vow??!!
Tiffany Engler on Thursday, 10 August 2017 10:00

The cover is amazing and the concept sounds wonderful!!!!

0
The cover is amazing and the concept sounds wonderful!!!!
Ella Westrich on Thursday, 17 August 2017 00:46

I love love LOVE this idea! It's truly such an interesting concept, and I love the cover!

0
I love love LOVE this idea! It's truly such an interesting concept, and I love the cover!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
 
5.0
"In LET'S INVESTIGATE WITH NATE, the doors of the Science Museum become a portal to another world, but only an..."
This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Curtain-Twitcher's Handbook
 
4.5
"Whipped through this one as it's a really chatty, easy read. After a while it's like listening to your best..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Rebel's Blade
 
4.8
"A fantasy of the highest quality that checks every box and still pushes the bounds of originality. The..."