Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Carrie Macauthor 

of 10 ThingsI Can See From Here

Below you'll find more about Carrie

her book, plus a review, and giveaway!

 

1. First off, you NAILED the whole feel of someone dealing with severe anxiety! What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Being someone who deals with severe anxiety often,  not only was it easy to write, but easy to want love for Maeve and a complex family life and hopes and dreams and all those other things that come alongside crippling anxiety.


2. Which scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I love the birth scene, when Maeve rises up and discovers that she can be strong even if she can’t believe it and doesn’t experience it often enough.


3. Do you have a Playlist for 10 Things I Can See From Here?  Can you share if you do?

No play list for while I was writing the first drafts. I mostly listened to Drum & Base for the final drafts. Lots of good European DJs. That music suits Maeve and the noise in her head well … drowns it out a bit.


4. Which scene was the hardest to write and why?

The hardest scene to write was when Maeve discovered Mrs. Patel. I didn’t want her emotional reaction to dominate the rest of the book, so I had to play it just so, and relieve Maeve of some of the intensity of her feelings (I won’t give the spoiler here) so that she could go on and fully participate with the rest of her story.


5. Do you have a writing routine?

When we’re home, I get up at 530am and go for a run or a walk for an hour, then I go to a coffee shop and write for 2-3 hours.
When we’re traveling (which is a lot) I write early morning or late at night when the kids are asleep. Traveling is when I collect a lot of my characters, their traits, dialogue, settings, and all those colorful bits.


6. What advice to do you have for teens who want to write a book?

Write the book.

Seriously.

Worry about how good or bad it is later. You can only make it better if you have it to work with in the first place. Start at the beginning and go all the way to the end,
One single page a day would get you a 365 pg book in one year. Awesome, right?


7. What part of the writing process is your favorite: Drafting or Revising?

Revising. I love revising. It’s my most favorite kind of organizing- and reorganizing. I love tidying things up. Anything, really. But especially my books.


9. What new release book are you looking forward to in 2017?

Philip Pullman’s new one in October! CANNOT WAIT.


9. What's next for you?

I’m heading to Europe in a couple of weeks, where my kids and I are going to backpack around while I work on my next book.


10. Sweet or salty?

You’re mean.

Salted pecans with caramel and chocolate drizzled on top.
 
Meet Carrie Mac!
 
Carrie Mac is an award-winning author. She lives in East Vancouver with her partner and their two children. Learn more about Carrie and her books at CarrieMac.com and on Twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything,this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.
 
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.
 
Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?
 
 
*Click HERE to read a review of 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 
 
 
  10 Things I Can See From Here

By: Carrie Mac

Release Date: February 27, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  10 Things I Can See From Here (US only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing
Author Of The Week: Chat with Rosalyn Eves (Blood ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

John on Monday, 20 March 2017 19:35

Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!

0
Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!
Tiffany Engler on Friday, 24 March 2017 05:40

Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!

0
Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!
Danielle on Thursday, 06 April 2017 02:46

I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.

0
I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 April 2017 22:00

The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.

0
The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 16 April 2017 12:12

I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.

0
I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.
Alexandra Castillo on Thursday, 20 April 2017 22:43

The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

0
The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
From psychologist and children's friendships expert Eileen Kennedy-Moore and parenting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
A group of veiled creatures--a chameleon, stick bugs and assorted...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sight of Stars
Seventeen-year-old Klee’s father was the center of his life. He...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bokkaners of the North (Wyrms of Pasandir #3)
Against all odds, Eskandar and his bunch of ragtag youngsters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Road to Kalbakar (Wyrms of Pasandir #1)
Seventeen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Air and Ash (TIDES Book 1)
Master and Commander meets Sarah J Maas in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wolf Hour
Welcome, my little lambs, to the Puszcza. It's an...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dragon Orb
The fate of a kingdom rests on the shoulders...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Chaos
A GOD OF WAR SEEKING RESTORATION. AN UNWILLING SACRIFICIAL...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
 
4.0
"Utilizing plain language and a kid-friendly presentation, Growing Friendships examines and addresses a wide range of socially detrimental issues such..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.8
"Writing: 4.5 Story: 5 Character Development: 4.5 Cover: 5 Editing: 4.5 This book is a rare gem. You know,..."
Joshua and the Magical Forest
 
4.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central An enchanting fantasy. The story: Joshua thinks his father is dead. He's been..."
Ghosts of Bliss Bayou
 
5.0
"Captivating story, smooth writing style, well executed."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"I loved how different this book was to most that I have read. The plot and the story line are..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"I went into this book with a pretty vague idea of what it was about-a sci-fi novel revolving around a..."
Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I read a TON of fae fiction and A WICKED TRILOGY by Jennifer L. Armentrout is so hilarious and refershing...."
Elements (The Biodome Chronicles #2)
 
5.0
"Where do I begin?! I love Legacy. I was immediately sucked into the world and characters and was more than..."
Moonburner
 
4.7
" "The moon cannot enslave the sun, nor make the day its mistress." I absolutely loved this dark yet..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
4.7
" This is one of the most beautifully written books I've read in a long, long while. I found myself..."
Bloodline (Forgotten Origins Trilogy #1)
 
4.8
"INFECTED began with a viral pandemic which turns the human body and mind into a host. Although I enjoyed the..."
The "Wonderful" Wizard of Futhermucking Oz
 
5.0
"Although highly irreverent throughout, what I loved most about Arabella is that she doesn't just go along with the social..."
The Secrets of Islayne
 
4.3
"The Secrets of Islayne by Kari Lynn West 4 out of 5 stars Summary Islayne is a..."
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
 
5.0
"Journeys is a collection of letters from the “Letters About Literature” program sponsored by the Library of Congress Center for..."
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
 
3.0
"In this "Grow and Read" level two early reader book, the characters from Nocturnals World meet each other. Bismark is..."
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
 
3.0
"Dawn, a fox; Tobin, a pangolin; and Bismark, an energetic sugar glider are all friends who have adventures. When there..."
Ignite
 
3.5
"The story: Phoenyx Blake, a teenage girl, awakens in a locked dungeon with only a girl named Lily for..."
In Sight of Stars
 
5.0
"IN SIGHT OF STARS is Gae Polisner’s latest young adult novel. It’s a contemporary story that tackles mental health in..."
First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)
 
4.0
"This is a very good series introduction. From the critical side, my first impression was that Rachel Carter broke..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
4.0
"I am in love! The DC Icon series is turning me into a fan of superheroes, and Marie Lu's take..."