Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Carrie Macauthor 

of 10 ThingsI Can See From Here

Below you'll find more about Carrie

her book, plus a review, and giveaway!

 

1. First off, you NAILED the whole feel of someone dealing with severe anxiety! What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Being someone who deals with severe anxiety often,  not only was it easy to write, but easy to want love for Maeve and a complex family life and hopes and dreams and all those other things that come alongside crippling anxiety.


2. Which scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I love the birth scene, when Maeve rises up and discovers that she can be strong even if she can’t believe it and doesn’t experience it often enough.


3. Do you have a Playlist for 10 Things I Can See From Here?  Can you share if you do?

No play list for while I was writing the first drafts. I mostly listened to Drum & Base for the final drafts. Lots of good European DJs. That music suits Maeve and the noise in her head well … drowns it out a bit.


4. Which scene was the hardest to write and why?

The hardest scene to write was when Maeve discovered Mrs. Patel. I didn’t want her emotional reaction to dominate the rest of the book, so I had to play it just so, and relieve Maeve of some of the intensity of her feelings (I won’t give the spoiler here) so that she could go on and fully participate with the rest of her story.


5. Do you have a writing routine?

When we’re home, I get up at 530am and go for a run or a walk for an hour, then I go to a coffee shop and write for 2-3 hours.
When we’re traveling (which is a lot) I write early morning or late at night when the kids are asleep. Traveling is when I collect a lot of my characters, their traits, dialogue, settings, and all those colorful bits.


6. What advice to do you have for teens who want to write a book?

Write the book.

Seriously.

Worry about how good or bad it is later. You can only make it better if you have it to work with in the first place. Start at the beginning and go all the way to the end,
One single page a day would get you a 365 pg book in one year. Awesome, right?


7. What part of the writing process is your favorite: Drafting or Revising?

Revising. I love revising. It’s my most favorite kind of organizing- and reorganizing. I love tidying things up. Anything, really. But especially my books.


9. What new release book are you looking forward to in 2017?

Philip Pullman’s new one in October! CANNOT WAIT.


9. What's next for you?

I’m heading to Europe in a couple of weeks, where my kids and I are going to backpack around while I work on my next book.


10. Sweet or salty?

You’re mean.

Salted pecans with caramel and chocolate drizzled on top.
 
Meet Carrie Mac!
 
Carrie Mac is an award-winning author. She lives in East Vancouver with her partner and their two children. Learn more about Carrie and her books at CarrieMac.com and on Twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything,this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.
 
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.
 
Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?
 
 
*Click HERE to read a review of 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 
 
 
  10 Things I Can See From Here

By: Carrie Mac

Release Date: February 27, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  10 Things I Can See From Here (US only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Rate this blog entry:
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing
Author Of The Week: Chat with Rosalyn Eves (Blood ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

John on Monday, 20 March 2017 19:35

Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!

0
Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!
Tiffany Engler on Friday, 24 March 2017 05:40

Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!

0
Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!
Danielle on Thursday, 06 April 2017 02:46

I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.

0
I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 April 2017 22:00

The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.

0
The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 16 April 2017 12:12

I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.

0
I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.
Alexandra Castillo on Thursday, 20 April 2017 22:43

The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

0
The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

  

   

   

   

    

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Earth to Skye
Buy direct from the publisher ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hubert in Heaven: A hi-tech angel gets his wings
A hologram in a video game, Hubert is accidentally transported...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blacksouls
Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Other Breakable Things
According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Takedown
Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
rsz_rsz_atskcoverfinal.jpg
"This is a lovely romance, which unleashes butterflies in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland
GT is an intelligent, handsome and talented athlete in Page,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Dream of Fire
In a not-so-distant future, Dreams really do come true… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Happily Ever After  (Cinder & Ella #2)
“Like it or not, Brian, the moment you gave that...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cover Image
Azrael's a wingless angel, and if that wasn't bad enough,...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Revengers
How far would you go to make things right? Ama,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost in Starlight
High school is tough. Romance with a sexy outsider? Even...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheShip.jpg
London is burning and Lalla has one hope for survival,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In the desolate remains of a post-apocalyptic earth, two territories...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)