The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

Here are the top five reasons why I plunked my money down for HOUSE OF SECRETS by Ned Vizzini and Chris Columbus (in no particular order):

1) It's Chris Columbus for goodness sake. How could my Goonie-lovin' heart say no?

2) It's Ned Vizzini for goodness sake. A powerhouse of YA lit, he's one of our faves over here at YABC. And now he's delved into the world of middle grade? *grabby hands*

3) The blurb from J. K. Rowling: "A breakneck, jam-packed roller coaster of an adventure about the secret power of books, House of Secrets comes complete with three resourceful sibling heroes, a seriously creepy villainess, and barrel loads of fantasy and fear."

4) The main characters, three siblings, get sucked into a creepy author's stories — stories that come to life! Um... yes, please?

5) Look at the cover. Just look at it. Look at that creepy house. It begs to be explored. 

 

While I wait, rather anxiously, for this to arrive at my doorstep, enjoy the trailer and order a copy of your own now! Then, yanno, we can chat about it. :)

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
EPIC 10K GIVEAWAY: Win an eReader (and more!) from...
Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author...

Related Posts

Comments 5

 
Michelle Parsons on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:30

I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL

Michelle
Because reading is better than real life...
love2readalways.blogspot.com

I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL Michelle Because reading is better than real life... love2readalways.blogspot.com
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:40

The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!

The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:12

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:14

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:15

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)