The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

Here are the top five reasons why I plunked my money down for HOUSE OF SECRETS by Ned Vizzini and Chris Columbus (in no particular order):

1) It's Chris Columbus for goodness sake. How could my Goonie-lovin' heart say no?

2) It's Ned Vizzini for goodness sake. A powerhouse of YA lit, he's one of our faves over here at YABC. And now he's delved into the world of middle grade? *grabby hands*

3) The blurb from J. K. Rowling: "A breakneck, jam-packed roller coaster of an adventure about the secret power of books, House of Secrets comes complete with three resourceful sibling heroes, a seriously creepy villainess, and barrel loads of fantasy and fear."

4) The main characters, three siblings, get sucked into a creepy author's stories — stories that come to life! Um... yes, please?

5) Look at the cover. Just look at it. Look at that creepy house. It begs to be explored. 

 

While I wait, rather anxiously, for this to arrive at my doorstep, enjoy the trailer and order a copy of your own now! Then, yanno, we can chat about it. :)

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
EPIC 10K GIVEAWAY: Win an eReader (and more!) from...
Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author...

Related Posts

Comments 5

 
Michelle Parsons on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:30

I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL

Michelle
Because reading is better than real life...
love2readalways.blogspot.com

I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL Michelle Because reading is better than real life... love2readalways.blogspot.com
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:40

The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!

The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:12

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:14

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:15

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)