The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

Posted by on in From the Editor
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2302
  • 5 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Here are the top five reasons why I plunked my money down for HOUSE OF SECRETS by Ned Vizzini and Chris Columbus (in no particular order):

1) It's Chris Columbus for goodness sake. How could my Goonie-lovin' heart say no?

2) It's Ned Vizzini for goodness sake. A powerhouse of YA lit, he's one of our faves over here at YABC. And now he's delved into the world of middle grade? *grabby hands*

3) The blurb from J. K. Rowling: "A breakneck, jam-packed roller coaster of an adventure about the secret power of books, House of Secrets comes complete with three resourceful sibling heroes, a seriously creepy villainess, and barrel loads of fantasy and fear."

4) The main characters, three siblings, get sucked into a creepy author's stories — stories that come to life! Um... yes, please?

5) Look at the cover. Just look at it. Look at that creepy house. It begs to be explored. 

 

While I wait, rather anxiously, for this to arrive at my doorstep, enjoy the trailer and order a copy of your own now! Then, yanno, we can chat about it. :)

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Michelle Parsons
    Michelle Parsons Monday, 29 April 2013

    I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL

    Michelle
    Because reading is better than real life...
    love2readalways.blogspot.com

    Reply Cancel
  • MG Buehrlen, Senior Editor
    MG Buehrlen, Senior Editor Monday, 29 April 2013

    The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!

  • Sammy
    Sammy Tuesday, 19 November 2013

    I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

  • Sammy
    Sammy Tuesday, 19 November 2013

    I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

  • Sammy
    Sammy Tuesday, 19 November 2013

    I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 21 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)