5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

Here are the top five reasons why I plunked my money down for HOUSE OF SECRETS by Ned Vizzini and Chris Columbus (in no particular order):

1) It's Chris Columbus for goodness sake. How could my Goonie-lovin' heart say no?

2) It's Ned Vizzini for goodness sake. A powerhouse of YA lit, he's one of our faves over here at YABC. And now he's delved into the world of middle grade? *grabby hands*

3) The blurb from J. K. Rowling: "A breakneck, jam-packed roller coaster of an adventure about the secret power of books, House of Secrets comes complete with three resourceful sibling heroes, a seriously creepy villainess, and barrel loads of fantasy and fear."

4) The main characters, three siblings, get sucked into a creepy author's stories — stories that come to life! Um... yes, please?

5) Look at the cover. Just look at it. Look at that creepy house. It begs to be explored. 

 

While I wait, rather anxiously, for this to arrive at my doorstep, enjoy the trailer and order a copy of your own now! Then, yanno, we can chat about it. :)

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author...
EPIC 10K GIVEAWAY: Win an eReader (and more!) from...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Michelle Parsons on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:30

I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL

Michelle
Because reading is better than real life...
love2readalways.blogspot.com

1
I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL Michelle Because reading is better than real life... love2readalways.blogspot.com
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:40

The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!

0
The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:12

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates!

0
I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:14

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates!

0
I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:15

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates!

0
I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."