2017 Debut Authors Bash: The Thing With Feathers (McCall Hoyle)

35856343
 
 
 
 
Hello! YABC is participating in the 2017 Debut Author's Bash and will be interviewing 
 
McCall Hoyleauthor of The Thing With Feathers.
  
Read on for more about McCall, her book, and an interview!
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet McCall Hoyle!
 
I read and write all things YA. My novels have won several awards including the 2014 Romance Writers of America Golden Heart® Award. I'm represented by the amazing, Amanda Leuck at Spencerhill Associates, Ltd. My debut novel, THE THING WITH FEATHERS, debuted with Blink/HarperCollins September 5, 2017.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet The Thing With Feathers!
 

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.

Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

As a teacher and mom, I see so many teenage girls hiding their true selves from their peers. So I wanted to write a hopeful story about a girl learning that true acceptance always starts on the inside and works its way out.

A few years ago, I taught a student who struggled deeply with the stress and worry caused by her sister’s epilepsy. At about the same time in a lucky twist of fate, my family inherited a golden retriever who was bred to do service work. The dog was more human than many humans. I began working with this amazing dog training him for agility and obedience. I became fascinated by golden retrievers and assistant dogs and did lots and lots of research and reading on the subject. I was especially intrigued by seizure alert dogs as seizure alerting cannot generally be taught and is greatly affected by the bond between the owner and dog.

I knew I had to write a story about a girl with epilepsy learning to love herself unconditionally the way her golden retriever did.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

The service dog in my book, Hitch, is totally modeled after my own golden retriever. In hindsight, I probably should have just named him Chip. Both dogs have hearts of gold. Chip wants to please. He loves everyone equally. I have seen little girls who are terrified of dogs hug his neck after spending a few hours in his presence. I have seen him ignore warm chicken from the deli as drool rolled down his chest because he didn’t want to be scolded.  

I do want to mention one thing about golden retrievers though. One of the characteristics that makes them such good service dogs is that they are extremely handler/human focused. They need to be near their people and thrive when they are mentally stimulated as are all dogs.  

Sadly, many goldens are surrendered at Humane Societies and shelters because families purchase them for birthday presents and Christmas presents because they’re such cute puppies. But they get big, they shed a lot, and they’re very powerful. If they are bored, abandoned to the back yard, and develop the bad habit of chewing or digging, they can be extremely destructive. They are generally intelligent and easily trained, but they are not mind readers, and like any breed require basic training.

I love dogs and this breed in particular so much that I really needed to get that disclaimer out there.

But to answer your question, Hitch, Emilie’s service dog, was my favorite character to write. Readers who want a dog that adores them and pretty much everyone else and that can be trained to do most anything, might want to consider adopting or purchasing a golden if they have the time and energy to train a puppy.  

 

 

YABC:    Which came first, the title or the novel?

Emilie and Hitch’s story about unconditional love and hope definitely came first. One part of Emilie’s story involves a major research project with a super nice guy in her English class. Their teacher assigns them Emily Dickinson. I read and reread lots of Dickinson’s work as I wrote, and when I went to use her well-loved poem, Hope is the thing with feathers; that perches in the soul; and sings the tune without the words; and never stops at all, I just knew it was perfect for the title. And amazingly, my publisher thought so as well.

 

 

YABC:    What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I really put some thought into this question. If I write about my truly favorite scene, which is near the end of the book, it would be a huge spoiler. So let me just say, I really, really enjoyed writing all the scenes that involved Emilie’s dog, Hitch. Early readers seem to agree that they love Hitch as much as Emilie. He kind of tries to steal the scenes that he’s in. I also loved writing the scenes with Emilie’s crush, Chatham. He has a way of bringing the best out in Emilie.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

The next year is going to be super busy—just the way I like it. I’m conducting school, bookstore, library, and Girl Scout visits all over the Southeast. I’ll be presenting at a couple of state and national teacher and reader conferences. Readers can follow me on social media or check out mccallhoyle.com for more details.

Most importantly, a follow-up book to The Thing with Feathers will release this fall. The cover for Meet the Sky will be revealed any day now, and the book will be available for pre-order most everywhere books are sold.

It’s gearing up to be an amazing 2018. I look forward to sharing it with lots of Blink readers.

 

 

YABC:    What would you say is your superpower?

I’m a high school English teacher and love a good sentence diagramming challenge. Does sentence diagramming count? I can diagram The Pledge of Allegiance and the Preamble to the Constitution pretty darn fast. If that’s not a superpower, does stubbornness count?

 

 

YABC:    Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The Thing with Feathers is a hopeful book meant to inspire all readers but especially teenage girls with epilepsy and the family and friends who love them.

I would be thrilled if readers would visit the Epilepsy Foundation website at https://www.epilepsy.com/  for information on how to donate money and/or volunteer time to spread much needed awareness.

 

 

The Thing With Feathers

By: McCall Hoyle

Publishing Date: September 5th, 2017 

Publisher: Blink/Harpercollins

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a signed copy of The Thing With Feathers (McCall Hoyle) ~ (International)

 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway* 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
3rd Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...
Featured Review: This Body Won't Break by Lea McKe...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Quinton Wyatt's summer break before high school should be nothing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Delicate Wings
Mia Walters is optimistic that her final high school...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Only A Breath Apart
Bestselling author Katie McGarry’s trademark wrong-side-of-the-tracks romance is given...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is quite the different place after the loss...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Pretty in Punxsutawney
A Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
What’s a pirate without her crew? Abandoned on an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
Getting kidnapped over spring break was definitely memorable. But...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
Grandma’s Last Will and Testament names Ray to inherit...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
51uDXTa8hxL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Celebrate the weird, wonderful, and the downright bizarre in this...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Next to Last Mistake
Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
Dragons are just legends from the past... Felicia’s life...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Penderwicks at Last
The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Over Raging Tides
The pirate crew of the Lady Luck lives by...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Positively Izzy
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reading for the next book! Got me guessing. Page turner just went to fast. I couldnt put it down. If..."
Zero Sum Game - Book 2 of the Sid Rubin Silicon Alley Adventures
 
5.0
""I crack my knuckles and shake out my fingers. To quote The Grey, 'Once more into the fray.'" Sidonie..."
 
5.0
"As if High School was not nightmareish enough, now let's put you in a game. No you do not get..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"I love the budding love story mixed in with the evil that is happening around them, it gives the readers..."
 
5.0
"If Victoria Danann writes it; I'll read it! She's so talented at world building and this is no exception..."
 
5.0
"But and read in one sitting - totally possible and highly probable!"
The Step-Spinsters
 
4.3
"You think you know the story of Cinderella and her evil step sisters but you don’t know the whole story...."
 
5.0
"Wonderful story about the Gods playing games with their unsuspecting children's lives. Definitely worth reading."
 
5.0
"Victoria's R. Caine series made me long to return to high school. Seriously! Nothing like meddling gods with too much..."
 
5.0
"This is an amazing debut novel from Jillian E. Martyn. The book is unique in where you don't just have..."
 
5.0
"When the Gods get bored they play games. What happens is yet to be seen. "
 
5.0
"You can tell this author loves what she does! Fantastic details, characters are well developed, all around a phenomenal read!..."
 
5.0
"It’s been quite some time since I’ve read a YA series that kept my attention & had me wanting more..."
 
5.0
"Victoria Danann has another hit series! Gods from diverse cultures strip their children (players) of their memories and withhold the..."
 
5.0
"This is a really good story and that 1-3 are in it is great from a young person to an..."
Glamour of Midnight
 
5.0
"Karis has been blind for as long as she can remember. However, when she sees through the smoke that stands..."
Who Are You Calling Weird?
 
4.7
"This book is all kinds of wonderful. Actually, everything about it is pretty much spot on – starting with the..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
4.0
""Forest of a Thousand Lanterns" was a slow-building and dark YA fantasy. Xifeng has been raised by her cruel aunt..."
 
5.0
"This was such a fun change from the normal Victoria books! I really felt like I was back roaming the..."
 
5.0
"I never like writing to much info in a review as I don’t want to give away things in the..."